We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Yorker Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Yorker Motel
Ranked #76 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I wish we had more time to spend out by the pool. Everything was very nicely landscaped and maintained. The room was great and the manager met us in the middle of the night to check in. Very amiable and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theseveganbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you with us again.

Best,

Bo and Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    1
    5
    12
See reviews for
13
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is the worst motel in clearwater!!! I would have rather slept in my car. The owner was so rude and did not care about his customers. We stayed for two night and never got fresh towel or sheets. There was a stain on one of the sheets and the fridge didnt work. the sink was clogged up and yellow water was coming out. I will never stay here again. This place sucked!!!!!!! He also made us buy our own toilet paper. Who does that? And there was so many roaches in the bathtub. When we asked for another room he said they were booked up but there was only two other couples staying at the hotel. I will never stay here again and if u want to have a good time I suggest you do the same!!!!! This place sucked and the manager was so rude and careless!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kristina222528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Walked in & got a room on the spot. Really reasonable rate & we were ready to spend a couple of nights a short walk from the beach. Room was clean and managers showed real care for the place. Very kind & accomodating. We had a nice dinner at the poolside grill and enjoyed having a kitchenette. Just what we needed, thank you!

Room Tip: We had a room on the south side, we got the sunrise in one window and a nice peek at the sunset in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallysarahrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are very pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. We hope to see you again!

Best,

Ed&Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The New Yorker was great! We made reservations a but later than we should have and made them for a short time than usual. The reservation process was quick and painless. The room was spacious and clean and a stones throw from the beach and plenty of places to eat. The only downside was the fact that the room had two beds as opposed to the one I was looking for but I'll chock that up to me making a late reservation. The couple that ran the establishment were pleasant and helpful. They even called me when I forgot one if my bags in the office. It is a smaller hotel but its right up your alley if your looking for a nice clean and cheap place in Clearwater. I will definitely go back regardless of stay length.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tyree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Best,

Ed and Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We've just returned from our annual stay at the New Yorker Motel, this was our sixth year there. As on previous stays, it was great to be back and it suits us very well. We feel welcome by the owners, Ed and Bonnie. The Motel is located a few minutes from the most awesome beach, everything is within walking distance, the price is affordable and the unit as well as pool and surrounding areas are clean, well kept and comfortable. We hope to return to the New Yorker Motel for our yearly stay many more times.

Room Tip: We always stay in Unit 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We appreciate that you always choose to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next year, it's always great to have happy customers back.

Best,

Ed+Bonnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Please ignore all the bad reviews for this motel as it is really not as bad as they say it is. The whole place is very nice and the rooms are very clean and fresh. The owner is very nice and doesn't just let any one book here. Don't smoke if you're not in a designated room and don't bring pets if you're not supposed to. Don't invite more people than you booked for or you will get kicked out. You also need to go and bring your own toilet paper and towels but its not the end of the world if you bring em yourself. Overall, great vacation stay and very good quality for the price! Please ignore the bad reviews since most are overly negative anyways and half- true most of the time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VacationGuy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your post. It's great to hear from happy customers. Just to clarify for other readers, we do provide towels and toilet paper, we just ask that our guests come to the front desk to pick them up as we don't generally enter the rooms while they are occupied. We hope to see you again at our motel and thanks again for taking the time to write to us.

Best,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I decided to get away for a few days and make a trip to Clearwater Beach. First time for me and I was looking forward to it. He found this place on the internet and the pictures they use on their website IS NOT the way it really is. This place is a dump. Room was dirty and really outdated. The rugs were dirty and nasty. The toilet in the bathroom stopped flushing and thank God my husband fixed it because the biggest problem with this place was the manager. The worst customer service I have ever experienced. They don't tell you that you have to pay an additional $60.00 cash deposit on top of what you already paid for the room..just in case you smoke the manager said. My husband said we don't smoke but that didn't matter. He basically "escorted" us to the room but I felt we were being checked out and then left. It wasn't even 5 minutes later that he knocks on the door asking for more money for the next night. We reserved two nights. This was Memorial Day weekend and all the other places were booked. He tells us that check out is 10:00 a.m. on Sunday. They lock up the pool by 10 at night..yes..actually lock it up with a chain which is ridiculous. My husband and I were ready to check out at 9:15 a.m. on Sunday. No-one was in the office even though it stated they open at 9 a.m. We had to wait 45 minutes and then the owner shows up at 10:00 a. m. with his wife as if nothing happened. He tells my husband that we should have told him we were checking out early..what?? It seems that when a legitimate person gives a negative review..someone from "management" tries to make an excuse and that is all it is..a lame excuse. We went to celebrate our anniversary and Memorial Day. I being a veteran was disgusted by the lack of friendliness, cleanliness and customer service that was given in this place. There is a reason this place gets really bad reviews. THIS PLACE IS A DUMP...DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkerMotel, Manager at New Yorker Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We sincerely apologize for keeping you waiting for check out, but we are very disappointed that you let that lead you to trying to deface our business. We have had this small, family owned motel for 13 years and we work hard at what we do. I would like to clarify, however, that for memorial day, you actually received a steal of a price in comparison with what other motels/hotels charge. Also, the pictures of the rooms are in fact EXACTLY what the rooms look like; our rooms are clean and spacious efficiencies. As far as the security deposit, that is a standard practice not only in our motel, but many others, there was no reason to be offended by this. It was returned to you upon check out. We also require that guests pay their total balance upon check in, as do many other motels, so this is also just standard procedure. The manager did not “escort” you to your room out of suspicion, but merely to turn on the air conditioner for you. We are sorry if that also offended you. We do lock up the pool at night, not to be ridiculous, but for safety and insurance reasons. Finally, I don’t believe you have any right in making judgement on previous responses we have made to other reviews because you were not there. They are not excuses, just our side of the story.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.0 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#51 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#42 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Yorker Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Motel

Property: New Yorker Motel
Address: 332 Hamden Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your New Yorker Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing