We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Sta'n Pla Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sta'n Pla Motel
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I spent 1 night here on May 7th. When we arrived our room was not ready so we were upgraded to a much larger room (suite). Very roomy, clean, king bed was very comfortable, even more so than some much pricier hotels I have stayed in. Staff was very helpful, answered all of our questions about the area and gave us ideas of where to go to dinner, etc. Location was great, short walk to beach, pier, restaurants. Would definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2travel034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Didn't set my expectations real high but was pleasantly surprised for the money. We stayed in room 29 on the opposite side from checkin and it had a terrific tropical garden feel.Right down the end was the marina great relaxing place to sit and chill. The rooms were very clean, bath although small had new terrazzo floor and new fixtures which made it very comfortable. Now the best part was the bed. After long day in the sun it was the most comfortable hotel bed I can remember! And that goes for the 350 buck a night Weston I got stranded in once LOL
The other MAJOR plus is the location. 2 minute walk to EVERYWHERE....beach, Mc Donalds, Crabby restaurants, rental places, souvenir shops, marina for cruises you name it.
And the staff bent over backwards for you..would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

predivno !!!!lijep smjestaj , ljubazni domacini!!!!

very nice and clean place !!!
recommendation to anyone!
Amazing staff, clean rooms and great pool area and everything so close to the beautiful beach!I will be back next summer for sure! Thank you Uli (the manager) for your hospitality!
We are coming again next month!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny" "High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivanka s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is for Sta N Pla II, which is across the street from Sta N Pla I and appears to be newer/more updated. I stayed here 5 nights with my wife (we booked on Expedia), and it was much better than we expected. The absolute best thing is the location- 5 min walk from the best part of the beach and Crabby Bill's bar. Quick, easy walk to the bars and restaurants downtown and also Pier 60. However, it's still off of the main strip so it's nice and quiet. The room was huge- like a studio apartment with a kitchen, dining area, and king bed. It was recently remodeled and very clean. The air conditioner was very powerful- we usually didn't even use it and just turned on the ceiling fan. The property manager/innkeeper was very kind and helpful, and he was always available when we needed an iron or a hair dryer. The pool was awesome- clean and very warm (must have been 80 degrees) with no chemical smell. Laundry machines are available in the morning and early evening, which is nice for a long stay. No maid service (that's why it's so cheap), but fresh towels and sheets were easily available so no worries. For what we paid, it was an absolute steal. We really loved this place and will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We didn't try Sta N Pla I; Sta N Pla II seemed to have been recently renovated, so we booked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a strange review, because there is so much that could be done better here, but the place is still fabulous and its where it is that makes this place so, so, good.
The business is split into two adjacent corner sites with some water frontage a block back from Clearwater beach. Initially we had booked into the Motel 1, where we were shown a first floor king room overlooking the pool. The room had a micro and fridge, but was described as a Kitchenette which to us Brits means a full kitchen. Asking for an upgrade we were offered 3 different room, all at the property on the other corner. The first room No 201 looked like a show apartment and was really swish, but overlooked the road, and the balcony at the rear only just overlooked the water. If you're here in the winter when days are short, this is the room to ask for.
The next room offered was 204 which was fine, but when we saw room 104, we were sold (At a $20.00 per night addition from the king)
Room 104, where we stayed on the 23rd April 2014, for two nights, is on the ground floor and had two queen beds. He front door opened to the pool, the rear door to a patio a few feet from decking on the water. The room plan was awkward with one bed pushed up against the front window wall, then a small gap to the other bed which was alongside the space to walk to the bathroom (Which had no extractor fan). So no bedside tables then. This room would really work as a single King!. Opposite the beds is a sofa, and with the (CRT) TV located on top of chest of drawers at the end of the sofa, watching TV from the Sofa was impossible, and sitting on the bed, not really comfortable.
The kitchen, by the back door, consisted of a large domestics size fridge/freezer, a small and old domestic size cooker (4 rings and oven) and a food prep and washing-up area. There was also a table and 4 chairs.So why didn't we use the cooker? Well there are 3 gas BBQ's for guest use. Two by the pool, and one on the decking by the water - which we used.
Our room had the air/con unit in the wall next to the back door and this struggled to keep the room cool at night, even with the help of the ceiling fan - July and August wouldn't be comfortable for us Brits.
The WIFI was also poor and kept dropping out, especially the further you were from reception. So an easy fix by spending a few dollars.
The ambience of this place is really laid back, there is no maid service, but you leave your old towels outside you door on the table and chairs provided for each room and new ones are left. But no maid service?
The pool is a good size and deep at 8' 6'' at the deep-end with a rope and float separator at 5' 0''.and although open to traffic noise was well screened with tropical plants. Also the location of the pool meant that for a good part of the morning at this time of year it is in shade, a boon to my very fair skinned wife.
So there is a god pool, our room fronted the pool and backed onto the water and this place has a real laid-back feel which means that it's nice just to sit outside and relax. Fantastic. We'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room backing onto the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank spock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We loved the Sta N' Pla. Our room was immaculate, it was a full one bedroom apartment. There was a patio right off the water that was very private. Large kitchen for apartment, with new appliances and tile. Bathroom was also updated. Manager said it had been the owner's daughters apartment which may explain why it was so nice. Great location, just a couple blocks away from the beach while still secluded from the main road.

Room Tip: Try to request owner's daughters apartment, possibly room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GORLANDO20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My sisters, friend and I stayed here for nine nights. We were very pleased with the property. It was clean and well maintained. Keith spends long hours making sure things are well cared for, plus he is very friendly with the guests. He went out of his way, making sure the guest had a comfortable welcoming stay. Although the beach is just two blocks away, we spent a lot of time around the beautiful pool. I would definitely stay here again.
Phyllis Zimmerman

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Phyllis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#51 of 98 in Clearwater
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
1.1 mi away
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
0.0 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Amber Tides Motel
Amber Tides Motel
#31 of 98 in Clearwater
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sta'n Pla Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sta'n Pla Motel

Address: 345 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2450
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £64 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sta'n Pla Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sta n Pla Motel and the Sta n Pla Marina Resort are situated along the Florida's Gulf Coast and just steps away from the white sugar sand of Clearwater Beach. This beach has been ranked as one of the most beautiful beaches in the United States & the World. Our property is located directly on the intercoastal waterway of Clearwater with full access for our guests to relax in its calming nature. Bring your boat, rent our paddle boards or just relax on our private docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sta'n Pla Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sta'n Pla Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing