We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel - charming and well appointed”
Review of Sta'n Pla Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sta'n Pla Motel
Ranked #44 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Have been staying in Clearwater on and off over 30 years. The motel is excellently located and well appointed. Was checked in by Terry who was courteous and helpful. Rooms are large with separate bedroom. Always plenty of parking, good sized pool and perfect temperature.

Like most Florida Motels, there is charm over modern facilities, do not expect a modern five star resort, but you will not be disappointed with what you do get. Multiple BBQs and a nice fishing jetty.

Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dleigh1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We are so pleased with our Father's Day weekend! The staff is amazing , room is spacious & clean. A great value!! We will recommend & return here!! The Pier is 4 blocks, they have free umbrellas & the pool is clean. A+

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelleepatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We chose this place because it offers rooms right on the water and is walking distance to the beach, restaurants , etc. A great location. The motel advertises free Wifi; we would not have booked without this, however upon check-in we promptly learned that, despite their possession of two networks, neither works. If the resort were full, I would assume they just had less bandwidth than needed to accommodate everyone however the place was a ghost town.

The room itself was tiny - fine for a room in this location as it's just for sleeping and washing up. It did contain a mini fridge which is excellent. However it was dirty. One flush of the toilet and it ran, loudly the rest of our stay. The shower was just that - no tub, again fine for this type of area. The problem comes in with the funk that was growing on the shower floor. As we did not expect this and bring any sort of shower shoes, we were unable to shower since we were not willing to risk foot infections, plantar's warts, etc. We were forced to clean up in the small sink.

They do offer free movies, books, BBQ areas, there are 2 small pools, they offer pool toys, fishing rods, etc all free of charge to guests. A nice amenity but I would've been content to have the Wifi they advertised be functional and a shower I could stand in.

Will not stay again and do not recommend - unless they make some changes.

The check-in staff was super nice and efficient and knowledgeable of the area. The manager I had the misfortune of meeting was incredibly mean- there seemed to reason for this as I only walked past her and you would think she would want guests in her motel.... weird. Could've been having a bad day, we all do. If she's always like this, she should stay out of sight.

The rooms that do walk out to the water are nicely located, this is a quiet area from which one can glimpse sharks, fish, pelicans and maybe if lucky - manatees. They do offer dolphin views but it's just an inlet, so I'm not sure why dolphins would be there. Also very shallow as I can see the littered ground through the murky water. Some sharks did wander in and were obviously fishing as did a couple of pelicans.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lacie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I booked this hotel based on the price and other reviews as well as closeness to the beach. Honestly, I didn't have high hopes but was pleasantly surprised by how perfect it was. The hotel is older but it was very clean, which is always my concern. The staff where really nice and helpful and friendly. The location is great. Just a short two blocks to the beach and restaurants-very easy walk. The pool was small but clean and perfectly sufficient. The hotel itself is located on the bay so when we walked out the back door of our room we were right on the water. There was a deck with chairs for sitting and enjoying the view. The room itself was large with a kitchen, eating area plus two beds and a pull-out couch, so plenty big for the five of us. The area where the two beds where was a bit narrow with no nightstand, just a floor lamp between the beds and the lighting in the room was not that good. But those are my only complaints and I would definitely stay here again. Just a few other positives about the hotel which is really more of a motel...they have a coffee maker in the room with packets of coffee so even though they don't serve breakfast you can make yourself some coffee when you get up. They have beach chairs for you to borrow if you want. We brought our own so didn't use them. They also had a fishing pole to use if you wanted, though someone broke it while we were there so not sure if that will be replaced. And they had beach towels to use by the pool. Not sure if you are allowed to bring those to the beach or not. I spoke to the owner and he said they were going to be doing some renovating over the next year but I would stay here again with the hotel just as it is.

Room Tip: I was happy with room 103. It was clean and had a back door that lead out to the deck with chairs on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurmann2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed with my family in the "Stay n Pla 2" from Friday to Monday. Great hotel!! the balcony and view to marina were great. Pool and hotel common areas very clean. Friendly staff. Best location. Short walk to the beach and across the street from surf style. Will stay
again.

Room Tip: "Stay n Pla 2" rooms from 103 to 107 are right in front of the pool with a back door to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francespr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I spent 1 night here on May 7th. When we arrived our room was not ready so we were upgraded to a much larger room (suite). Very roomy, clean, king bed was very comfortable, even more so than some much pricier hotels I have stayed in. Staff was very helpful, answered all of our questions about the area and gave us ideas of where to go to dinner, etc. Location was great, short walk to beach, pier, restaurants. Would definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2travel034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Didn't set my expectations real high but was pleasantly surprised for the money. We stayed in room 29 on the opposite side from checkin and it had a terrific tropical garden feel.Right down the end was the marina great relaxing place to sit and chill. The rooms were very clean, bath although small had new terrazzo floor and new fixtures which made it very comfortable. Now the best part was the bed. After long day in the sun it was the most comfortable hotel bed I can remember! And that goes for the 350 buck a night Weston I got stranded in once LOL
The other MAJOR plus is the location. 2 minute walk to EVERYWHERE....beach, Mc Donalds, Crabby restaurants, rental places, souvenir shops, marina for cruises you name it.
And the staff bent over backwards for you..would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.0 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#52 of 98 in Clearwater
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
1.1 mi away
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
0.0 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Amber Tides Motel
Amber Tides Motel
#30 of 98 in Clearwater
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sta'n Pla Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sta'n Pla Motel

Address: 345 Hamden Drive, Clearwater, FL 33767-2450
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £64 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sta'n Pla Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sta n Pla Motel and the Sta n Pla Marina Resort are situated along the Florida's Gulf Coast and just steps away from the white sugar sand of Clearwater Beach. This beach has been ranked as one of the most beautiful beaches in the United States & the World. Our property is located directly on the intercoastal waterway of Clearwater with full access for our guests to relax in its calming nature. Bring your boat, rent our paddle boards or just relax on our private docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sta'n Pla Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sta'n Pla Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing