We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne Marie”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Anne Marie was absolutely wonderful! She was extremly kind and helpful to me during my stay. She called me during the week to check in on me to make sure that I was okay because she didn't see me for two days! So nice to have someone watching over me while I travel alone. I have never had that happen before and I travel constantly for work. The rooms were nice, carpet should be cleaned. I love the view of the bay and the location of the hotel.. Will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

My family stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our recent vacation. I was not impressed with this hotel.

Pros: The beds were clean and comfortable. We had a nice view from our room.

Cons: My impression of the hotel at check-in was not positive and it did not improve before checkout. Our room type was changed for some reason and the front desk associate didn't seem very knowledgeable about the hotel or the area. I think they may have been redoing some landscaping, but the parking area under the building looked like something out of a scary movie. Guests have to go outside the building to get ice and we got expired products from the vending machine even though we saw the vending machine guy there when we checked in. The ATM at the property did not work. The pool closes at 9 pm for some strange reason. The hotel had multiple maintenance issues (such as the nonfunctional toilet in our room) and the room was not very clean. I cleaned the bathtub myself before letting my children take a bath because it needed to be cleaned and every time my daughter crawled on the carpet, her knees and the tops of her feet were dirty. The trash in the public area of our floor was not changed during our stay and smelled. One of the employees repeatedly parked his car on the ramp from the underbuilding parking area to the lobby, making it impossible to get a luggage cart or stroller up the ramp to go in that entrance.

This was the last part of our vacation, but definitely the worst hotel. By the end of our stay, I understood why there weren't many cars in the parking lot. This hotel could be quite nice, but it needs a lot of changes. My curiosity got the best of me and I asked the age of the property and was told that it is 8 years old. The past 8 years have not been kind. My family and I will definitely be back to Clearwater but we will be exploring other options for hotels. I really hope this hotel gets on the right track because there were plenty of reasons why we were excited about staying there. Now there are far more reasons why we will take a longer drive and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Spent 4 nights at this hotel. Have absolutely no concerns/complaints. Clean/attentive housekeeing. Breakfast was very good and staff attended well. Minor bathroom problem taken care of promptly. Pool cleaned of wind debris every morning. AnneMarie is a great daytime host who goes over and beyond. Thanks too to Anna who works the afternoon shift.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kryssi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our first Vacation and we were referred to my boyfriend parents.......we had a wonderful experience, everything from the check in, the breakfest, customer service , and check out.

Prices- PRICES was reasonable for the amounts of days we stayed

check in- went very smooth, donnie was very polite and courtous.
Room: We were on the Third floor and our room was clean and smelled good........it was also spacious so there was alot of room.

breakfast- served everyday and was good(simple and nice) the ladies who worked there making breakfast would greet us and ask us if breakffast was good.....I reall enjoyed the eggs and sauages.....my boyfriend loved the waffles......

cleaning service-Wonderful......First time ever that these women take soo much pride cleaning and making the hotel look clean. (also when asking for extra towels they would also deliver withing seconds.

Staff- ANNA- OMG she was the most sweetest and funny person, she always asked how our stay was and made sure we were statisfed with everything. She really puts Customer Service #1 .....and she made me laugh with all her funny jokes(in fact i fell on the floor a few times)
Jessica- Another staff member was soo sweet and suggested amazing restuarants to eat.
Overall they were all helpful and kind....

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit clearwater..

Room Tip: Dont read all the negative comments, see for yourself and make your own judgement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DianaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had a great time at this hotel and were treated well by staff and management. Donnie J. is very solicitous of guests, and he helped us at every turn and went above and beyond to get us on to another Choice property when we moved on. The hotel is very close to Clearwater Beach and Tarpon Springs and is the best value for location in the area. We wish the exterior floor level were more decorated. One goes from the entrance to what looks like a former putting green practice area to get to the pool. Other than that, nothing to complain about. Get there early enough and you can get a covered parking spot.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank J h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie J, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

J H Thanks so much for your comment! I'm glad that we could accomodate you and go even further to get you reservations at your next destination. We understand the putting area is kind of an eyesore but we are beginning our First Floor Renovations in January, and we are very excited! I hope you enjoyed your stay at the other Comfort Suites we found you in Tampa, and hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I travel quite a bit and I always want to spread the word when I have a great stay at a hotel. I was a guest at this hotel about 8 months ago and just stayed there again this past week. The difference in the hotel and its guest service was like night and day.

Happy to have a regular hotel to stay at when I am traveling to Clearwater. Spacious and clean rooms, friendly and very helpful staff and great location.

Great job. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheresaC876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie J, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

TheresaC, Thank you for the kind words about your stay. I love sharing these reviews with the staff to show them their hard work is paying off. This hotel has come along way in the last couple of months, and we plan to take it even farther when we finally begin and finish our renovations. I'm happy to hear you visit Clearwater frequently! I agree that its great to have a place you know will be up to your standard when you visit somewhere. That way you only have to worry about getting a good tan. ;) We look forward to seeing you soon! Thanks again, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stay with choice hotels 9 months out of the year with my job. This was the worst stay. The ac didn't work in the room. The remote had dead batteries and was very sticky. The shower was not clean. Had to go outside in the parking lot to the only ice machine. Requested a wake up call, that I never received. Then when I went to check out I had to search for Jennifer the girl that was working that morning. Found her 10 minutes later in the parking lot socializing.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdavis9222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie J, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

ABDavis we would like to thank you for your loyalty to Choice Hotels. I would like to apologize for the issues during your stay. We take pride in our customer service and cleanliness and these problems have been addressed. I have spoken with my front desk associates about assisting with car issues in the parking lot, that they to keep a closer eye on the front desk. We will be doing a complete renovation this year and are planning to put things like the ice machine in more convenient locations for our guests. I know you said "Never Again" but I hope in the future we get the chance to change your mind. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#29 of 98 in Clearwater
672 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1941 Edgewater Dr, Clearwater, FL 33755-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites(R) hotel has just been fully renovated and is perfectly located three miles from Clearwater Beach and Downtown Dunedin. Popular attractions, including Honeymoon Island State Park, Countryside Mall and St. Petersburg College, are about five miles from this Clearwater, FL hotel. The St. Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport is eight miles away.Historic downtown Dunedin and Pinellas Trail are both just minutes from the hotel. A variety of business parks, specialty shops and historic areas are also close by.Numerous restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the area, including Island Way Grille, McDonald's, Sea Sea Riders, Shells Seafood, Bob Heilman's and Frenchy's.Guests are invited to enjoy many superior amenities, including free coffee in the lobby, free local calls, free weekday newspaper, fitness center, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.For business travelers, this Clearwater, FL hotel provides conveniences like free high-speed Internet access, voice mail and access to copy and fax services.All spacious suites feature microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and expanded cable. The hotel also provides coin-operated laundry facilities for guest convenience.The lush Florida landscape, breathtaking views and ideal location make the Comfort Suites hotel a great place for anyone visiting the Clearwater area. We will exceed your expectations with our exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Clearwater
Comfort Suites Clearwater, Florida
Clearwater Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing