We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated but still "tired" property - location is it's strong point”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #43 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have to qualify this review that we are not fans of "Choice" hotel properties which includes Comfort Suites - but thought we would give this property a try for one night given it's location to Clearwater Marine Aquarium which we were going to the next day. Suffice to say it did not entice us to try more Choice properties - and the family couldn't wait to leave the next morning.

Front lobby floor and elevator were not that clean (maybe chock that up to being near the beach and people tracking in sand). Room was two queens plus small pullout couch with a very unusally sized small TV given the size of room and furniture it sat on - are flat screens really that expensive these days that you have to buy a tiny TV? room was a bit disappointing on cleanliness - closet had obviously not been vacuumed and peanuts everywhere - big stain on the comforter sheet (which staff replaced quickly - but still cleaning staff should have a look at the bed they are making to verify the sheets are clean - that's easy stuff to not screw up on). Old school window airconditioner that is very loud - in the summer heat you have to have it on at night, but if you are a light sleeper - makes sleeping an issue due to noise. Sound bled through from the next room very easily, especially the TV late at night. Bathroom fan didn't work. Bathroom looks to have the tile updated to a cheap white subway tile - but the silicone at the tile/tub border had mould on it - this is also something easy that hotels shouldn't fail at - replacing silcone is cheap and easy but gives a terrible look when you throw open the shower curtain. The big fail was the smell in the bathroom of vomit - chalk that up to some kind of odd smell coming up through the drains. At this point we just wanted to sleep and exit early in the am.

It's located on a tight lot in a residential area on the border of Dunedin just a short drive from Clearwater Beach across the road from a vacant lot and residential homes who must love being beside a busy hotel. Rooms facing the north side look out at a mass of palm trees so the view was nonexistent - ask for the south side if you want to see anything out of the room.

This property would compete in midscale in the franchised world of U.S. hotels but really only comes across as economy. It looks to be renovated in 2013 but still has kind of an older vibe to it - probably the drab brown colour scheme of the walls and doors which just screams 70's motel. Granite bathroom countertop, dark brown wood furniture, designer lights etc but still all has a very cheap feel to it - like the taps that squeek even though they are less than a year old, so it doesn't live up to the midscale class.

Breakfast was I have to say not that great - very cramped room with little seating space - compared to other midscale competitors they get outclassed on choices and was pretty basic. For a hotel at capacity it just seemed inadequate on space and offering - very limited on anything healthy - coffee was simply awful and we threw it out. Need to add more chairs for more spaces for 4's and families , and consider pushing out the breakfast area room out 30 feet into the parking lot which is currently not even use for anything - which would allow for an indoor lounge area when breakfast isn't on which many Fairfields, Holiday Inn Expressand Hampton Inns have. Carpet in the breakfast room also would change the vibe a lot to seem less like a church basement social.

Very small pool but does the job for a family, but probably half the size of a typical midscale pool - but probably all they could have done given the lot size. Parking is tight but looks like everyone got a spot when the hotel was at capacity.

Location is great - but there is some easy stuff that the hotel could do better at, and if you are used to a typical midscale vibe this isn't it. If you usually stay at economy hotels, you probably will find this OK and the cost would be attractive for being within 10 min of Clearwater beaches.

Room Tip: North facing rooms look out on palm trees at least on the 2nd floor - so no view - choose south room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beachman727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotels is clean , beds are comfortable staff is friendly...Breakfast is good.

10 minutes away from Clearwater Beach.
Thanks to Janice at the front desk and the breakfast lady they where both very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank lucia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Comfort Suites on the border of Dunedin and Clearwater, Florida last month (June 2014). As with other Comfort Suites, we found the room to be fairly large and the king size bed very comfortable. However, the room--and the rest of the hotel--was a bit "tired," like how I feel after a week of 12-hour days at the office. The front desk staff were very cordial and helpful providing us with excellent directions and recommendations about local places to eat. Cleaning staff did their jobs well (I've always found that a nice tip helps and travelers should not neglect to offer a little recompense to these usually low-paid and hard-working employees). Parking is convenient and accommodated all visitors. The hotel has a small pool that we made use of for several hours, mostly to ourselves. Towels are provided near the pool area. There is a small fitness center--very small. Breakfast is free. Not a tremendous selection and the dining area is very small, perhaps inadequate for the size of the hotel. However, there was additional seating in another room. We chose to stay at the Comfort Suites because it was inexpensive and located very close to Dunedin's old town as well as neighboring Clearwater and Largo, where we planned to visit with relatives. Also close by is Calidesi State Park and beach--just a ferry boat ride away. If you are in the area, I highly recommend it. Bring a sand chair, a cooler and an umbrella. You can rent them, but it is free if you bring your own. The beach area has bathrooms and a concession stand where you can purchase drinks and sandwiches. I expect to be in the area again in the future, but would probably go a little more upscale next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This was an excellent, inexpensive, hotel stay for our family of 5. It is about a 5-10 minute drive from Clearwater Beach! Rooms were very clean, free breakfast was good, and the staff in the dining room were excellent. The front desk went above and beyond there duties, they really cared about us as guests! We had a great view of the bay, and was away from all the craziness at night in clearwater! We felt safe, and it was in a quiet area! The pool was a nice refresher! We will be back!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 397AmandaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Thank you for your kind comments. On behalf of the staff I would like to say thank you for taking the time to comment about us. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel is on the corner of a residential area. Single family homes are located on either side of it. If I was one of the homeowners, I would be upset. The reason I mention this is the hotel seems crammed into their space. The pool is very small and the hotel itself seems long and narrow.
It's well kept up on the outside, but once you're in a room, you can tell it's an older hotel. Nothing was really wrong with our room, it just need a little more upkeep on it. It just looked a little worn. Service was great and friendly. The breakfast was your typical hotel breakfast but again, the space was too small and very crowded.
The hotel is right on the water, but on the bay side. There is no beach, although you can get to one in a few minutes. There is a nice, paved track along the bay though. In addition it is only a few blocks from the Pinellas bike trail (Google it), and only a few minutes from Honeymoon State Park, the Clearwater Marine Aquarium, and the quaint little downtown of Dunedin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank todd m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here the weekend of June 13 with my wife and adult children (5 total) and we all fit comfortably in our room. The location is very convenient to Clearwater Beach, Honeymoon Island state park, Dunedin, John's Pass and other beach areas. While the public areas of the hotel were in good shape, in our room the bathroom was in sub-par condition. Tiles were broken/missing from the bottom of the wall, there was an unfinished patch in the ceiling above the shower, and the sink drain was very slow. In addition, during a particularly heavy thunderstorm, water leaked (almost flowed) in the window above the AC unit. That being said, the beds were comfortable and the room was very clean (a big plus in the views of my wife and daughters). Even though we had 5 in our room, the AC unit worked fine and kept us comfortable. As others have commented, the breakfast area is small but manageable. I do think it would help to have a couple more tables outside and the addition of another waffle maker would be a great improvement. The staff (especially Todd) was very friendly, knowledgable and effecient. I really feel that a good overall inspection of what needs to be fixed along with detail to the findings would move this property up to 5 stars. Overall, my family and I enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Art A,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Read all the reviews here and elsewhere too. I made reservations in advance at hotels com without reading any reviews.
the good:
the location (business in Dunedin)
lady at the desk (not manager)
breakfast
the bad:
ongoing remodeling construction
dusty and noisy
filth in parts of the room and bathroom
pool area questionable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear AP,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor's survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry we were unable to exceed your expectations. I wish you had come to the desk to bring these issues to light as we might have been able to make your stay a bit more enjoyable.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Please let me know when you are in the area again and I will handle your reservation personally and monitor your stay to ensure we do exceed your expectations if given another chance.

Sincerely,

Angela Ross
General Manager
Comfort Suites
727-489-5000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Clearwater Central
La Quinta Clearwater Central
#31 of 98 in Clearwater
677 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1941 Edgewater Dr, Clearwater, FL 33755-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: £80 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites(R) hotel has just been fully renovated and is perfectly located three miles from Clearwater Beach and Downtown Dunedin. Popular attractions, including Honeymoon Island State Park, Countryside Mall and St. Petersburg College, are about five miles from this Clearwater, FL hotel. The St. Petersburg-Clearwater International Airport is eight miles away.Historic downtown Dunedin and Pinellas Trail are both just minutes from the hotel. A variety of business parks, specialty shops and historic areas are also close by.Numerous restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the area, including Island Way Grille, McDonald's, Sea Sea Riders, Shells Seafood, Bob Heilman's and Frenchy's.Guests are invited to enjoy many superior amenities, including free coffee in the lobby, free local calls, free weekday newspaper, fitness center, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.For business travelers, this Clearwater, FL hotel provides conveniences like free high-speed Internet access, voice mail and access to copy and fax services.All spacious suites feature microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and expanded cable. The hotel also provides coin-operated laundry facilities for guest convenience.The lush Florida landscape, breathtaking views and ideal location make the Comfort Suites hotel a great place for anyone visiting the Clearwater area. We will exceed your expectations with our exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Clearwater
Comfort Suites Clearwater, Florida
Clearwater Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing