We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little waterfront gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little waterfront gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had stayed in Clearwater Beach before in the Pier House 60: very nice beach front hotel, friendly staff and business standard rooms. When we returned we came across the Barefoot Bay offering. We could barely believe the charge was right but took a chance and you cannot believe how right we were.
This motel is a family owned business, very friendly people, who told me they came over from Britain 10 years ago to start a new life in Clearwater with their son and daughter (now 16 & 18). It shows a bit in that some of the interior of the rooms is a little dated but we found all was well maintained and really very clean.
We had one of the 4 waterfront rooms on the second floor, opposite the washing & drying facilities. We had a little kitchen with fridge, freezer, microwave, coffee machine and toaster. Cups, glasses, plates and cutlery were available next to the little breakfast table and our two queen size beds.
We had seen some comments about bad mattresses which we cannot confirm - the mattresses' quality is okay but there is a plastic cover around them that makes a terrible noise when you move. Well, we moved quite a bit, much to our satisfaction and we cannot say that the beds were a problem for us.

What more can we say? There is a swimming pool with sun chairs at the ground level, a bit public maybe because anybody walking by can look intro that area but it borders a small parking lot in a dead end so only motel guests or some boat owners walk by. And there is a sun lounge deck in the back that faces a small pier. This area is a bit quitter than the one round the swimming pool as there is less noise from the main road that comes into Clearwater Beach. Some of the chairs here were a little old though and should be replaced.
The A/C in the room was very effective but a little noisy - we found that an issue in most hotels that we stayed in in Florida (Hilton, Ramada, Pier House 60) and this one was no exception.

As for the location, we found it perfect. There is a Wallgreens around the corner and all restaurants and bars are within strolling distance. The beach is a 2 minutes walk.
We paid less than 90$/night for our 4 nights stay (Sat to Wed), including taxes and including free WiFi and free parking facility in front of the motel (other hotels charge a 15$ parking fee per day as the public parking spots near the beach are metered).
So, you can do your own math. As for us, if ever near Clearwater again we will not think twice and come here again - even for a higher price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    111
    21
    10
    17
See reviews for
150
193
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed in a Queen suite in January after being ripped off at Hampton Westshore. Wish we knew to come hear first. Will definitely stay here again.

Incredible customer service. Best location to beach and highways. All of the fun a 2 minute walk away. Great parking. THIS is the place to stay on Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Clean room with kitchenette, coin laundry, heated pool and outdoor grill.

Walgreens next door, cafe's and shops nearby - everything you need. 5 minutes and you're on the beach.

Staff friendly and helpful. Bargain.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in December and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely with a fabulous view of the water. The kids enjoyed the pool and spent time paddle boarding and fishing. The motel is in an excellent location just a short walk from shops, restaurants and the beautiful beach.It is also close to the clearwater marine aquarium which is a great place to visit

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley (UK)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for nearly 3 weeks over Christmas- what a wonderful time we had!, we stayed in the waterfront apartments and used all the facilities including the pool and BBQ.
The amazing beach is literally 5 minutes away and the local shops, cafés and restaurants are superb
The staff were extremely helpful ( Travis and Alison) even carrying groceries from the car,,

Thank you for a wonderful holiday - we are already looking to return later in the year,,

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the 24th November 2013 for two nights. We were given Room 1, a twin queen above the reception and with views over the marina. This is an old hotel, and it shows in many places e.g. Our front door wouldn't allow the security bolt to be engaged, and the safety chain was missing, which is a problem with the management closing down and off site after 8.00 PM. Our bathroom door also needed a firm pull to close, and the only "extraction" was by a large ceiling fan! The large room had plenty of furniture, including a sofa that didn't face the TV and a dresser and tables that could pass for "Lloyd Loom" . There was also a bar table with 4 bar-stools, which we used to eat from. There was "almost" a kitchenette as there was a very large Fridge/freezer (Why?) and a full compliment of plates, glasses and cutlery.The addition of a toaster was useful and supplemented the usual microwave.. The sink within the unit further added to the kitchenette look. The large picture window overlooking the marina had a worn vertically slatted blind and odd curtains. The WIFI was good.
The parking is alongside public parking, so a windscreen permit was is required. During our visit the hotel was quite, probably being the weekend before Thanksgiving. There is a short walk to the beach, and fishing boats charters the heart of Clearwater.
There is a fair size swimming pool, but we didn't venture as the weather was rather inclement. A really good feature is the (free) gas BBQ, which we did make full use of. There is a Publix 5 min drive away.
If tis review seems in any way negative, it's not meant o be. This is a fabulous place, and I haven't mentioned the staff, who to a person were not just kind and helpful, but made you feel welcome. Great. Do I want them to spend loads of money updating the place, and put up the rates -NO. Stay as you are, America need hotels like this, especially if you usually stay in one of the Large chains. Fix the door and get an "Excellent". Great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Recently, (October 2013), I stayed for a weekend at Barefoot Bay, a small motel on Shore Drive, in Clearwater Beach. The price was right and the place was adorable. Kept very well and clean. "Travis" (and Justin), at the front desk were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us. There was a comfortable queen bed, sofa, refrigerator, table and chairs (in the kitchen area), and a bathroom with shower.

Just a neat, clean and pleasant environment. Not to mention a wooden deck with chairs outside and a beautiful pool, which they kept up every minute; clean and tempting.

If I went back to Clearwater Beach, I would not stay at an expensive hotel. This place was adorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 836Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.6 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina

Property: Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
Address: 401 E Shore Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Bay Resort and marina is a small family owned and operated motel conveniently located in the center of Clearwater beach making everything just a short walk away. Pier 60 and the beach are 3 minutes away, municipal marina a 2 minute walk. shops and restaurants to cater to every need are 3 minutes away.We are situated on the intra coastal side of the island with great open views, dolphins can be seen from our marina deck.We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable accommodation in a quiet relaxing environment. If you want some excitement hire a Jet Ski from our marina and explore the Island. We provide daily maid service, free WiFi and have a guest laundry room open each day.Our larger than average pool is great to cool down in on hot summer days and heated for your comfort during the cooler winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Bay Resort And Marina Hotel Clearwater
Barefoot Bay Clearwater
Barefoot Bay Hotel And Marina
Barefoot Bay Resort And Marina Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing