We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms leave alot to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
2 reviews
“Rooms leave alot to be desired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stay for 2 weeks and had 2 different rooms. The first room was classified (on web site, before booked) as for 4 adults, 1 queen bed and a queen pullout couch. The Couch was so bad that we had to stuff six pillows and 2 comforters under the mattress. The owner offered us another room at $50.00 a night.

When we moved into the second room for our second week, there were bugs in the room, but the beds were comfortable.

We were never given a break of the rates or nothing.

  • Liked — just the pool
  • Disliked — sleeping conditions
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank norma52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    111
    21
    10
    17
See reviews for
150
193
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

First time at the Barefoot and we'll go back again! Definitely one of the old Clearwater gems. Four of us came down for a college football game and we really liked the two bedroom suite with kitchen, living area and immediate access out of our back door to the Hotel's private dock and marina. Our only gripe was the suite could have used a second bathroom.

Regardless, Clearwater beaches are no more than a 5 minute walk. There are several good bars and restaurants nearby as well. All of the guests and staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The Suite
  • Disliked — Only 1 Bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SUOrangeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

Just got back from a brilliant holiday in Florida. We spent a week in Clearwater, staying at the Barefoot Bay Resort.

This place really is a little gem. The rooms are bright and cheery and in excellent condition. The hotel isn't massive or corporate, so if you're looking for a more personal touch, this is the one for you.

The staff and very friendly and cheerful, but don't invade your space. To quote the review on their website, this is really a great place, where the management are more like friends.

The pool area is great with a very nice decked area for sunbathing, there are clean beach towels available every day and there's also a selection of pool toys (lilo's, balls and floats) which I've never seen available anywhere else.

At the back of the hotel, there's another decked area which leads onto the Marina and this is a lovely large area available to all of the guests and is the best place to see the sunrise - which is an absolute must. You can also do fishing from there.

The hotel really is right across the road from the beach and Pier 60, where the sunset is amazing! The beaches are breathtaking.

All in all, I could not find any fault with this hotel and will certainly stay there everytime I visit Clearwater.

For informal dining out - try the Mandalay Grill (2 minutes walk from Barefoot Bay) - opposite the Hilton Hotel. Their steaks are fab and if you're after a real taste of America, this is the one for you!

On a final note - thank you to the owners of Barefoot Bay - Dave and Shelly for making our stay so wonderful, we'll definately be back and little Harvey will be too!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank ClaireandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

Hotel was in a good location, staff were very friendly, but the hotel is very tired. We'll be paying more to stay in one of the beach front hotels next time.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2008

This is the second time we stayed at Barefoot Bay. First time was back in June 06. It hasn't changed much, if at all, it was still as great as we remember. Clean, friendly staff, sparkling warm pool, great pool deck, cute decorated rooms, etc etc. I honestly don't have one complaint. You will also meet some some great people (other guests) while staying here, and sometimes it feels as if you have the place to yourself. It's close to everything, and the beach is a very SHORT walk away. We drove our car once in 7 days! Love this little resort and we will continue to vacation here. =)

  • Liked — I liked it all
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmw4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

My husband and 14 yo son and I went to Clearwater for Phillies spring training the last week in April. I booked the Barefoot Bay based on reviews on this site and it turned out to be a terrific choice. We had the waterfront room, which had a beautiful view as well as two double beds and a kitchenette. The location was perfect - close to the beach and far from noise. I'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank phillsphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

We have just returned from a short stay at Barefoot having booked accomodation in a different facility ( I will shame them in another review) we found ourselves with no place to stay until we stumbled accross Barefoot Bay.

We found the staff very freindly and helpful, the rooms very clean and nice. we stayed in two different rooms the second one looked out over the bay we watched the sun come up and dolphins swim past as we layed in our bed.

Great location within walking to several local resturants and only two minutes to the fabulous white sandy beach.

I would recomend anyone to try this place its fab!!

  • Liked — Staff Freindliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pidpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
0.6 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina

Property: Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
Address: 401 E Shore Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Bay Resort and marina is a small family owned and operated motel conveniently located in the center of Clearwater beach making everything just a short walk away. Pier 60 and the beach are 3 minutes away, municipal marina a 2 minute walk. shops and restaurants to cater to every need are 3 minutes away.We are situated on the intra coastal side of the island with great open views, dolphins can be seen from our marina deck.We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable accommodation in a quiet relaxing environment. If you want some excitement hire a Jet Ski from our marina and explore the Island. We provide daily maid service, free WiFi and have a guest laundry room open each day.Our larger than average pool is great to cool down in on hot summer days and heated for your comfort during the cooler winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Bay Resort And Marina Hotel Clearwater
Barefoot Bay Clearwater
Barefoot Bay Hotel And Marina
Barefoot Bay Resort And Marina Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing