We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Small Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Small Hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We stayed here for 9 nights in October 2008. It is the second time we have been here. It is a great small hotel, easy to get to, and walking distance to the beach, restaurant and stores. Our room had a queen size bed and a sofa bed. It also had a refrigerator, sink, small table and chairs, and microwave along with dishes. It had everything we needed. The only two downfalls was the very uncomfortable sofa bed. When you sat in it, you sunk way down. Our adult son slept in the bed for two nights and found it very uncomfortable. Also the air conditioner blew right on the bed which we didn't like when we were sleeping in it. So we would just super cool the room right before we went to sleep (and temps were in the 80s outside) and kept the ceiling fan on during the night. It would be nice to somehow rearrange the room so the bed isn't by the air conditioner but that may not be possible. The pool was kept very clean and the water was warm. We enjoyed the deck surrounding the pool and also the deck in the back of the hotel overlooking the water. We would stay at the hotel again but hope that they invest in new sofa beds.

  • Liked — The price and location
  • Disliked — Sofa bed
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    113
    21
    10
    17
See reviews for
153
195
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We stayed here from 29 December to 3 January in a queen standard room. We had a fantastic time and highly recommend this place to anyone. The room was far better than we expected, great comfortable bed, great shower, fridge, utensils and cutlery and everything very nicely decorated and extremely clean. The AC also worked fantastically.

The pool area is extremely nice with wooden decking and a lovely pool with great pool furniture. The decking in the front of the place overlooking the marina is also fantastic.

Barefoot Bay is in a fantastic position . Just 3 minutes from the beach and just a little further to our two favourite restaurants, Frenchy's Rockaway and The Palm Pavillion which are both on the beach. Frenchy's Saltwater is almost across from the Barefoot.

We travelled up and down the coast as far as Pass-a-grille and there are 1000's of places to stay but when we come back to this area we will definitely only stay at Barefoot Bay again. We loved the fact that it is small and personal and even though the place was full we hardly ever saw people. It was extremely peaceful with plenty of space around the pool and when we wanted something more lively it was a quick walk to one of many restaurants or the great beach.

We met the owners and they are an extremely lovely family.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylou_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

This place is awesome. It is not a resort...it is a motel. A family owned, clean, friendly, fun motel. A three minute walk from the beach (and I HATE walking anywhere.) We have stayed here 2 summers in a row and are already planning our third visit this summer. The standard queen room has a bed (queen sized, obviously,) couch, nice bathroom and small kitchenette. Go to CVS and get soda, beer and water. The pool is soooo warm. They give you floaties and balls to play with. But who goes to Clearwater for the pool??? GO TO THE BEACH!!! Great private dock for viewing the harbor. Spoke to the gentleman who owns the property...very friendly. I would rather support a family that puts their heart into a business than to go to a chain...especially on the beach. I want a place close to the beach where I can fall asleep after I am sunburned!!

  • Liked — location, pool, grill, dock, quiet
  • Disliked — just bring off!...this is florida....not because of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stay for 2 weeks and had 2 different rooms. The first room was classified (on web site, before booked) as for 4 adults, 1 queen bed and a queen pullout couch. The Couch was so bad that we had to stuff six pillows and 2 comforters under the mattress. The owner offered us another room at $50.00 a night.

When we moved into the second room for our second week, there were bugs in the room, but the beds were comfortable.

We were never given a break of the rates or nothing.

  • Liked — just the pool
  • Disliked — sleeping conditions
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank norma52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2008

First time at the Barefoot and we'll go back again! Definitely one of the old Clearwater gems. Four of us came down for a college football game and we really liked the two bedroom suite with kitchen, living area and immediate access out of our back door to the Hotel's private dock and marina. Our only gripe was the suite could have used a second bathroom.

Regardless, Clearwater beaches are no more than a 5 minute walk. There are several good bars and restaurants nearby as well. All of the guests and staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The Suite
  • Disliked — Only 1 Bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SUOrangeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Just got back from a brilliant holiday in Florida. We spent a week in Clearwater, staying at the Barefoot Bay Resort.

This place really is a little gem. The rooms are bright and cheery and in excellent condition. The hotel isn't massive or corporate, so if you're looking for a more personal touch, this is the one for you.

The staff and very friendly and cheerful, but don't invade your space. To quote the review on their website, this is really a great place, where the management are more like friends.

The pool area is great with a very nice decked area for sunbathing, there are clean beach towels available every day and there's also a selection of pool toys (lilo's, balls and floats) which I've never seen available anywhere else.

At the back of the hotel, there's another decked area which leads onto the Marina and this is a lovely large area available to all of the guests and is the best place to see the sunrise - which is an absolute must. You can also do fishing from there.

The hotel really is right across the road from the beach and Pier 60, where the sunset is amazing! The beaches are breathtaking.

All in all, I could not find any fault with this hotel and will certainly stay there everytime I visit Clearwater.

For informal dining out - try the Mandalay Grill (2 minutes walk from Barefoot Bay) - opposite the Hilton Hotel. Their steaks are fab and if you're after a real taste of America, this is the one for you!

On a final note - thank you to the owners of Barefoot Bay - Dave and Shelly for making our stay so wonderful, we'll definately be back and little Harvey will be too!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank ClaireandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Hotel was in a good location, staff were very friendly, but the hotel is very tired. We'll be paying more to stay in one of the beach front hotels next time.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.6 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina

Property: Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
Address: 401 E Shore Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Bay Resort and marina is a small family owned and operated motel conveniently located in the center of Clearwater beach making everything just a short walk away. Pier 60 and the beach are 3 minutes away, municipal marina a 2 minute walk. shops and restaurants to cater to every need are 3 minutes away.We are situated on the intra coastal side of the island with great open views, dolphins can be seen from our marina deck.We pride ourselves on providing clean comfortable accommodation in a quiet relaxing environment. If you want some excitement hire a Jet Ski from our marina and explore the Island. We provide daily maid service, free WiFi and have a guest laundry room open each day.Our larger than average pool is great to cool down in on hot summer days and heated for your comfort during the cooler winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Bay Resort And Marina Hotel Clearwater
Barefoot Bay Clearwater
Barefoot Bay Hotel And Marina
Barefoot Bay Resort And Marina Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing