We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Oaks Cafe - CLOSED

3 Oaks Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Tampa Bay
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I were looking for a nice place to have lunch with friends. One of the friends remembered seeing that the parking lot of this restaurant is always full. Now we know why! No one was unhappy with their lunch. This is not your neighborhood diner. The restaurant is set back from the street under many mature live oaks. Its architecture and porch evoke a pleasant Southern setting. The lunch menu seems to have something for everyone, and it was difficult to make a decision. I wound up with grilled Mediterranean chicken, that was a breast topped with artichoke hearts, Kalamata olives, feta cheese and roasted peppers. It was accompanied by savory rice and grilled mixed vegetables. I also ordered a side of their potato salad, that was wonderfully tangy as I like it. All items had great flavor. Others ordered pineapple cranberry chicken salad served in a pineapple boat, a Black Angus French dip sandwich, and a char-grilled flat iron steak topped with roasted peppers and onions. We did not have room to sample the luscious appearing desserts in a case. There is an extensive wine and beer selection that we also did not sample.

Service was friendly and helpful in describing the menu items. The restaurant has a fireplace and plenty of seating. It is open 8:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. seven days a week. We will be back to try the breakfast and dinner items!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank karofl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They shine under pressure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had the most delicious lobster roll! I know everyone has their favorites and though I'm more a butter and claw guy this was a chunky lobster salad version and was just terrific. My friend had a club sandwich that is on my radar for next visit. Server was pleasant, lady manager was great!! I'm telling people, you don't want to drive by and miss this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unacceptable.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Besides being told 10 minutes after ordering my breakfast that the kitchen stopped making breakfast, had a hair in my food previous visit (decided to give another chance) and witnessing the owner (older gentleman) making sexual advances to the employee (a smaller middle-aged Latin decent lady) in the open front dining area, what would you think? Clearly never returning or recommending. Unprofessional & unacceptable to say the least.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda-Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had lunch with several ladies. Ordered chicken fettuccine. The portion of noodles was large and the chicken portion was about 3 ounces. The entree did not include any salad. Small slices of bread were served in a basket. The fettuccine was hot and tasty. The chicken was grilled that was placed on top of the pasta. The server was friendly and helpful. She offered a box to take the pasta home. The carrot cake looked small but moist. Seven dollars for a small piece of cake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor Bluffs, Fl
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Try it neighbor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent food and service but a bit pricey. I have dined here only in the evening and it is not at all crowded. That is exactly how we originally visited this restaurant. It really needs and deserves community support. They only serve beer & wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 3 Oaks Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing