We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best kept secret in Clearwater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny's Italian Restaurant

Johnny's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 684 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best kept secret in Clearwater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great food, great service, low prices. Stop in for lunch for some amazing values. It does'nt look like much from the outside but Johnny's has a nice ambiance inside. Locally owned and operated make sure you say hi to the owner, He's usually seating guests.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    60
    28
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Satisfied ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have always been happy with our dining experiences at Johnny's Restaurant in Clearwater. Not since we ate at Asquino's Restaurant in East Providence, RI have I been fed so well. Everyone in this area of Florida knows where it is and of its fine reputation. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Tacevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

It had been some years since our last visit to Johnny's Italian in Clearwater. There is a large parking lot with plenty of room. The restaurant is generous in size with bar, table and booth seating. As was my experience on prior visits the staff is friendly, attentive and well trained in the menu. Our server, Chris was a polite young gent who did a professional job opening and serving the bottle of California Zin we ordered. On this particular evening we were headed to Ruth Eckerd Hall for a show and had only 70 minutes or so to spare. We skipped the app menu and went directly to the New York style pizza. We were pleased to find the pie had a thin crust and exactly the toppings we ordered in the positions requested. The pizzas are cooked on stone and the use of corn starch ensures a crisp crust that really made the difference. The house salad is a bit underwhelming, iceburg with some red onion, cucumber and tomato. A little color provided by some pepper (green or red) and some carrot would have improved things both visually and added complexity. Our check arrived promply and happily we made the show with time to spare.
Johnny's we will be back in the future with more time to spare.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK, average ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Food was average. Did not care for their Sicilian pizza, but we're from Chicago, home of great pizza. Bread was brought to the table with garlic & oil for dipping - it was good. Salad was fresh.
Staff was friendly and efficient. Probably won't return, food was just ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank jba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Johnny Bread rocks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Every time I've been to Johnny's it is packed, even for lunch. This says something about a family owned restaurant in the Clearwater area where hundreds of family-owned restaurants hide in every strip mall on every street.

I've had pasta entrees (Chicken Picatta, Veal Marsala, Alfredo) here and haven't been super impressed (they're good, but not OMG) and have decided that my fav meal here consists of their amazing Johnny Bread, Antipasto Salad, and pizza.

The Johnny Bread and dipping oil loaded with fresh garlic and herbs is totally 5 stars. I could eat several loaves of this and roll me out the door. Their antipasto salad is awesome - medium is plenty for 2 for side salad and love love love the rolled ham + cheese spirals and great dressing :) Their pizza is very good too - thin crispy homemade crust.

All the staff is super friendly and welcoming. Great option for a comfortable lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Johnny's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing