We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD SPORTS BAR!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Cat Tavern - MOVED

Fat Cat Tavern
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD SPORTS BAR!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Clearwater residents (i'm one of them) are fortunate to have the Fat Cat as a neighborhood watering hole. Like most of these places, they offer numerous televisions, a busy bar area, booths for eating, music and kereoke, and a nice size separate party room. What sets this place above many others is the friendliness of their waitresses, and the selection and overall quality of their food. You can get anything from a perfectly cooked juicy burger to a nice steak or seafood dish, all at very reasonable prices. With typically late hours, this is an excellent place to go have some fun in a casual and very friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fasted21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Tucked back into the NE corner of the Tri City Plaza in Clearwater FL you will find this pleasant experience of a Bar/Tavern. Good Food, good times with Booths, high top tables, & Bar Stools Game room & Trivia e dry Thurs. night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissya56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Food and Trivia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My cousin is a regular here. She took me while I was in town because they have Buzztime Trivia. We went around 9:30 on a Saturday night and the place was very quiet. But we still had a nice time. The beer was cold. The food was hot. The fried mushrooms could have been a little crispier for my tastes. The wings were very good and I am a picky wing person.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Nice Restaurant/Bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a nice locals type of restaurant & bar. Went there with a foursome to celebrate a birthday. Some of our group had been there before, but I had not. My first impression walking in was that it looked very clean. It seems as if it is frequented by a more mature crowd. Most folks there seemed to be in their 40's-50's, with some 30's and 60's also. Nice classic rock tunes playing in the background. Not blasting too loud like at many bars. We were able to talk without having to scream over the music - Very nice.
We just had beers, so not sure how the drinks are.
The food we ordered was very good. The burgers are very good, and everything we had was very good. The Cuban Sandwich is not authentic like you will get at a more traditional Cuban place in Tampa, but was a good sandwich. Paninis sandwiches were very good!
Normal bar type food, but prepared well. I do wish they would add some healthier sandwiches, more things that aren't fried, etc. I would think those would do well with the crowd that goes there.
We had a good time and I would not hesitate to go there again.
I think we would be inclined to go there more often if there were a few more healthier options on the menu.
Worth looking for this place. It is hidden in the very NE corner of Tri-City Plaza.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fills a Niche in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Fat Cat is a great neighborhood sports bar with excellent food, 20+taps with domestic, import and microbrews that the owner rotates. There are plenty of TV's, a large back room for large private parties, pool table and great happy hour and daily food and beer specials.

They do fun things also, karaoke 2 nights, live hosted trivia contests 2 nights a week, live bands and an excellent staff.

The food is prepared by a chef! He has trained his staff so that if he is not there no one can tell. The food is fresh, wings are great, hand made burgers, great sandwiches and excellent specials, late night app menu too. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Went with an unexpected party of 20+, after 8pm with little notice and they handled it well on an already busy Sat. night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Cat Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing