We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Clearwater beach’s best! ”
Review of Island Way Grill

Island Way Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Way Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 777 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

On our most recent trip to Clearwater Beach last weekend, my wife and I returned to the grill for dinner on Sat night. As always, the food was fantastic. A wide array of fresh seafood, great sides, even fresh sushi and a raw bar with several varieties of northeast oysters. It stormed an hour before we arrived so the patio was closed in a hurry and everyone must have rushed inside to dodge the rain. On our arrival, it was chaos inside. Understandably our dinner reservation was delayed, but it was very difficult to get ANY service at the bar, and when we were finally waited on, the young man was clearly struggling in his bartender role. Several customers before us were irate, we took it in stride but noted that it was atypical for this higher-end restaurant in Clearwater Beach. We had wished the weather held out because it’s one of our favorite patio dining spots, but our waiter saved the day and ensured that our experience was a good one. My sushi bowl was fresh and delicious, and the grouper was equally superb. The under-cover valet parking really came in handy though during the thunderstorm and we stayed dry. All in all, Island Way Grill is one of the best restaurants in Clearwater Beach despite some sporadic lapses in the service quality.

Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Island Way Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We really appreciate all of the feedback! We look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 308 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

My husband and I had dinner at the Island Way Grill, Island Estates, Clearwater last night, along with two other couples. I ordered the "Onion Encrusted Salmon" special that came with soup, vegetables, and dessert. The salmon was so dry with two pieces of small onion crisp, the vegetables were practically uncooked, portions minimal, soup was served with a "plastic" teaspoon (!), and the dessert was a dried out brownie with a dab of ice cream also served with a "plastic" spoon!!. My husband's salad was wilted with brown edges. Furthermore, the waiter was less than cordial and bordered on flat rude! We definitely will not be returning and now understand why there were hardly any people there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 914hubertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, General Manager at Island Way Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your honest opinions. Our owner Frank Chivas would like the opportunity to speak with you direct regarding your unpleasant experience. He has asked that you connect with him via cell or email (whichever you prefer) - he can be reached at 727-480-6704 or frank@baystarrestaurantgroup.com - Thank you in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

An upper scale restaurant indeed. Male servers could look more clean cut and professional. At least shave. Our server Jeff was polite, Just needs upscale training and professional appearance. This restaurant apparently does not have a manager trained in operations. The glass door separating the inside dining area from the outside patio area was held open by a rock. Those of us who wanted a comfortable and cool elegant dining experience inside had to experience the heat and humidity pouring in from the open door. Please put table cloths on the interior dining tables. Paying 300.00 for four of us as business professionals deserbe table cloths. The food is very good yet did not see organic options. 64% of Americans estimated to be diabetic, let's get some sugarfee options made with Stevia. Get rid of the pink packets, they are a liability to your business and guests. F&B Director, do your homework on every product you put on your tables and in your menu. Time to raise the bar on healthy options, nongmo etc.

Thank Masterwriterwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Island Way Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your honest opinions. Our owner Frank Chivas would like the opportunity to speak with you direct regarding your feedback. He has asked that you connect with him via cell or email (whichever you prefer) - he can be reached at 727-480-6704 or frank@baystarrestaurantgroup.com - Thank you in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Island way....fantastic food, service and ambiance. Casual, yet classy. Great place, and thanks to Chad L. He provides top notch service! Gotta try the Korean T-bone. Be sure to ask for Chad!

Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Island Way Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for the 5 star rating! We appreciate your business. Happy that Chad took such great care of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Went there tonight with 12 people and the restaurant was dead. We had to ask for butter 3 times and asked for a to go box 3 times and never got it. Everyone thought that the food was just so so and thought that we should have gone to Carrabbas instead. We walked past the fresh oysters on the way in and the card that they had displayed said must sell by 9/18/2017. We were there on 9/25/2017. The manager (Britney on duty tonight) never came by to check on us or to see how things were. This used to be one of the great restaurants in Clearwater.

Thank Brettfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaystarRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Island Way Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your honest opinions. Our owner Frank Chivas would like the opportunity to speak with you direct regarding your unpleasant experience. He has asked that you connect with him via cell or email (whichever you prefer) - he can be reached at 727-480-6704 or frank@baystarrestaurantgroup.com - Thank you in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Way Grill also viewed

 

Been to Island Way Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing