We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Surf n' Sand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf n' Sand
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our New Years Eve trip.The motel was a littler smaller than we expected for the price but with that said we couldn't ask for a better trip. The grounds were very well kept. The room was neat and clean with two quite comfortable queen sized beds and a full kitchen to our surprise. We arrived a couple hours before the check in time but the lady at the front desk didn't mind and let us out our luggage in the room til it was cleaned. I had a few requests to surprise my wife and the lady in the front/manager was very helpful and accommodating. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 07_the_traveler_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    36
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
37
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Yes, the location is very good, just a short walk across the road to the beach, but the room was gross and certainly not worth the 117 a night. Plus the staff was completely unfriendly and rude.

Room smelled like cigarettes. Fridge in room was so loud, needed to be unplugged. The bed was sooo uncomfortable, thank goodness our stay was only for one night. It felt like Styrofoam with a plastic sheet. Plus the comfortable from the closet was stained and had all these little plant pods or bugs on it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bex529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightstown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the surf n' sand for overnight accomodations for a family wedding in Clearwater.
The motel was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the rooms had everything you would need to make your vacation enjoyable. It had its own little dock where you could watch for jelly fish and marine life. The pool was warm and inviting and surrounded by palms and beautiful flowers. If I return to the Clearwateer beach area I will once again stay at this quant, little motel. The staff treated us exceptionally well and we were close enough within walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank to2lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The last time my husband and I stayed in Clearwater we was so dissapinted with our accomodation. Staying close to the beach in Clearwater is expensive, so based on reviews from booking.com we booked 3 nights at Surf´n Sand, and this place is a little gem in Clearwater. We came one hour too early for check-in, but that was no problem, we could even put our stuff in the room (they started cleaning the room when we arrived) Supernice rooms with wooden floors and tiled bathroom. Larg bed, sofa corner, dining area. Swimmingpool and sun terrace right outside. Short walk to the beach and delis, restaurants etc
It was superclean, quiet and our best stay in Clearwater so far. It remined me a bit of Key West actually and I loved it. If they continue to keep this up, this place is highly reccommended.

Room Tip: We had a King Studio and it was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackbalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willard, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Not a fancy place but makes up for it in its character. We had a stove/oven, sink, fridge, coffee pot and toaster in our double queen room for four which worked great for us for breakfast and lunch. We will be back :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Surf ‘n Sand for 5 nights, and the overall experience was actually very good.
First of all, a few words of caution: if you absolutely need a full-on hotel experience, with all the perks and a lot of staff tending to your whims and needs..this is not for you.
The Surf ‘n sand is a family-run (American pop , Russian mom and son, not especially cheery, but very efficient) little old motel, there’s no restaurant or even breakfast room, and there’s no daily maid service (we’re not room-thrashers, so we didn’t care, but others may feel differently).
If you need all these things..the Hilton and the Hyatt Regency are a couple blocks down the road..of course for 4-5 times the price, because Clearwater Beach tends to be on the pricy side. (even this place is a little more expensive than similar places, say, on the Florida West Coast in the summer)
That said, all the rest is on the plus side.
First of all: location, location, location…the SnS is on the north side of Clearwater Beach (north of the Pier, that is), which is by far the best and less crowded.
The beach itself is nicer and wider, or at least it seems so because there’s much less people, and no rows of “organized” chairs/umbrellas for rent like the other side.
True, the south side has the beautiful wavy Beachwalk promenade and the glitzy hotels and restaurants, and actually we enjoyed going there several times without having to “stay” there, because it’s only a 10/15-minute walk, so you really have the best of both worlds.
Plus the S’nS has a terrific location even within North Beach, because the pool deck overlooks directly the beautiful bay, while the ocean beach, on the other side the island, is only a 5-minute walk.
No other North Beach motel has a nicer location, since both the oceanfront and the bayfront “first-rows” are mostly lined with apartments and condos, whereas most hotels/motels are in the middle blocks.
Finally, it has to be said that they did a terrific job with the place itself: everything is freshly painted and well-kept, the pool deck is small but beautiful, the landscaping is the lushest around,and the rooms (with full kitchen) look totally redone quite recently (and rather tastefully . too). Everything was spotlessly clean.
Actually, on the north side we didn’t see a motel that was nicer than this, except maybe for the Camelot (which I’m told is in a different price range).
Bottom line; strongly recommended if you want to enjoy a beautiful, buzzing, somewhat upscale place like Clearwater Beach while staying in a smaller-scale, old Florida kind of place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hyperdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My family and I have stayed at this hotel twice now and its wonderful. Great location to the beach and walking distance to lots of great restaurants, and shops. The rooms were nice and very clean. They have a great pool with lots of lounge chairs and table and chair sets to choose from. Several bbq grill around the pool area which we took full advantage of. There is also a dock that we sat at several times and enjoyed our view. All in all this was a wonderful hotel and I would highly recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerry i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#42 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf n' Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf n' Sand

Property: Surf n' Sand
Address: 50 Royal Way, Clearwater, FL 33767-1539
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf n' Sand 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf n Sand Motel is situated along the Florida’s Gulf Coast and just steps away from the white sugar sand of Clearwater Beach. This beach has been ranked as one of the most beautiful beaches in the United States. Also, we are just a few blocks away from the Clearwater Beach shopping district which includes many popular restaurants and drinking establishments.Our property is located directly on the intercoastal waterway of Clearwater with full access for our guests to relax in its calming nature. Our property pool faces the intercoastal waterway as well, for a relaxing pool day with a beautiful view.Under new ownership, we have updated the property but kept the small hotel feel and family friendly environment. We have completely renovated, with many upgrades to both the interior and exterior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Surf n' Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf N' Sand Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing