We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Maintenance ”
Review of Surf n' Sand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf n' Sand
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I have mixed feelings about this place so I'm going to just put my pros and cons here:
Pros: Good location, nice pool that is actually heated to a temperature that you can swim in cooler weather, spacious room with a kitchen, it was quiet at night and we were actually able to sleep during spring break week without an all night party going on
Cons: The place needs serious maintenance. The day we arrived there was a huge hole in the fence by the water where it had rotted out and someone fell through. Our room had broken tiles on the floor and in the tub, a chip in the mirror, a broken dishwasher, and an oven that made a strange clicking sound even when it wasn't in use. We reported the problems but were told that they wouldn't be fixed because there was no maintenance available the week we were there. I suspect they don't have maintenance ever but that is just my guess. I also really dislike the pricing of the rooms. I feel like it is misleading. We booked a room that sleeps 6 (and paid just under 2k for it during the week of spring break) but were told that the price advertised is only for 2 adults. If you have more adults, it is an extra charge per person per day. This was explained to us when we called, so I wouldn't say they try to hide it, but I just thought the pricing was a little misleading at first glance when you are internet price shopping. I'd also say another con is that there are lots of "rules" and you kind of feel like your every move is being watched. Last but not least, bring your iron and hair dryer if you need it. Those are not provided.
Overall, I doubt I'd stay here again but it wasn't terrible, just not spectacular.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Hereandthere221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Surf n Sand was chosen because it was relatively cheap and close to the beach, it firmly met those expectations. If you are looking for anything fancy or an luxury you won't find it there. On the positives it was only a 2-3 minute walk to the beach and has a nice pool that overlooks the bay. On the negative you have to pay an extra $15 p day for maid service and the lady at the front desk didn't really explain anything to us that we needed to know. The room came with a kitchenette and surprisingly had an microwave and oven, even pots & pans and real silverware. Not a bad place to stay, I'd say we are 50/50 on whether we'd stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wifey_and_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I recently rented a room at this establishment, and were pleasantly surprised by our experience. From the outside, it doesn't look like much. Inside however, was a clean, charming suite with a full kitchen and comfortable living area. The price of $175 a night was well worth it as the gulfview pool and close proximity to local bars and beaches were factored in. The Surf n Sand was a short walk (ten minutes TOPS) from the beach, the Palm Pavilion Beachside Grill, and Frenchy's Rockaway Grill. Great place to stay for a young (or older) couple, and it also seemed ideal for families as they had a strict noise ordinance after 10 pm. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms 3 was on the downstairs corner and kind of removed from the pool crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a great time. The beach is only 2 blocks away and not far from the Pier. Our room was clean and very cozy for two. Would definitely come back. The pool was very clean and heated a plus! Just far enough away from the traffic but close enough for shops and restaurants. Did not have to use the car walked where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank shortcake63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This property is horrible! When we arrived our room was not ready for us. We had to wait until evening to check in. When we were able to finally go in the room, it was not at all what was advertised. The room was advertised as a one bedroom apartment, but in reality was one room with a small dirty kitchen, an old couch, and two double beds. I guess they were able to say it was a one room apartment by putting a 4 foot high by 6 foot long wall between a bed and the couch. When we asked about having a room with a separate bedroom we were offered a different room with a heavy water leak in the bathroom (containing what looked like mildew) and outlets that didn't work throughout the room. As you can imagine we were devastated as we booked several weeks in advance, had traveled all day, and waited all afternoon to 'check in'. We called our travel agent, and she called the local chamber of commerce; which told her that the room they tried to put us in was condemned due to a fire several months earlier. We decided to look for more safe place to stay in the area. When we addressed our issues with the owner she was very condescending in her conversation with us: stating that "oh honey, you should have read the fine print....you do not get your money back....you have already paid....". I began to panic as we had two teenagers waiting to relax after a long day of travel, had lost over $1200 for a room we could not stay in! I began to cry...called our travel agent back and made a plan to refuse payment with our credit card company. To conclude my nightmare vacation with Surf n' Sand, we ended up paying $200 deposit and being harassed because we didn't was to stay in a dirty, old, not working "resort"! To all you out there.....this is not a resort!!! This is a nightmare waiting to get you too!!! Do NOT BOOK!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not book!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovetotravel559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

2 min walking distance from the beach. 5 min walking distance from restaurants, stores, and bars. We had a great time. Our room had a view on the water and was very clean. We loved it! Pool was also very clean and heated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The pool overlooks a stunning view of the intercoastal waters. It's only two blocks away from the beach and away from all the busy traffic. The manager was very helpful and made some great suggestions for our stay. The room was nice and very clean. We had a great time and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
0.8 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 98 in Clearwater
1,294 reviews
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Clearwater Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
0.7 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
1.3 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf n' Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf n' Sand

Address: 50 Royal Way, Clearwater, FL 33767-1539
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range: £68 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf n' Sand 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf n Sand Motel is situated along the Florida’s Gulf Coast and just steps away from the white sugar sand of Clearwater Beach. This beach has been ranked as one of the most beautiful beaches in the United States. Also, we are just a few blocks away from the Clearwater Beach shopping district which includes many popular restaurants and drinking establishments.Our property is located directly on the intercoastal waterway of Clearwater with full access for our guests to relax in its calming nature. Our property pool faces the intercoastal waterway as well, for a relaxing pool day with a beautiful view.Under new ownership, we have updated the property but kept the small hotel feel and family friendly environment. We have completely renovated, with many upgrades to both the interior and exterior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surf n' Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf N' Sand Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing