We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday outing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    76
    68
    47
    43
See reviews for
102
69
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonawanda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We enjoyed the room and its convenience. The only thing I would suggest would be to add to the breakfast choices: more cereals and maybe a waffle iron.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the breakfast items you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

............This is a very basic and inexpensive place to stay while on the road. My room and the property were clean and orderly. Because of proximity to Highway 19, I would recommend requesting a room towards the back of the property to avoid hearing the highway hum......

Room Tip: .....a room at the back of this property will be more quiet than those by the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are located on Hwy 19 and close to many different points of interest. The rooms are very good at keeping outside noise to a minimum, however, if one is a light sleeper or used to the quiet of the country, asking for a room further away from the Hwy and on the second floor will help. I am happy to hear your stay was adequate for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antigonish
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We my wife and myself had to leave our home for the day as some work was being done.So we booked a room at the HJs. which was close by.The staff was friendly and the room was large and clean,but the bathroom needed a make over.There was a pool and hot tub which i used and the continental breakfast was ok.The only downside was i dont think the hotel was remodeled for years,but i would go there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southland33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I'm glad you found it to be comfortable and convenient and within price range for your needs. I hope if you ever need to stay "in town" again, you will consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
4.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#62 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Address: 27988 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing