We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel, great pool and breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Ranked #74 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, great pool and breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stopped in for 2 nights during a recent trip. Hotel was clean, pool was sparkling and breakfast was much better than the run of the mill complimentary choices. Staff friendly. Dehumidifiers in the room, beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stingah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I'm so glad to read your wonderful review of our property. I'm so very glad that you enjoyed the pool, breakfast, and room cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that your 2 day stay, while brief, was well received. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    76
    68
    47
    43
See reviews for
102
69
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Got into clearwater late at night and was looking for La Quinta but settled for this place as i was tired.WHAT A MISTAKE! Property is a dump and need of total restoration. Rooms were circa 1980 and run down with a musty odor. The price was high at $79 plus $11 for my dog.For a total of $90 plus tax.I was tired so i took it thinking it was a high price but the rooms must be nice. NOT I stayed the night and got out of there.Its a $45 a night room at best. Turns out LQ was only a few miles away. Checked in there and it was paradise at $67 compared to this place.If your on 19 and need a place there are much nicer and cheaper places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Clearwater
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The morning staff was very efficient and helpful. The ADA room we stayed needs updating, There was a hole on the back of the bathroom door, but the bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was one of the better I have encountered,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed our hospitality and our Continental Breakfast. Thank you for letting us know about the repair issue with your room. AND thank you for spending your special time with us. We hope to be able to service any future stays in the Clearwater area; and we will be sure to address the maintenance issues you brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
4.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#62 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Address: 27988 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing