We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Served my purposes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Ranked #76 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Petit Roche, AR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Served my purposes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2006

I stayed here for three nights and had a perfectly satisfactory experience. The advantages of this hotel are the close proximity to dining and shopping along Hwy 19, and the stable (but unsecure) in-room wireless internet access.

The air conditioning worked very well, and the free continental breakfast included a wide range of options. I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DrRingDing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    80
    70
    49
    47
See reviews for
108
73
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2006

Stayed 2 nights in Novemeber of 06. Moved here from the Econo Lodge in Clearwater Beach. I really enjoyed my 2 nights here. I slept well despite the highway being outside. The double bed room I stayed in was big and clean. I had wireless internet access and I was very pleased with the room. Was only 2 miles from the Phillies spring training facility and only 15 minutes from Clearwater Beach. There were plenty of resturants and activities to do around the hotel. Route 19 is a main highway so it was very accessible to everything and I didn't hit traffic at all. It's not a 5 star resort but it reasonably priced, the front desk was friendly and the room was comfortable. I would recommend staying here over paying those high prices for other hotels this one can povide. If I go to Clearwater again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mattaltieri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2006

We stayed here one night on our way up the west coast of Florida - and didn't sleep a wink. The air conditioner in this room sounded like a 747 taking off - and to think I was worried about being kept awake by the traffic on the 6 lane highway outside.... definitely would not stay here again, solely for that reason. Apart from that, service was ok, and breakfast wasn't bad either.

  • Disliked — The noise!!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — There are a bunch of hotels in the area - pick one off the main highway
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dldrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwaterhojo, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review, 17 July 2009
We are currently in the process of upgrading all our Air Conditioners to new easier to operate digital Models. Please be patient with our transformation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2006

Having booked in June '05 I was worried to read that a few people had not had their bookings recognised when checking in at the hotel. We were staying in our villa at Glenbrook (Clermont) and my daughter wanted to go to Clearwater for her birthday.

Rang the hotel and was pleased to hear we still had a booking. On arrival we found the hotel had changed it's name. Unfortuantely, it took three attempts to find a suitable room. The first one they sent us to on the 3rd floor didn't have enough beds and stunk of smoke.

The second one wasn't ready and smelt even worse, finally they gave us 309, which was spotless. Last year we had a tv in each section of the divided room, not this year though. There were not enough towels for the 5 of us, and when I rang down I was told to bring the other towels down before I could have anymore. The pillows were like bricks and there was only 4, there were 5 of us in the room. I was told, as housekeeping had gone home I could not get any more Pillows! ($205 + 11% tax per night)

The beach and sunsets from the balcony were brilliant as usual, only downside is half the building are demoliton sites as you walk along the front. It has taken a lot of people away from the area and even though it was Spring Break it was pretty empty.

We were glad to get back to our villa and checked out after only 2 nights instead of 3.

Helpful?
1 Thank UXB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
9.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Clearwater Airport
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#42 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
6.1 mi away
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
#2 of 3 in Palm Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
Address: 27988 US Highway 19 N, Clearwater, FL 33712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing