We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, very friendly”
Review of Amber Tides Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Tides Motel
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The grounds are beautiful, you will be hard pressed to find anything nicer! Well kept, clean, 2 pools- both are maintained perfectly and are immaculate. Nice and private for spending time outside, area's are separated into small romantic settings. Lots of Palm trees, reminds me of Elvis' beach movies from the 60's. This also brings me to the drawback, even though there has been some updating to the rooms, they are still in the 70's. Joe the manager makes up for the "old" rooms with his friendliness. He is very helpful and makes up for the inadequacies of the rooms. Great location, a short walk directly to the beach or downtown but far enough removed for a quiet and safe stay. I would rate this motel at the top if not for the rooms themselves but who goes to Florida in Feb to be indoors? Joe and the grounds more than make up for the difference and this alone makes it a great place to stay. There are 2 gas grills to use also, both well maintained.

Room Tip: Newer section seemed much more "modern" from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtzbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We've visited Amber Tides three times in the last 4 years. We really enjoyed our stay here...but for those of you who are looking for 5 stars and an impeccable stay don't bother. We really like this place, but we are "fend for ourselves" types and don't feel like we have to spend the extra to be right on the beach listening to all the spring breakers- this is a quite hotel. Overall, this hotel reminds me a lot of what florida was in the 70's. The rooms are okay, not fancy,and a little dated , but clean. The best things about this place are the pool, the seating areas and the manager. The pool and the surrounding area are a life saver during those times when its freezing at the beach. We went one spring and it was so cold that we couldn't even go to the beach (even to walk), but the heated pool in it's sheltered area was warm enough to sunbath. There are a bunch of private seating areas around the pool with grills (stop at the grocery on your way into clearwater), and great ambient lighting. We would go back in a heartbeat. Since our initial visits there have been other properties that have opened owned by the same company, and they look updated compared to Amber Tides, but most of the people staying at those places still come to Amber Tides for the pool and the grill. Im giving a 4 star rating based on the pool, the seating area, and the manager....Id give it a 3 star if based on the rooms.

Room Tip: The neighboring property has been updated (we were there in 2013) and is directly next door, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mainegirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I would give this review 5 stars if it was only based on the manager, a really friendly/nothing is too much trouble/knowledgeable guy.
He keeps the rooms/pool/gardens/terraces immaculately clean and maintained.

The negative thing for us was the actual standard of the furniture and buildings. This place really could do with a good remodelling/renovation.

The furniture is old if not second hand, doors and windows are the same with gaps and spaces, and need to be replaced.

The kitchen cabinets are badly fitting and very old, etc etc etc.

We stayed here for 5 days after we arrived in Tampa from Spain just before Christmas 2013, then moved inland to Orlando to do all the attractions.

Joe you are a star, so pleased that we had the pleasure of meeting you.

If the management get their act together with modernising the place, this would be a paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and could not have been more comfy, when we arrived joe up graded are room which was a nice surprise and the room was great very clean and had all we needed ie: cooker full size fridge and cups plates and so forth . Joe was very helpful and a really nice guy. If we come back to this area we would stay here again with out a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank williamlisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Never stayed in a motel before and found this place satisfactory.It had all the facilities we needed for a one week stay. The room was a good size, clean and beds were comfortable, just could do with a freshen up.

Joe the manager was very helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Joe, the Property Manager, was very friendly and helpful to answer all of our questions. We had never been to this area before so we had lots of questions. We stayed in a king room with a kitchen. The room was very clean and the kitchen stocked with the dishes and pots, etc that we needed. Having a full size frig and microwave was very nice. The heated pool was wonderful. It is next to a street, but there was not much traffic. The dining tables by the pool had grills and this was a very nice feature. We also enjoyed relaxing by the pool in the rocking chairs. This place was a great value and turned out to be wonderful gem where we would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

First time at the Amber Tides Motel. Pleasant spacious accommodations close to beach and most of Clearwater attractions. A good value . We stayed in the newer remodeled section. Clean and comfortable. Beds were firm with softer tops (very nice). Single level no elevators or long walks to your rooms here. Outside areas groomed and nicely planted. Staff of 1 (Joe) very accommodating - Thank You -

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CWU56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
1.2 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
0 mi away
Silver Sands Motel
Silver Sands Motel
#48 of 98 in Clearwater
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#46 of 98 in Clearwater
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tides Motel

Address: 420 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2535
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £87 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amber Tides Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back under German Management, Ulli & Michelle. Our Motel is located two blocks from Clearwater South Beach, less then 5 minutes walk to the Beach, Restaurants, Bars and Shopping. If you like the Key West feel you will love staying at our quaintly accomodated property with the tropically landscaped pool area. We have grills and sitting areas nestled in the palms for that island feel. All our rooms are non-smoking. We do allow smoking outside of the rooms and around the courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amber Tides Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Tides Hotel Clearwater
Amber Tides Clearwater
Amber Tides Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing