We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the first time we stayed here and it was nice. It seems like an older hotel, but was clean and very nicely located near the beach and restaurants. It was really not took pricey compared to other hotels in the area. Threw employees seemed good and polite. The only issue we had was the shower was very noisy when in use. It had a squeal to it...... Art first it was not to bad, but after a few days kind of got on our nerves.. Also they are currently building another hotel in front of this one' so pretty soon there will be no ocean view...... However, I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewhatfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was a great wee find. Perfect location: right on the beach but not in the middle of the entertainment. I don't normally sleep well in hotels, particularly motel-style. However the beds were so unbelievably clean and comfortable that I had no problems here. The small kitchenette was better than described. We were given vouchers for breakfast which I used every morning. There was definitely a decent selection on offer. Loved the bagels. Try to book a sea facing room, simply because the view is beautifully relaxing. Yes, there's a car park across the road but it has no impact. I would have no hesitation recommending pelican pointe, in fact I plan to go back and stay for far longer. As for Clearwater beach- it's by far the best I've ever been to out of the 50 odd beaches I've been to in 3 continents.

Room Tip: Definitely worth extra for a seaview, high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were there for 4 days and had an amazing stay. From the second we walked into the lobby to check in I knew it would be great. The women at the desk were absolutely amazing, telling us all the fun places to go at night and giving us cards to various businesses and the free Clearwater cab service ! The night front desk guy was also great. No one ever said no or hesitated at any of our requests.

The rooms were clean and spacious and housekeeping was great about coming everyday.

The hotel has great views of the sunset. Yes, there is construction across the street but it wasn't any bother at all. I would still absolutely stay there again, even when the hotel across the street is finished and the view is gone.

You can't beat the price and location. Less than 5 minute walk from door to beach, restaurants, bars and shops. 10 minute stroll to the pier area where you can get anything you would need. No car is needed.

Overall I would 100% recommend this hotel. By no means is it the most luxurious hotel in Clearwater but it has everything needed and then some. And for the price it can't be beat. We saw every age group from babies and families to us, six 27 year olds, to people in their 90s staying here. All enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a well decorated, clean hotel with a nice pool. However, there is no soundproofing either between rooms or floors. We didn't get one good nights sleep in the 7 nights we stayed. There is supposed to be security at night to prevent use of the pool after 10pm and enforce a noise curfew at 12am - neither of these happened. There were children in the pool at 2am and noise from other guests at all hours of the night. The people above were dropping bricks on the floor at 5am!! The TV from the room next door was so loud it woke us up at 2am! It was a holiday weekend and there were shots fired on the promenade near the hotel - not their fault but it certainly didn't enhance our enjoyment of the holiday. Wouldn't go back there again nor recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful beach break - such a pity as the beach is lovely even though the cabanas are very expensive.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank christinemorris39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

While this review (and a picture) may have some negatives it is not really meant that way. It is to give readers different info to go on. We stayed at the Pelican Pointe the first week of May 2014. The staff there is INCREDIBLE. Every one we met were nice and helpful. My wife and I usually stay at beach front resorts – the Pelican is more of a Motel setting without a lot of amenities and is not right on the beach. It’s location is decent. It’s a short walk to the beach and only a ½ mile to Pier 60 where a lot of the “action” takes place. The room was decent and the bed was comfortable. The entire property is kept very clean. It was actually scary that we NEVER saw a bug / insect the entire week at the resort. The sunset was beautiful from the shared balcony but soon it will be blocked by a new 15 story tower being built across the street. The free WI-FI worked well / fast and even on the weekend and Cinco De Mayo we had no problem getting a free parking space. We do wish they had in room safes as we’d like to be able to lock our valuables / car keys up while on the beach or out. Our rear window did not have a lock so anyone could have easily broke in as the window faced an abandoned building behind it where some homeless were sleeping. I used a butter knife as a lock and it worked perfect. NOT the Hotels fault but on Saturday night and again on Cinco De Mayo there were some young college age kids there who were drinking and screaming until after 5 AM so we didn’t get a lot of sleep and our day plans were changed as a result. The front desk said night security should have intervened and they weren’t sure why they didn’t. Anyway – This Hotel / Motel would be a good choice for younger people (They have ping pong and bean bag toss and more) and for budget minded travelers. Crabby’s a couple blocks away had the best breakfast lunch AND dinner! TIP: Ask for a room facing the gulf – better views and no abandoned building behind it. You get BEACH towels from the front desk and pool towels at the pool. And they give you a tote bag to carry the towels in. On the beach – umbrella rentals w/ two chairs are $25 a day – less after lunch. TIP: If you’ll be there a week - go to Walgreens (short walk) or Target / Wal-Mart and buy an umbrella and buy two of those chair in a bags used for sports / camping and save a bundle. There is an Awesome Target in Clearwater not far off the causeway (requires a car). And every other store / chain / restaurant is there too. Tarpon Springs was nice but not much for kids to do. Sarasota was nice too but plenty to do right there in Clearwater if you want. We were a little disappointed in Johns Pass Boardwalk (Except the Sunset there was nice) as it’s gone mainstream in parts with a Bubba Gump and Hooters. St Pete is still cool. Airport is close to Clearwater which is nice. Traffic was bad on Sunday but weekdays were fine. We did not hear construction noise but did hear cars on the street when they blew their horns and loud motorcycles on occasion as well as ER vehicles. Our thought was we’re on vacation so we won’t be spending much time in our room at the hotel. Having views and more amenities are nice too but you pay for it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the gulf have sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed here before and had a good time, can't say that this time around. It is right across the street from the beach, which is great except you now have to walk 2 blocks to enter the beach because of construction. Our once beautiful great view is now scattered with cranes and construction crews and who needs an alarm clock when you can wake up to the sound of construction? The people around us were very loud and drinking, which didn't fit into our "family" idea of vacation. And you can imagine our delight as I tried to make coffee one morning to find 2 small lizards looking at me...no joke. We never did find them, they are harmless, but try spending your vacation going to sleep every night wondering where they went....not relaxing. Than there was the day we dealt with a clogged toilet and maintence had already went home for the day and we were handed a plunger and sent to deal with things on our own; as it was the only option offered to us. On a up note, the pool is well maintained and the nicest part of the motel and house keeping is pretty good about coming around every morning. As we spoke to people the common disappointment was that there wasn't a hot tub like the majority of the rest of the hotel/motels on the strip. Also, having "laundry facilities" available is always a perk when your traveling with kids, but we were not able to use them due to the fact that there are 2 washer and dryer units available for an entire motel. And please, if you are reading an ad online that refers to these as "condos," your about to be disappointed. It is nothing more than a hotel room with a small fridge and microwave, toaster and a 4 cup coffee maker. We did however appreciate the large flat screen which is the only modern update we seen since our last visit 2 years ago. Needless to say, you get what you pay for and we will be looking else where in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angylhoofz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed with my family from April 29th-May 6th at the Pelican Pointe. We had been upgraded to the 4th floor for the killer view of the bay and the view of the beach. Which was wonderful and got to watch sunsets from our floor's balcony. It is an older structure, but remodeled and well kept. The gentleman at check in was so wonderful as well as housekeeping and maintenance. The hotel offered everything we needed including dishes for our use, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, beach chairs, wi-fi and cable tv. Other people who had stayed there during the week were normal family people and very friendly, there was no construction noise or noise from other guests. The beach is literally 3 minute walk and restaurants are short distance away. The price was great and I would stay there again, their motto is "Come here as guests, leave here as friends." We truly felt that way, I am sorry that my stay was not longer.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on 3rd and 4th floors have great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,512 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#21 of 98 in Clearwater
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort

Address: 445 Gulf View Blvd., Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#19 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £93 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Pointe Clearwater
Hotel Pelican Pointe
Pelican Pointe Hotel And Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing