We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for a perfect rate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
1 review
“Perfect Place for a perfect rate!”
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Stayed here for five days. The room was great and the service was great as well. The pool was nicer than we thought. The pool and rooms were recently renovated. The GM and his staff were very welcoming! A good mix of families with kids, senior citizens and young professionals!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcdefghPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    416
    135
    42
    38
See reviews for
443
330
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

This is a great place to stay! I am from Wisconsin and spent 2 nights in Clearwater Beach with my daughter, the first night we stayed in a loud, over price, run down motel for $175 (way over priced). Needless to say that morning I looked for another place to stay and found Pelican Pointe. From the outside the property & pool looked very clean and maintained. It is almost directly across from the beach. The front desk personal went above and beyond to serve me and where very friendly. When I booked a room I have to say I was a little leery of what the room was going to look like for a $120 a night but to my surprise it was spectacular! The room was freshly renovated and remodeled with a view of the gulf that was just across the street. It had a kitchenette area with a sink, microwave, a small table, sofa bed and a TV. The bathroom separated the living area from the sleeping area that is in the back and it also had a TV and it was QUIET too.

I have no complaints and would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for GREAT place at a GREAT price.
It truly was a pleasurable experience and I will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparky25kv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We were able to walk to a gorgeous beach in just a couple of minutes. Pier 60 is only a couple of blocks away. There are great bars and restaurants very close by. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
The only downside was that the rooms had thin walls so we could hear our neighbors and people outside when we were trying to sleep.
I would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2009

At first glance, it seems like a sweet deal - right across from the beach, pretty cheap, nice heated saltwater pool, kitchenette, and free continental breakfast. If you're just looking for a place to crash, I guess it's not too bad... if you can handle dirty, torn sheets, stained pillowcases, smelly pillows, and a blood-stained mattress (revealed because the top sheet is stretched and tattered enough to come off the bed while you're sleeping.) Don't even bother opening up the pullout couch - it's full of dirt and foodcrumbs. In the morning, the "continental breakfast" is Little Debbie donuts and some spectacularly awful coffee. Should you decide instead to prepare some breakfast in your kitchenette, you'll discover that there are no plates, cups, bowls, or cutlery save for a couple of food-encrusted forks, no dish soap, and that area is generally filthy. Good thing there's an IHOP down the street!

It's not like we were expecting the Hilton - still, the place is a complete dive.

One deciding factor to stay here was the advertised free wifi internet connection. Before you get excited - it doesn't actually work. We could never connect in our room, and were able to connect only long enough to check our email (albeit very slowly) outside by the pool late at night and early in the morning.

The desk staff, however, is great, especially Gregory, who was incredibly helpful, friendly, and apologetic. After complaining about the condition of the room, the maid was dispatched right away and provided new bedding, however, the room remained filthy, and wasn't actually cleaned for the rest of our stay. At Pelican Pointe, "cleaning" consists of replacing the towels (sometimes) and making the beds, if it is done at all.

The only nice thing about this hotel other than Gregory is the heated saltwater pool, which unlike the rest of the hotel is clean and a lovely place to relax... until it gets taken over by rowdy, out-of-control, drunk-at-noon spring break kids. Our fault for visiting Clearwater Beach during spring break I guess.. but the staff did nothing to stop them from cannonballing into the pool, throwing footballs which nailed guests trying to relax, and generally driving everyone else insane. And when they keep you up until 4am, don't even bother complaining... the office closes in the evening and doesn't reopen until 9 am.

I'd say spend the extra 20 bucks and stay at the Holiday Inn or the Days Inn down the street. Don't cheap out here like we did. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenswallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pelican Pointe! The staff, especially Gregory, were extremely helpful and friendly! We received the best service ever! Even though it was unseasonably cold when we were there we were able to swim in the heated pool! Will definitely go back!

  • Liked — The friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Not very good internet connection
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 501PetuniaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Very good for the price, clean and cozy, the staff are friendly and helpful, we had a problem with the toilet and they fixed it right away.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank liketotravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2008

We went to Florida for my son's wedding on the beach at Sand Key. Our stay at the hotel only added to the overall wonderful experience. All the staff were very personable and friendly and helpful. When my granddaughter (1yr old) grabbed a cup of hot coffee from the table (little hands love to travel...fast) and burnt her arm, all were very concerned and helpful, not just at the moment but days later (and not because they were afraid of a law suit). Rooms were clean and spacious and in very good condition. A/C felt great, of course, but to keep costs down for them and for the rates, the hallways above the ground floor were not cooled. That was no problem...we were not staying in the halls. The short distance we had to drive to Clearwater beach was worth the savings in the room rate. Besides, having the Intercostal Waterway just across the street made it seem like you were on the Gulf. When I have the opportunity, I will tell all to stay here.
P.S. My granddaughter only got like a very bad sunburn from the coffee with a few small blisters and it was just on her arm and fingers. We were all very thankful.
P.P.S. It really helps if you are friendly first...any where you go!

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and great, friendly staff. And breakfast!
  • Disliked — The elevator was acting up.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Datamahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 98 in Clearwater
4,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort

Property: Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Address: 445 Gulf View Blvd., Clearwater, FL 33767
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#18 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#24 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Pointe Clearwater
Hotel Pelican Pointe
Pelican Pointe Hotel And Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing