We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N
Ranked #68 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We checked into this hotel for 2 nights while in Clearwater with our 3 children, ages 5, 7 and 9. We were on our yearly Florida vacation, having traveled all the way from Montreal. To our dismay, the hotel was surrounded by a very loud, extremely dusty and dirty construction site that looked more like a war-zone. To make matters worse, 2 of our kids have asthma and kept breathing in this foul air surrounding the hotel. What really sent us reeling was the fact that we are Priority Club members and we booked this hotel over the phone with an IHG employee who NEVER advised us about the situation prior. We were misled and taken advantage of. Once we returned home, we filed a complaint with IHG. We were given the runaround and it took weeks for them to even answer us. They passed the blame from one department to another.
In the end, they just "wanted us to go away" and threw a measly 5000 points our way (we used over 50 000 of our points to book the stay so 5000 was an insult more than anything). WE will NEVER stay in any IHG hotel, even if I have to pay triple the price we will stay with a different chain. This is largely based on the way they handled our legitimate complaint. We were taken for a ride by IHG and are extremely dissatisfied. Not to mention the actual hotel was in need of a major cleaning. Carpets were dirty and our blinds didn't work so we had to try and sleep with a glaring beam of a construction site light and tons of noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Anne M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Your concerns have been forwarded to the management and ownership of the aforementioned property. While we certainly regret the experience you had, the compensation that has already been issued is appropriate and supports our Hospitality Promise. In addition, your comments will remain on file at a corporate level, for use in periodic evaluations of the hotel.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Booked this hotel through Hotwire.com and got two rooms for $140 ( inc tax/fees ) . We are on holiday staying in Orlando but decided to visit Clearwater Beach and Busch Gardens so instead of travelling down twice we did an overnight and this hotel ticked all the boxes. For the price I can't really complain about anything. The hotel is really nice and clean, rooms are spacious with two double beds. There is a small pool outside nothing to really shout about but nice for cooling off. Didn't go for breakfast which is a buffet, this is also included in the price of the room. Location is really good there is numerous places to eat within walking distance and the beach is about 10 mins drive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind words. Many people pay us a tremendous amount of compliments as they depart. However, it is guest like yourself whose comments make our job worthwhile, and our staff get encouraged. It is a difficult job, but the recognition from guests like yourself, is very appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel lobby was nicely decorated. The Hallway carpet is in need of a good steam cleaning and so does the rooms. The first room we checked in had old urine stains on the toilet so we checked into another room. The towels are a bit dated considering the brown stains on them (The stains appears to be from ironing) but I bring my own towels/rags anyway. The beds are very comfy. Free Breakfast is better than the so called continental but it was blah, especially the bacon-yuck! Other than that, it was average. No bells and whistles.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaraTammy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear TamaraTammy32,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am glad that you found our lobby to be nicely decorated.

I am sorry to hear that some items in your room fell below your standards. Pelase accept our sincerest apologies if our room housekeeping failed to meet your expectations. Additonally, I am truly sorry if you didn't like our breakfast selection to your liking.

Your comments are very important to us as this is our primary source in improving guest services. I have taken note of your comments and these will be taken into consideration for future upgrades. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We visited this hotel from June 9th through the 12th of 2013. The hotel and rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. It has a great location, with the beach just moments away. The pool was clean and has towels available for guests. We thought that another power strip in the room would help because we had to unplug the refrigerator to plug in the microwave. The restaurant closes at ten on Sunday and we arrived at 9:50 and were turned away. Later summer hours would be helpful for travelers. The ac unit was a little too noisy and difficult to reach a comfortable temperature.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bessiemount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear bessiemount,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of the room and the pool. We are also happy that you found the bed comfortable and the location great. However, please accept our sincere apologies over the noise and restaurant hours. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was very spacious and clean. I was impressed with the quality of the courtesy toiletry in the room. The staff is very professional and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful. We expected a contentinental breakfast but to our surprise there was a hot breakfast buffet, the cook was awesome, very polite and friendly. She constantly checked with everyone to make sure they were satisfied with their meal. We ran into the GM in the lobby, she was also very welcoming and wanted to make sure that our stay was comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel. We will be traveling to Florida in July for 10 days and have already made our reservations to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantia, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Evelyn B:

Thank you so much for an candid review. Guests like yourself make our job rewarding. We take pride in our hotel and in our staff. It is much appreciated that you recognize us. We so much look forward to your return visit, and promise the same great experience. We remember you and your family as you were most gracious to us throughout your stay.

Joe, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel was very clean and staff was very nice. Hotel room was very clean and the room smelled good. The free breakfast had good food and the hotel was surrounded by restaurants, supermarkets, gas stations and pharmacies which was a plus. I gave this hotel a 3 star instead of a 4 because I felt that safety was an issue and the traffic due to construction in the area was a hassle. I slipped twice in the shower and my boyfriend slipped once which was scary considering major damage could have happened to either of us but thank God it didn't. I just recommend to check the shower and make sure it has slip resistant adhesives! Our rooms shower had it but it looked like they had been removed but not replaced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantia, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Sandy R:

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel, and staff. However, we are truly distressed about your almost mishap, and would look into it immediately.

Progress sometimes comes with a price...the one both you and the hotel have to with the expansion of the hight just by the hotel. Thankfully, they are almost done, and we will have a very accessible, and convenient roadway.

Thanks again for reviewing our hotel. We hope to see you again, and we hope you recommend us to your circle of friends.

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Front desk gallery host has to go. Joe refused to show us a room claiming he was the only person in the hotel and that he was busy and could not leave the desk. Funny, we were the only people standing there. Hang up the personal phone call and get back to business. At one point in our conversation he told us that if we did not like his method of "customer service", we should leave. This could of escalated to something worse had we not been females. Management did not seem to concerned about this so about all we can do is warn the public of the type of employees they have there. Joe claims to be the individual who does it all there. Thanks to him we cut our stay in Clearwater to just one night. We now know to stay away from this place of business as long as Joe is there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtsantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantia, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Guest:

Holiday Inn FD employees are highly trained individuals especially in the area of customer service, and are trained to recognize that each guest is very important to our hotel. This sort of behaviour, as described, is not typical of Joe. He gets the highest and most often recognized by all other guests as the best on the staff.

Tring to check in at 9.00 a.m. after a busy night is not possible. Although 3.00 p.m. is checkin, we start check in as soon as we get rooms cleaned. At 9.00 a.m., we do not have cleaned rooms, and do not normally show "dirty-rooms not yet cleaned" to any guest. Joe respectffully as that you come back a little later.. at which he was verbally abused by the youngest member of this family...all for just doing his job correctly.

I know all customers out there will understand and can glean exactly at this guests' response.

Nevertheless, we are truly sorry for any inconvenience. We know the rest of your stay was fabulous as we make sure that we constantly checked with all 5 members of your family. I had a very lengthy with your mother to apologise even before your review.

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 98 in Clearwater
427 reviews
5.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#62 of 98 in Clearwater
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N

Address: 2580 Gulf To Bay Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33765-4411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range: £100 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clearwater / Us 19n
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater
Clearwater Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clearwater / US 19N Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing