We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Easy!”
Review of Echo Sails Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Echo Sails Motel
Ranked #52 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap and Easy!”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The owners try hard to make it a nice place and both times, we've had the most pleasant experience. We've stayed here as a family twice now. Once in a one bedroom and most recently in the two bedroom. It was perfect for our family of four which includes two toddlers. The toddlers had their own bedroom to sleep in, the adults had their own bedroom to sleep in and then we had the big kitchen and a living area. The furnishings are dated, but everything is clean and cozy. Our particular bathroom had recently been renovated and it looked great.

The pool is small, but there are plenty of chairs and loungers around the pool to sit on. The pool is in the shade some of the time, which is really nice when it is super-hot, but not so nice in the cooler months. It would have been a welcomed advantage in the warmer summer months, but it was a bit chilly for us in November.

The hotel is located about two blocks from the pier, marina and several great restaurants. Honestly, most restaurants in Clearwater Beach are within walking distance, but the location of this hotel makes it easy.

The owners are onsite and hands on. As many fresh towels as you would need and I know if we needed anything above what was in our unit, they would be glad to do what they could to accommodate any requests.

You can't beat this hotel for the price and I challenge you to find a more welcoming place at Clearwater Beach. We will continue to stay here as long as we can.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The owners John and his wife were very kind ,service was very good, pool is clean Nice quiet place to stay , thanks John perhaps I'll see you next year oh and the beautiful little dog Mason take care of him okay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 586lui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Me and my family always stay at Echo Sails Motel when we make our yearly visit to Clearwater Beach. The motel is always clean and neat, with everything needed for a comfortable stay.
The rates are unbeatable and leave you with enough spending money to not break the bank on a good vacation.
Echo Sails always comes HIGHLY recommended by me and my family.

Room Tip: The Apartments are always a good idea, but if youre looking to have some extra seclusion the room do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chase h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We were at Echo Sails at the end of September this year and had a great time. Most wonderful place to stay and very convenient to the beach. Loved our stay. Would most definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janivee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We vacation in Clearwater Beach around the 4th of July and have been for over 40 years. For the 16th year now, our family members stayed at the Echo Sails, we had 4 rooms all for a week. Its always a pleasure coming down to this Motel, John and Jinnie and John Jr. always welcome us and they do a great job at making sure that your stay is comfortable and stress free. Can't wait till next year. Joe C/Sandy Springs, Ga.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvc1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

After 5 stays at the Echo, nothing has changed much. An up date here and there...Very clean and neat. Bug free! With the owners on sight every day you can always have any issues taken care of. They even went out and bought a roll-away bed when my daughter visited a few days. We have visited over 20 places to stay on Clearwater Beach over the last 15 years and nothing compares to location and price! The Echo is the only place we will stay when we visit Clearwater beach! See you next year at the Echo ! gus & Mary/Wisconsin

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed three nights in April pre-cruise. What Echo Sails may lack in some creature comforts it makes up for in the personality of its clientele and the earnest efforts of the owners to maintain a piece of Florida history (and I mean that in a nice way) - this is a great example of the classic beachside apartment motel.

The rooms and common areas are kept scrupulously clean and tidy. We had the smallest room on the property and it was still plenty big for the two of us. The pool is well maintained and there is a top-quality gas grill available for guest barbecues. The other guests during our visit were quite social - we met people from Michigan and Nova Scotia(!) who come there annually for extended stays. The many positive comments about the owners seen in previous reviews were reinforced by our contacts with them. And the location is perfect, being on a side street two blocks from the beach and an easy walk to whatever else you need.

Could the bedding and towels be a little more comfortable? Yes. Might the tiny window AC be challenged by a 90-degree day with 90% humidity? Probably. But those are the only quibbles we have with a place that's otherwise a great experience for most people and an excellent value.

Room Tip: See the brochure pic that shows the room layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PDX_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#48 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Hotel
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 96 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
#35 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Sails Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Sails Motel

Property: Echo Sails Motel
Address: 216 Hamden Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2446
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Echo Sails Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echo Sails Motel is a quiet, family-friendly place to stay on your trip to Clearwater Beach. The sparkling swimming pool, super clean rooms, and relaxed atmosphere are what make Echo Sails a wonderful place to spend your vacation. We hope to see you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Echo Sails Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Sails Hotel Clearwater
Echo Sails Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing