We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Frenchy's management”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frenchy's Oasis Motel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Key Largo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Typical Frenchy's management”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Nice place and all but typical Frenchy's management, nobody answers the phone, never can find staff, the place lacks the charm and warm of a owner. Don't let the steet appeal catch you here, go down the street where they treat you like a customer. This place is a total joke!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    37
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
116
159
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I arrived to town without any reservations on Monday of Memorial day weekend to find slim-pickin's for rooms .... During the day Monday I checked out most, if not all of the options within 2 miles of Clearwater Beach ....Stayed one night elsewhere (don't even ask) and immediately moved camp to French's Oasis the next morning... Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! Friendly staff! Rooms are pristine and it is obvious that absolutely every surface had been freshly painted or is brand new (which I can not say for the other "chain" options in the area) . Most if not all, of the rooms have a very nice kitchenette. While not on the beach it is on the ocean and only a few blocks from the beach. Also, upon checkin I was given coupons for each of the Frenchy's restaurants (I used each and every one and would highly recommend the shrimp diablo appetizer at Frenchy's South Beach. Daily maid service is offered for a fee but there is complimentary laundry services available. Wireless Internet service is available for no charge and a hard wired desktop is available in the lobby with a printer. Over all, a very nice relaxing experience.

Room Tip: First floor with balcony (# 3,4,5 or 6) would be my first pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

we stumbled on this by accident-was the only place with a room available. LOVED it. only a block or two from the beach. Right on the bay. incredibly clean!! just redone in 60s style. nothing fancy-no frills-except our room was an efficiency with a couch and kitchenette and flatscreen tv. the room was huge. inground pool was very clean. we would definitely stay there again. plus--they give you coupons when you check in!!!!!

Room Tip: we stumbled on this by accident-was the only place with a room available. LOVED it. only a block o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stamf0rdCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I booked this motel after finding it on a Clearwater Beach web site. It reminds me of the sixties-retro places in Wildwood, NJ--but with real palm trees and beautiful views. As soon as we saw the hotel from the causeway, I knew it would be great. Every room has an amazing view of the harbor and a kitchenette. Daily maid service is optional for a fee, but we were only there for a few days and didn't use it. The pool area and lounge are super cool and clean. The hotel is on a relatively quiet street, which is great if you just want to relax in this bustling beach town. If you are planning to hit the beach, bring your own towels or inquire when you reserve; Jim said they were thinking of offering beach towels as yet another amenity in this great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CyndiN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen C, Public Relations Manager at Frenchy's Oasis Motel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Wanted to let you know we recently built a custom towel stand near the pool deck that houses new bright orange towels for use at the pool or beach. Thanks for the suggestion that we turned into another amenity for our guests :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel!!! Decor, deck on inter coastal, entire town walkable, all of the wildlife off of our back deck ... Great Blues and king Fishers, pelicans fishing, dolphins- it was amazing!!!!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie-DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I honestlly cant say enough great things about the Oasis. I've been travleing to Cearwater Beah for 9 years; this was my first stay at the Oasis. I knew of Frenchy's reputation of quality and service from the restaurants and store (Off the Hook) so we opted to try the motel based on that. Here are the great things that stood out to us:
Customer service was impecable. They met all of our needs and accomodated every request.
The motel has been commpletely reonovated. It is clean, spacious, and attractive.
The cost is fantastic.
The location is ideal.
Everyone associated with this company was FANTASTIC!

These are not complaints, as I don't hae any, but you might want to know the following:
There is not daily maid service, though you can request toiletries or towels any day. (I actually liked the fact that i knew no one was entering my room, because we really did make it our 'home' for a week).
While the motel is not on the beach, it is only 2 blocks away and you can easily walk. Honestly, I love the beach, but we were happy to lay out on the motel's private dock or by the pool each day.
The only reason i'm giving the 'sleep quality' category below an 'average' rating is because the foam pillows were a little hard. Would LOVE a feather pillow option, but it didn't ultimatley cause me any discomfort.

In fact, my only concern about leaving a raving review is that i know with the cost and quality, rooms will get harder and harder to come by at the Oasis. Book early!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Have stayed a few times now. When visiting the Clearwater area, this is now our place to stay. Vicki & Jim (and the staff) are terrific hosts. Always accommodating and a joy to deal with. Anything you need they provide. The location is nice as it's tucked away from the high-traffic beach area but is still walkable and it overlooks the scenic intercoastal waters. I've seen dolphin outside my window! Plus it's steps away from Frenchy's Saltwater Cafe - a real bonus. A terrific place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchy's Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchy's Oasis Motel

Property: Frenchy's Oasis Motel
Address: 423 E Shore Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2028 (Formerly Olympia Motel)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchy's Oasis Motel, a retro boutique property, is the latest sensation in waterfront accommodations to hit Clearwater Beach. Winner of the 2010 Clearwater Beach Chamber Beautification Award, the Oasis has undergone a truly nostalgic renovation with attention to every detail that brings back the charm of an era long gone when Clearwater Beach was known for its retro boutique motels. Our hospitality and beach themes are also found in our very own restaurants which serve the freshest seafood on Clearwater Beach. Our Frenchy's "World Famous" Grouper Sandwiches can even be delivered right to the Oasis for lunch or dinner on your own private patio. We invite you to come and stay on the bay and experience a relaxing vacation with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frenchy`s Oasis Hotel Clearwater
Olympia Hotel Clearwater
Frenchy's Oasis Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing