We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks great, but terrible management”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clearwater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frenchy's Oasis Motel
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looks great, but terrible management”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights, joining a group of friends to celebrate a wedding nearby. The bride had selected Frenchy's Oasis as the place for us all to stay and had pre-reserved most of the rooms (we made our own reservations by phone). Our group occupied 15 of the 16 rooms for Friday and Saturday, then things went bad on Sunday.
I was concerned that the check-in process was excessively casual and incorrect: "the key's under your mat; I thought you were coming in late last night". I was excited to arrive after an early-morning flight so I just went with it - in retrospect, this was a mistake. We were very happy with the room and motel premises: big room with a balcony overlooking the harbor, cute retro decor touches that fit the location, nice pool.
We enjoyed our first 2 nights, but the problems came the morning after the wedding: the manager walked past several of us by the pool saying "I need you all to tell me who's staying and who's going: I have a lot of people coming in today." Alarmed, my wife and I, and 2 other friends went into the office. Our reservation was recorded wrong, and she insisted that we had to leave our room because new guests were coming. For some reason she would not change the new guests to another room and leave us in the room we were already in. Her manner during all this was defensive and annoyed, and she blamed the computer system and a former employee. She never apologized or acknowledged any inconvenience. We wound up moving in with a friend whose previous room-mate was flying out that Sunday. When my wife went to pay for our room, she was initially told we owed for 3 nights - we had only been there 2 at the time, and were packing to move into someone else's room. Once the adjustment was made, she then charged us the full high-season rate on their website, plus and extra $60 for arriving early (or something - it wasn't clear). We paid cash, and were not offered a receipt. Perhaps it was naive to assume that with a group so large, we would be given a rate less than $149 a night.... Honestly, we were so stunned by the massive screw-up and the attitude of the manager that we just concluded our business and hurried to get ready for the day-trip we'd planned.
By the way, the first floor room we moved into was much noisier than our previous second-floor room, and the terrace was much less private and smelled like fish guts due it's proximity to the harbor. (I did enjoy the visiting egret though.)
It's so sad that this incident marred what was otherwise a wonderful weekend. The bride and groom felt terrible that their guests were treated this way, and they had to leave the motel a day earlier than planned. We personally spent close to $1000 between the motel and several meals at other Frenchy's properties, but did not leave feeling like our business was appreciated due the the motel fiasco. Regrettably, we were so upset by the experience that we neglected to leave tips for the room-cleaning staff - something we never do. I strongly suggest that the management pay the employees working May 5-6 a bonus out of the mystery fee we were charged.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seem quieter. Try to get some distance from the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2Beavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    37
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
110
156
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Upon arrival at 7pm the hotel itself looked cute and kitschy , but as I went to the office to check in my opinion changed. The office was closed and no one was answering the number listed outside the office, I was part of a wedding group booking so one of my friends that already had a room kindly offered to hold my luggage and let us use their facilities while I waited around for someone to check us in. Eventually an hour later the "manager" called my cel and said unapologetically that my room keys were under a mat and that she thought I would figure it out on my own. Not impressed, once finally inside our room we saw that we had been switched to a queen room after specifically booking and paying for a king room.
The next day at noon I went to the office to ask to use and iron and board for our clothes as we had a wedding to attend and there was no one there yet again. Some random neighbor said they would call the "manager" and see if she could help. No response, so I had to go digging around in a hallway maid's closet to one an iron myself so I did not have to wear a wrinkly dress to a wedding!
Upon check out the "manager" was in the middle of a melt down about some guests "screwing up" their reservations and "it not being her fault", which I found questionable based my own experience with her. The hotel was cute but the management and service was horrendous and I will never go back.
I cannot imagine why this "manager" even works in the hospitality business , unless she was part of job placement program from the local prison or rehab center, and in that case she should not have been doing any kind of customer service, maybe cleaning or laundry service would have been a more appropriate placement for someone with this "manager's" unpleasant disposition.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank quelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

When we woke on our 4th morning we were told that we had to get out because new people were moving into our rooms...totally a booking problem (confirming our rooms from day one was a nightmare, excuses about computer problems and whatnot). Then I heard from my credit card company that I was charged twice...3 more days on the phone trying to sort that out and yet Frenchy's did nothing to compensate us. They are charging 4 star prices for 2 star service. You're better off at another hotel that actually cares about their guests if you want to ensure a stress-free vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KTel416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The staff is friendly, the place is spotless. Save yourself $200+ a night over the Hilton and walk the block to the beach. The room looked (and smelled) brand new even though it's a few years old now. Linens were surprisingly nicer than expected. There's a Keurig down in the lounge stocked with coffees even though there's a full sized maker in your room... Being the only one in my group who drank coffee that made my mornings. The lounge is also stocked with DVDs which might come in handy on a rainy day. There are restaurants and shops within walking distance. Chairs, towels, sand toys and umbrellas to borrow for the beach at your disposal, too. The only thing I missed was a soda machine on premises. I'll definitely choose Frenchy's the next time I stay in Clearwater.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Czechers1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Frenchy's Oasis Motel continues the tradition of great service that personifies the Frenchy's name. Manager Leann was friendly and helpful. The motel itself was spotless and was in a great location. Previously we have always stayed at the Hilton, but no more. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10 overlooking the water. We saw dolphins from our private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J9Keller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I can't say enough nice things about Frenchy's Oasis Motel. Most other reviews have highlighted all of its good characteristics and I agree. My family of five (myself, wife, and three daughters) absolutely loved it! The rooms are huge and exremely clean... one of the cleanest hotels that I have ever stayed in. Leann (who runs the hotel) is awesome! This hotel is a unique, fun, and retro experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenolden, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful stay at this motel. Leann the manager is a really nice person who was very attentive to everything asked of her and represents this establishment extremely well. The rooms are big, roomy, clean, and well priced. A great place to relax and convenient to everything and it's all within walking distance. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjsabjr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.3 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.7 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchy's Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchy's Oasis Motel

Property: Frenchy's Oasis Motel
Address: 423 E Shore Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2028 (Formerly Olympia Motel)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frenchy's Oasis Motel, a retro boutique property, is the latest sensation in waterfront accommodations to hit Clearwater Beach. Winner of the 2010 Clearwater Beach Chamber Beautification Award, the Oasis has undergone a truly nostalgic renovation with attention to every detail that brings back the charm of an era long gone when Clearwater Beach was known for its retro boutique motels. Our hospitality and beach themes are also found in our very own restaurants which serve the freshest seafood on Clearwater Beach. Our Frenchy's "World Famous" Grouper Sandwiches can even be delivered right to the Oasis for lunch or dinner on your own private patio. We invite you to come and stay on the bay and experience a relaxing vacation with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frenchy`s Oasis Hotel Clearwater
Olympia Hotel Clearwater
Frenchy's Oasis Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing