We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and close to the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Resort Motel South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Resort Motel South
Ranked #80 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Chaplin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and close to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This motel is very close to the beach. It is a bit outdated but very clean and the staff is very nice and friendly. Felt very safe staying there. Pool was nice and warm which is a plus. Everything is within walking distance to beach, shopping, Pier, food. Great place to stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    8
    8
    36
See reviews for
37
23
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice and each time we have loved it! It's a 3 minute walk to the greatest beach in Florida. There's also plenty of eating around. the kitchen was awesome. If we ever needed anything, we just asked the management and they accommodated. No hair dryer in the room? No problem, they have them. No coffee filters? No problem, they've got them. The pool was heated and the price was nice. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We came across this resort while traveling and i cant wait to stay there again. It is a little piece of paradise. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. If i could stay for a few weeks this is where i would want to be. It is a 2 minute walk to the beach across the road. The pool was amazing and warm. The grounds were kept immaculate. I could not even find one piece of garbage on the fround even when i looked for one. The person who looked after the place (will) was so nice and helpful. He took the time to make sure all our needs were taken care of. We felt very welcome there. When we plan our next vacation in january or february we will definatly be booking here again for a couple weeks. This is my new favorite place! Love love love it!!! Thanks for making our vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muskokaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We thought it wasn't that bad, till we got home with bed bug bites all over. We only spent one night and cant imagine how bad it would be if we stayed longer. The A/C was only strong enought to cool the bedroom. The rest of the room was hot. My wife had trouble sleeping becuase of the lights outside the window. She spent most of the night watching TV on the couch. We are pretty sure the majority of the bugs were inside the couch, as my wife had a lot more bites on her body than me. Never again!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRod02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Pretty bad only one air conditioner. Dirty plates spoons knives forks. Horrible beds.Window in bedroom lookout to a wall. Maid never came till we left. Never going there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHotelFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Where to start....We stayed in room 18.
Front desk girl wasn't very friendly and impatient. We had to track her down from her upstairs apartment several times. She could use some customer service training to be sure. When we go to the room, it was very old (extremely!) and smelled musty. I didn't mind the old TV really, it worked and that's all that mattered there. The couch was old and dirty. The amenities were nice such as the fridge and range/oven. Plenty of dishes and silverware which seemed to be maintained well. Beds were old and spongy, not very supportive. AC worked well but was a little loud. Windows did not close all the way, we had to stick towels in the crevices to keep the cool air in and the noises out. The shower was awful. Water temp fluctuated often and the tub didn't drain while taking a shower. Most of the light fixtures and outlets didn't work. The carpet was so dirty my feet were black from walking on it. The internet was spotty at best and didn't work for the majority of the stay. The highlight of this property is the pool which was relatively clean and the water nice and warm. The option to grill was nice, but only one of the gas grills actually worked; the one was out of propane and the other (which we ended up using) was filled with charcoal ash - obviously no maintenance done to this otherwise I wouldn't have found charcoal in a gas grill! It worked fine once I cleaned it out - but annoying none the less. There was a small charcoal grill there that we didn't use. The option to bring a cabana for free is somewhat misleading. They require a $20.00 deposit and want it upfront in cash. I told them to put it on my room and after a short reluctant pause they agreed.
Overall I would not recommend this dump to anyone. Its in a convenient location and some unique amenities are found, but next time we will spend more for a nicer hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower level to avoid having to walk up and down stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Have been staying here for over 20 years on vacation. Still worth it.
Is this place older? yes.
But why would u pay top dollar to stay at a ritzy place for a room u will only sleep in?
You come to Clearwater Beach for the sun & the beach!!!
Stay here for affordable CLEAN rooms not to mention the biggest pool around compared to all the other mom & pop places.
Short walk to store, beach, restaurants .
Im coming back later this year too

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank cl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#51 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#49 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echo Sails Motel
Echo Sails Motel
#47 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#42 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort Motel South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort Motel South

Property: Sunrise Resort Motel South
Address: 229 Coronado Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2431
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Resort Motel South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Resort Motel South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resort Motel South Hotel Clearwater
Sunrise Hotel South
Sunrise Hotel Clearwater
Sunrise Resort Motel South Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing