We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sands Point Motel
Nearby Hotels
Quality Hotel Clearwater Beach Resort(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$509
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coconut Cove All-Suite Hotel(Clearwater)(Great Value!)
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
127
30
11
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
30
11
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshard working couplejust returned from our annualclearwater beachplace to staygreat vacationnice poolseparate bedroomfull size fridgewalking distanceacross the streetstellasandiemicrowavegrillcouch
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is our second year staying here. The owners, Stella and Edward are the best. They were always there and ready to give us what we need to make our stay the best experience. My husband Dany and I have had 2 different rooms and they were both very clean and stocked with everything you need for a short or long stay. You can buy food and they have everything for you to prepare it.Even a B-B-Q for your grilling pleasure. The rooms are beautiful and they were very clean and inviting.There is a large pool with plenty of space to lounge around and shuffle board for fun in the sun. They take great pride in their place and it shows with all the hard work they do daily to maintain the grounds, rooms and the friendships they have built with all who stay there.And it shows as we have met people from all over the world who come to stay at their "little Paradise". We definitely plan to go back next year and visit our friends. I was sad to leave. ( and they are in walking distance to the pier , great restaurants and the ocean :)...Thanks you Stella and Ed for another wonderful vacation!..Dan and Judi :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mstymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently stayed at Sands Point Motel while in Clearwater Beach, Florida. The motel was very clean and had great character - similar to something you might see in Europe. There was a decent size pool with tables and chairs and also a grill to cook out for lunch/dinner. Its not huge, only 12 rooms, making it more intimate. The owners were very friendly and happy to help. The motel is basically one street over from the beach and a block or two to the boardwalk. There is also a trolley that you can get on for a small fee and get from one area of Clearwater Beach to another.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatieL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

With a lot of motels and hotels to choose from we found a small motel one street away from
the beach that is fantastic. This 10 room motel is operated by down to earth owners
that are on the premises daily to make sure everything is clean and everyone is comfortable.
The prices are reasonalble for our stay in March during the peak season. This being our
second stay in 2 years we found fellow vacationers from last year. As we found out, the
Sands Point Motel has customers that have been returning for over 7 years and stay
from one to two months at a time. Seemed like everyone was on a first name basis,
hanging around the pool and playing shuffleboard. Only negative was having to leave.
But you can't go back unless you leave. Our reservations are made for 2013.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frank_s_bucksaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights over the holidays. Yes, the motel is small, close to the beach, clean and of good value. The owners are very friendly and their hard work and pride in the motel is apparent.

The downsides, we reserved a king room which was changed to two full beds upon arrival. We were told the room was larger and had a kitchen, but we didn't necessarily need the bigger room or kitchen and would have preferred the bigger bed that apparently wasn't available. We were told it was a booking error. In a 12 +/- room motel one wonders how that happens? We found the full beds in our room to be "very" firm for us. The vertical blinds on the windows didn't seal very well and allowed a lot of light in until the exterior walkway lights went off around midnight.

As other members have mentioned, room service is minimal. They provided clean towels and emptied trash daily. We found this adequate for us but if you expect more (can't make your own bed), you may want to look elsewhere.

The biggest downside is that the motel is more or less in a man made canyon with several taller buildings toward the front of it. This generates/traps a fair amount of noise as the street is fairly busy until midnight or so and starts again around 6:00 AM. The single pane windows allow considerably more road noise and wind noise into the room than I cared for. The other issue is that we experienced unusually cool weather during our stay (mother natures fault not theirs). Several evenings got down into the high thirties and low forties (downright frigid for Florida). The motel has no built in/permanent heat sources in the rooms. They did distribute some small portable electric heaters but ours struggled to take the nip out of the air in our room. My wife also commented that the shear curtains in the bathrooms provided little to no privacy over the clear windows (no privacy glass).

Overall this is a clean budget friendly facility on the quaint side but not quite the tropical oasis other members have described.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gary8180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here just after Christmas and the property is very nice, as well as the rooms. Fairly clean with the only con being a small ant problem. It seemed to be the perfect, affordable get away until we tried to communicate with management, who speak VERY POOR English. We tried three times to explain that we were having a few friends over and were making sure they could park in the motel parking. I'm not sure if we ever got an answer. The next morning they proceeded to tell us we were too noisy and that "no more friends tonight." (No one from management informed us that we were being too loud that night). They also harassed our guests once more when we were not around. Overall: nice property, seemingly nice management if you don't need to communicate with them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichalinaAnna, Manager at Sands Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

We understand why you may have been unhappy with your stay however, your noise levels were very loud late at night. We had many guests complain about the noise and how they were unable to sleep. Also, you gave your keys to your guests and allowed them to come in and out of the room while you were not on the property. Guests are allowed, however they were being very disruptive to everyone else on the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews