We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a more than pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Point Motel
Ranked #37 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Oyster Bay, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a more than pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just spent 6 nights (Oct 2-8,2013) at the Sands Pointe, The only words i can use to describe this motel are charming, clean, quite, relaxing and the owners are so very nice. Within walking distace to resturants, beach. Pool area and pool were spotless clean. My husband and I are hoping to go back next summer to celebrate his 60th birthday. Had a wonderful time. This is our new place to stay when visiting clearwater beach. The best kept secret.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ml m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    26
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
65
64
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

First I wish I could lie about this place to keep everybody away so they'll have rooms available when we return next time. I'd like to tell you the rooms are filthy, but that would be a huge lie. Our efficiency felt more like our own personal apartment than a hotel room. The living room (picture attached) was very comfortable-felt homey. How nice to sit (or lay) on the couch and watch TV, rather than watch it from bed (although there was also a TV in the bedroom). I've experienced couches in pricey, upscale hotel rooms that are more like wooden boxes with minimal padding. Not something you would likely ever consider for your home.
The kitchen was very well equipped- dishes, silverware, knives, pots and pans, toaster, microwave, stove, full fridge (no rip off "mini-bar"), etc.
Literally, a two block walk to the beach. Right now you could stay her for one week for about $400, or you could stay at the new Hyatt Regency on the beach for about $3,300. The Hyatt would save you the two block walk. But, in the words of Donna Summer(12/31/48 - 5/17/2012): "She works hard for the money
So hard for it, honey
She works hard for the money
So you better treat her right".
Treating me right is having a great clean hotel, 2 blocks from the beach, run totally by the owners (Edward and Stella), and saving about $2,900 over the cost of the Hyatt.
Thanks,
-bernie

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sobrietycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Rooms were spacious, very pretty design, well equipped, quiet and most importantly very clean. Quite pleased, considering it is a motel. There are some plates and silverware in a cupboard (that you get to clean if you use them) a small fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Housekeeping is minimal, daily clean towels +/- taking out the trash.
It has a clean pool, did not use it though as we went to the beach. There is a grill and the atmosphere is pleasant.
It is in the second row of hotels from the beach, so it is at most a 5 min walk.
Tried a bunch of seafood grills and loved them, there are a lot aquatic activities and rides, dolphins, rays, birds, beautiful sunsets - I really enjoyed Clearwater Beach.
Altogether a very beautiful place for a vacation and great value accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in the queen bed motel room (#7) for 6 nights in early August. The room was a decent size and very clean. It had a dresser, small fridge (not a mini-fridge like in other hotels - an actual small fridge/freezer), microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and hot pot (to boil water). The bathroom was small but suitable. There was also a decent size closet to hang clothes and store luggage. The owners, Ed and Stella, were very nice and would do anything for their guests. My husband and I enjoyed the pool and shuffle board area. The hotel is small - just 12 units - so the pool area is never over crowded and you get to know some of the other guests. It was also a perfect location - very quick and easy walk to the beach and many great restaurants and bars. We would definitely recommend this motel and would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: We would try for a room with a kitchenette next time to save money on food but even the small motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robinc715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heart of bluegrass
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in June as a family of four and enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the upstairs corner room. It was clean, contained all we needed and had an eclectic feel to it. Really enjoyed the room. The bathroom was too small for us but not a deal breaker. There was a kitchenette with everything we needed and a small table. Outside the room was a veranda and a table whoch we enjoyed morning and evening. The pool area was great and Edward does a great job of keeping it clean and inviting each day. It was easy to walk across the street to beaches, restaurants, and to Pier 60 of we wanted. We dis not have any trouble paeking at the hotel. I hope we return one day!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank awaywegoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Easy to make the reservation. The motel is in a very good accessible location nearby bridge to/from in direction to Tampa. Helpful in coming in and out of the beach when traffic is heavy.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The pool & common areas were nicely kept and clean. The hosts & owners were very friendly and helpful. It is evident they put in a lot of work into keeping the place in good condition.

Good, safe motel environment. Most guests were families, which is a good thing in my book. Do recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terryluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The motel was clean and cozy.
I loved the teepee with ambient music although sometimes i wish the owners let it play at least until 1AM.
The motel is well maintained, clean and the people/owners are very kind.
The location is great

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.0 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#47 of 95 in Clearwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#50 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Tides Motel
Amber Tides Motel
#26 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Point Motel

Property: Sands Point Motel
Address: 433 Coronado Dr, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767-2506
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#21 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Point Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Family-Owned and operated, friendly motel, is located on the corner of Coronado Drive & Hamden. It is just a 2 minute walk to the beach, and is nearby stores, resturaunts and Peir 60. Mini-golfing, parasailing, jetskiing, fishing and much more is all located nearby. Visit Clearwater Beach Marina and spend an afternoon on the high seas fishing or take in one of the relaxing nightly sunset cruises featuring fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sands Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Point Hotel Clearwater
Sands Point Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing