We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Quaint”
Review of Sands Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Point Motel
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived late on the weekend of a large boat race which we were unaware of. The hotel had not received our reservation made online and the owners were not expecting us. We had reserved a regular hotel room..the only room remaining was a mini apartment and we were given this room at our reservation price. Our stay was pleasant...very small hotel (12 rooms I believe), no children, quiet and comfortable. The pool was beautiful and short walk to beach and covenience stores. The owners could be seen floating in and out of the property all day and were also very friendly. For those who are picky...some of the rooms are outdated, there are times the office is closed and you will need to phone to reach the manager, and given it is family run there is no housekeeping on Sundays or Holidays. Overall great place with appropriate expectations. We will be going back. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here twice. This time we had a toddler and a 6 month old. It was great with kids because we could sit and relax by the pool while they napped because the window to the room was so close by. It is also quiet and there was no loud partying which is again is great for families. Stella and Ed, the owners, became like family to us and our kids. They are always around and they do all the maintenance themselves so if you need something they are available. I loved that there are no carpets in the room, made it much cleaner as well. Towels are cleaned daily as well. It is close by to the beach which is great with kids!So many great things about this place, it is a home away from home!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
7  Thank Sab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My family has been vacationing at Sands Point for the last 5 years, and always had great things to say about this place and it's owners. After staying here myself (November 2013)....every thing my family told me was the absolute truth...this is a very clean, cozy, friendly motel. The owners Stella and Ed are amazing people. They work very hard to keep the motel clean and make it a home away from home. Also they make you feel like family. The best spot on Clearwater Beach, across the street from the beach, and in walking distance to restaurants and shops. I now understand why people keep coming back!!!
Thank you Stella and Ed, we will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Micki-1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just spent 6 nights (Oct 2-8,2013) at the Sands Pointe, The only words i can use to describe this motel are charming, clean, quite, relaxing and the owners are so very nice. Within walking distace to resturants, beach. Pool area and pool were spotless clean. My husband and I are hoping to go back next summer to celebrate his 60th birthday. Had a wonderful time. This is our new place to stay when visiting clearwater beach. The best kept secret.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ml m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

First I wish I could lie about this place to keep everybody away so they'll have rooms available when we return next time. I'd like to tell you the rooms are filthy, but that would be a huge lie. Our efficiency felt more like our own personal apartment than a hotel room. The living room (picture attached) was very comfortable-felt homey. How nice to sit (or lay) on the couch and watch TV, rather than watch it from bed (although there was also a TV in the bedroom). I've experienced couches in pricey, upscale hotel rooms that are more like wooden boxes with minimal padding. Not something you would likely ever consider for your home.
The kitchen was very well equipped- dishes, silverware, knives, pots and pans, toaster, microwave, stove, full fridge (no rip off "mini-bar"), etc.
Literally, a two block walk to the beach. Right now you could stay her for one week for about $400, or you could stay at the new Hyatt Regency on the beach for about $3,300. The Hyatt would save you the two block walk. But, in the words of Donna Summer(12/31/48 - 5/17/2012): "She works hard for the money
So hard for it, honey
She works hard for the money
So you better treat her right".
Treating me right is having a great clean hotel, 2 blocks from the beach, run totally by the owners (Edward and Stella), and saving about $2,900 over the cost of the Hyatt.
Thanks,
-bernie

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sobrietycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Rooms were spacious, very pretty design, well equipped, quiet and most importantly very clean. Quite pleased, considering it is a motel. There are some plates and silverware in a cupboard (that you get to clean if you use them) a small fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Housekeeping is minimal, daily clean towels +/- taking out the trash.
It has a clean pool, did not use it though as we went to the beach. There is a grill and the atmosphere is pleasant.
It is in the second row of hotels from the beach, so it is at most a 5 min walk.
Tried a bunch of seafood grills and loved them, there are a lot aquatic activities and rides, dolphins, rays, birds, beautiful sunsets - I really enjoyed Clearwater Beach.
Altogether a very beautiful place for a vacation and great value accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in the queen bed motel room (#7) for 6 nights in early August. The room was a decent size and very clean. It had a dresser, small fridge (not a mini-fridge like in other hotels - an actual small fridge/freezer), microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and hot pot (to boil water). The bathroom was small but suitable. There was also a decent size closet to hang clothes and store luggage. The owners, Ed and Stella, were very nice and would do anything for their guests. My husband and I enjoyed the pool and shuffle board area. The hotel is small - just 12 units - so the pool area is never over crowded and you get to know some of the other guests. It was also a perfect location - very quick and easy walk to the beach and many great restaurants and bars. We would definitely recommend this motel and would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: We would try for a room with a kitchenette next time to save money on food but even the small motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robinc715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
Sta N Pla Marina Resort
#51 of 98 in Clearwater
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amber Tides Motel
Amber Tides Motel
#31 of 98 in Clearwater
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sta'n Pla Motel
Sta'n Pla Motel
#44 of 98 in Clearwater
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brightwater Suites on Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Point Motel

Address: 433 Coronado Dr, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767-2506
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#21 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £59 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Point Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Family-Owned and operated, friendly motel, is located on the corner of Coronado Drive & Hamden. It is just a 2 minute walk to the beach, and is nearby stores, resturaunts and Peir 60. Mini-golfing, parasailing, jetskiing, fishing and much more is all located nearby. Visit Clearwater Beach Marina and spend an afternoon on the high seas fishing or take in one of the relaxing nightly sunset cruises featuring fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sands Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Point Hotel Clearwater
Sands Point Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing