We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Great Value!”
Review of Sands Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Point Motel
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2009

This place is centrally located across from Clearwater Beach. We stayed in a suite with two queen beds, T.V. etc. Then there
was an extra large kitchen with all appliances, sofa and t.v. White tiles throughout.

The pool was recently re-done to a salt water system. The grounds were clean and well maintained on a daily basis.

This is a family run, safe and comfortable hotel with friendly people around. The rates are excellent. We stayed for nine days end of Dec/08 and will go back again.

Sir Moe and Priscilla
Toronto, Ontario.

Stayed: December 2008
3  Thank PriscillaLToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2009

Was in Florida for the new year and was lucky enough to get a room at this very popular motel.Most of the guests here were from Europe and Canada a real great atmosphere sitting around the pool of an evening drinking and eating from the barbeque. Amazingly the pool is filled with salt water so there is no problem with a load of chemicals in your eyes whilst swimming.Would say to all, this place is a must visit if ever passing Clearwater 100 yards to the beach and very friendly staff on site.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mrdogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

A lovely quiet motel close to the beach,shops and restaurants.Passing through Clearwater we were lucky enough to drive pass the motel which was well lighted and has a well kept garden. We stopped and was lucky to get an apartment with large living room,kitchen and bedroom with a huge comfortable bed.We do not have such big beds in Sweden.The place was clean and the atmosphere was very friendly would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank annawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

This is our fifth time here in Clearwater and all five times we have stayed at this motel,It is a nice homely motel not flash like some places simple and clean with a nice friendly owners who will go out of their way to help you with anything.Many of our Swedish friends have stayed here and all say the same thing a lovely place and very close to the beach.If you like a swim they have a salt water pool with no clorin in it and a shuttle board game for all us oldies.Will be back next year Martin and Anna.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank lovelylovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

this is the place to stay,,,,,,,, my wife and i have stayed here many,many times and have never had a problem the people go out of there way to make your stay great, its close to everything fun to do ,,,,,, we are going there again soon,,,big daddy

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank chuck8174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

My Husband and I stay here every time we come to Florida
it has always been very clean and everyone so nice..
I took a trip with some lady friends we stayed there.
they loved the place and are going back with their family's.
once you stay here you will be looking no more for other places to stay.........
Theresa & Chuck

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank treece_12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

My boyfriend and I were traveling to Clearwater Beach for a volleyball tournament this weekend so I searched online for a clean, cheap hotel. The Sands Point website looked very professional and included several pictures of nice suites and rooms.

I reviewed the room choices, noted that some were marked "reserved" and chose an available no-smoking room with two queen beds. I entered all my credit card information and booked the reservation online, for our arrival 3-4 days later. I printed out the confirmation page and printed out the confirmation email I received.

We drove to Clearwater that weekend and arrived at Sands Point around 10pm. The office was locked and empty, but a sign on the door asked us to call the number listed for assistance. My boyfriend called and said we were wanting to check-in. The woman on the other end said there was no vacancy. He assured her that we had a reservation and that I was holding a copy of the confirmation in my hands. She said she had no rooms available and couldn't help us. He asked how that was possible, since we made a reservation, and her only response was that she must have forgotten to check the online stuff.

What??

We argued for a few more minutes, but it was obviously a losing battle so we hung up the phone. Not sure where to go at 10pm, we walked next door to a place called AmberTides. There, we booked a no smoking room for $55/night.

I am still keeping an eye on my credit card to make sure a Sands Point doesn't show up on there. DO NOT make a reservation at Sands Point, you probably will end up looking for another place to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
9  Thank JenB3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites
Seaside Inn & Suites
#57 of 98 in Clearwater
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
1.3 mi away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#47 of 98 in Clearwater
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
10.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 98 in Clearwater
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Point Motel

Address: 433 Coronado Dr, Clearwater Beach, Clearwater, FL 33767-2506
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#26 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £66 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Point Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Family-Owned and operated, friendly motel, is located on the corner of Coronado Drive & Hamden. It is just a 2 minute walk to the beach, and is nearby stores, resturaunts and Peir 60. Mini-golfing, parasailing, jetskiing, fishing and much more is all located nearby. Visit Clearwater Beach Marina and spend an afternoon on the high seas fishing or take in one of the relaxing nightly sunset cruises featuring fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sands Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Point Hotel Clearwater
Sands Point Motel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing