We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous! A unique descriptor for a unique hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location. Within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The whute sandy beach is right across the street, but the pool is so tempting as it is steps from your room. What a delicious way to end a relaxing day by taking a refreshing, late night swim!! Great service. Vicki, Nick snd Bob made us feel so welcome and were ready to answer questions or point us in the right direction. Can't wait to come back!

Our room was comfy and the refrigerator and kitchen was a nice addition. How great is it that people can bring their dogs too!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Htdsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 206. The room was clean (except for the frig. It had food still in it from the previous guest), neat and well decorated but the tiny air conditioner was WAY too small. We arrived late so we spent the night and the next morning I asked the staff if they had a room that would get cool, I was told "not for the price you are paying". I slept in my T shirt and it was soaked with sweat by morning. I never even asked for a reduced price and was not offered an upgrade for more $$$. Made me so mad we packed up and moved to Indian Rocks Beach. Had a wonderful, cool 2 room suite on the water front for only $5 more than Camelot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vasbas, Director of Sales at Camelot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for letting us know about the situation with #206.

August 9th was a hot one here on Clearwater Beach, and most a/c units get worked hard on those super hot days. We contacted our A/C Maintainance Company and told us the freon was low and the unit could use an R&R.

We had that done and the unit is cool again.

With regard to the Customer Service issue, our regular GM, Vickie went on vacation and we had a new person working as Interim GM until she returned, boy do we ever appreciate our Vickie,
as she never would have said that, and she would have put you in a new room pronto.

Vickie is back and order has been restored at Camelot.

Robin, this is not the way we at Camelot treat our guests, we just won an Award from the Superior Small Lodging Assoc. for our "Superior Guest Service" , which is lead by our Vickie and her team.

Please let us make this up to you...When you return to Clearwater Beach, your stay is on us...
Simply call Vickie, she will put you in a room that will be cool, comfortable and to your complete satisfaction.

Thank you for letting us know these things, for that is how we improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We just got back from a short stay in clearwater. I didn't know what to expect from this hotel but I was pleasantly surprised by it. We were in room 205 and it was a wonderfully spacious, well appointed room. We loved the decor and the hotel was within walking distance to shopping, dining and the pier. Located right across the street from the beach this hotel was convenient and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I only have two gripes about Camelot. One, the parking lot was very small so it is advisable to just leave your car parked if you can and just walk to where you need to go. My other complaint is the gates. While we were there we watched random people who were not staying at the hotel come in late at night and go up on the sundeck. This is a security issue in my opinion. I think the front gates should be key card accessible only to prevent theft and unsafe conditions for the guests. Other than these two issues I have no complaints. We loved our room and enjoyed our stay in Clearwater and will definitely stay at the Camelot again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelgirl0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I speak for the silent majority that the week including July 4th, 2013 was like staying above a loud Tiki Bar for us and our neighbors! I agree with the other comments about the nice kitchenette rooms and Vicky and the staff being very accommodating. But they failed to stop the rowdy people who came to Camelot last week and held a loud music, beer bashing, wild adults and kids day and night pool party for 4 days!

Even when the office was open from 10am to 5pm, the party was not tamed and it got worse into the evening and night. My neighbor would not let his kids play in the pool area because of this party and the condition the pool area was in with beer cans left on tables, and another neighbor complained to the partyers one night and we ended up calling the management twice the next night to come in and stop the party we could hear in our rooms more loudly that what we heard at the beach or along Mandalay when we went for walks to the pier. After all of this the management did not offer an explanation or an apology to us.
I would rate Camelot higher if the management or their condo owners can control this problem, but otherwise be very leary about staying here in the summer, during holidays, or spring break since this can happen again!

Room Tip: Management will help you choose a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vasbas, Director of Sales at Camelot Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Sometimes, our 4th of July can be like a full moon weekend....

Thank you for being so kind with your comments by stating our rooms were clean and our Guest Service staff, accommodating.

It is important for us to know that a few unruly guests can disrespect the rights of others
and something must be done to protect our valued respectful guests.

We know this type of occurance happens very rarely at our little 22 room Inn, because Vickie, our General Manager, gets to know everyone quite well and prides herself at creating such a welcome environment for everyone.

However, we need to address your 4th of July situation...how does this sound to you.

To help us become an even better property, when reviewing our guest records, we noticed that a small group of our reservations are from local guests coming to the beach for the 4th of July and fireworks.

These guests are usually fine, however, we found some of these people tend to invite their friends, and now there are 8-10 extra people in there room and our pool.
Plus, their friends simply don't respect our hotel like you and the other out of state guests vacationing here.

So in answer to your request, we are going to do two things to alleviate the noise problem at Camelot for next July 4th weekend.

We are going to hire Security for the nights that generate the late night partying.
We are also going to eliminate the people that probably cause the trouble by limiting friends and neighbors from coming to Camelot as friends of a Hotel Guest like yourself.

We hope you see this as a good first step to solving this unique problem
during a busy holiday weekend.

Again, thank you for complimenting our property and staff...and for giving us the opportunity to correct a situation before it becomes a problem again.

We truly want all our guests to have a great experience at Camelot.
Thanks to you, 4th of July late night noise will not become an issue again.

We believe this will properly address the noise problem on special holiday weekends.

We hope you agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

It's not your everyday stay, very unique place and a lot of fun. We had a group of 6 and each of of us enjoyed the hotel. The pool is small but easy access from most rooms, but who needs that when you have the Golf of Mexico and white sand beaches right across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djdahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My family and I came back for the second year in a row, to the Camelot! Vicki and her staff are absolutley AMAZING! You could not ask for a cleaner,convienient, friendly and may I say Pet Friendly place on Clearwater Beach! I love this place, and would recommend it to anyone who wishes to visit Clearwater. Thank you Mrs. V and staff for making our Vacation wonderful!
The Lott Family (Decatur Alabama)

Room Tip: Just give Vickie a call and she will see to it you get the best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonya l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have been staying on Clearwater beach for almost 25 years, we like a small place with a family feel. The Camelot delivered in every way. Vickie was very accommodating with my reservation, giving me a great rate even though our days were scattered over a 10 day period. Each room is decorated a little differently, which made it fun to change rooms when we came back from our theme park days. Love that each room has a hair dryer, a nice fridge, eating nook and lots of cubbies for storing all the needs of beach life. You don't need to bring beach towels she has some to loan you and there are lots of noodles and floats you can borrow for the beach. Located right next to a laundromat made it convenient to only need a few things for the week. Just across from the beach, lots of great places to eat and just close enough to evening activities at Pier 60 or local venues. We will recommend to friends and family and will make it the place we go for our annual family vacation. Yes you need to take out your trash, and no no one makes your bed.... But for the price, location and safety. Awesome value..

Room Tip: Corner rooms 105 and 205, 106 and 206 have a bedroom and a living room. Super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackieMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
0.5 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Beach Resort

Address: 603 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-1630 (Formerly Royal Camelot)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range: £102 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Camelot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Camelot Hotel Clearwater
Camelot Beach Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing