We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fun near the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camelot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camelot Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family fun near the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Overall, we had a great stay at the Camelot, and we will likely stay there again when we decide to return to Clearwater. The property and room were clean and comfortable, and the few minor aesthetic blemishes were more than acceptable for the price. Fantastic access to a wonderful beach, plenty of food options within a reasonable walk too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    52
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
75
87
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My first time staying at the camelot was amazing. The rooms were unique, comfortable, and clean. The pool was amazing, and a rooftop grill! Like everyone says close to the beach, bars, and the jolly trolley. A must stay in clearwater beach. Get some gumbo at the original frenchy's it's delicious!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had great time at the Camelot Beach Resort. the room was very clean and Vicki was very helpfull.It is in a great location and you can walk to many bars and restaurants in 10 minutes. My favorites were the Brown Boxer and the Beach Fyre.Having the pool deck right outside was awesome and i enjoyed the upper deck with the grill and lounge chairs. The view from up on the deck was great. The pool deck area was a great place to socailize with all our neighbors we met! I would highly recommend the Camelot Beach Resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at Camelot awhile ago and I can attest that this little gem is one of the best kept secrets on Clearwater Beach. This hotel is walking distance to everything on the beach plus the trolley will pick you up and take you anywhere you like. The room I stayed in (#101) was absolutely perfect with a living room and separate sleeping area with a king sized bed. If you're planning a business conference or just a family vacation I would highly recommend the Camelot Beach Resort.

Room Tip: I believe they have a web site that has pictures of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great location within walking distance to beach, pier and great restaurants. We used a groupon so it was a good value. It is not a resort as there are no resort amenities. Room was super clean average size, shower was very small. Nice Tv, free wi fi, small kitchenette with coffee maker, stove, microwave, toaster, etc. Did not use the pool but enjoyed morning coffee on sun deck. Peaceful location and Vicki is a great manager. We liked it and will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are privately owned and different but very nice. I understand there are bigger rooms. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LainafromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife, beagle and I spend a few days at the Camelot. The first impression was how clean and up to date it was. We certainly will return. However there are things that you need to be aware of, then decide if the Camelot is for you.

First, the is no obvious exterior office or sign. You go through the gates and around the pool to a tiny office. We weren't aware, and I couldn't find it on the website, that they only man the office from 10 to 4. If you check in before or after, you'll need to call in order to get your room assignment and key. It didn't appear that they manned the hotel at all on the weekend.

They do not have daily maid service. This was fine with us, but something for which you need to be aware. Also, they replace towels and linens on request. We had three sets of towels in our room, so we had plenty for three night stay. The first night my wife got cold, but there was no blanket in the room. We were able to adjust the ac the second night, but a blanket still would have been nice.

The frig (Rm 208) was at max cold, and it was only cool enough to keep cold drinks cold. So we had to put them in the freezer first, and then put them in the friq. We had a high top table and chairs, other wise you sit on the bed. The bathroom was small with small shower. The item we missed most was something to put our suitcases on, since we just live our of luggage. We both ended up with our suitcases on the floor.

Yes, you do have to take our your own garbage, and instead of icemaker on site, you refill the ice trays in the freezer. Since they motel wasn't close to full during our visit, there was plenty of parking. However I can imagine parking being a problem when it's full.

As for the dog, there is nearby North Clearwater Beach that is dog friendly (leash required). You have to walk about a short block from parking on Mandalay, but it is a very nice beach.
Also, you can walk your dog next door in the park. There is a restaurant across the street that is dog friendly on the outside tables, as well as the place with the $3.99 breakfast. Nearby Frenchy's is not, though a good place to eat.

The location of the Camelot couldn't be better. It is a one block walk to stores and restaurants in downtown Clearwater Beach. We enjoyed our stay here, and will most likely be back. We will probably ask for a room other than 208 though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

After reading so many great reviews, I decided to pick the camelot for my stay. First of all, its not a resort...it's more like a motel. The rooms seem much bigger online. Our "king" room was small. The shower was extremely small. They claim to have free wifi, but the wifi did not work. They also claim to have a heated pool. The pool was certainly not heated. Although the staff was very friendly, this place was not at all what I expected. It seemed like we were the only people there. It felt like a cheap motel. Even after the groupon price i felt ripped off. Oh and there is no room service and you have to take your own garbage to the dumpster. Not the worst place ever, but far far from the best.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Island Cay at Clearwater Beach
1.1 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Beach Resort

Property: Camelot Beach Resort
Address: 603 Mandalay Ave, Clearwater, FL 33767-1630 (Formerly Royal Camelot)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Camelot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Camelot Hotel Clearwater
Camelot Beach Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing