We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Room type reservation was not honored; I was put in a smoking room instead of a non-smoking room, and then into a handicapped accessible double queen room when I had reserved a king non-smoking suite. Check-in desk was not staffed adequately and response to concerns was not what I would expect; room air conditioner was very noisy and kept me awake at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gioya M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Gioya M B,
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience at our hotel. I assure you that this was an isolated incident for both our hotel, as well as Hampton Inn in general. In reviewing your reservation it appears that it was originally booked for a smoking king studio suite with a request for a non-smoking room. At the same time there is no reason why you should have waited for someone to assist you in moving to a different room. I am invoking Hampton's 100% Guarantee and crediting you for one night's room and tax. As the new General Manager for this property I can assure you that I will be using your comments to help us give the Hilton-quality service that you should always expect. We hope you will offer us another opportunity to serve you, should your travels bring you to the Clearwater area again.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

This property is unclean, the towels are always stained, the air conditioning is very old and very loud and the thermostat settings in the room do not allow you do go below 68 degrees (even if it's 104 outside). HHonors members are not greeted as such, and the complimentary breakfast recycled itself once during my 5 day stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Kia E,
Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially on ways we can improve our guest experience. I sincerely apologize for your experience and the areas that we failed to meet your expectations. As the new General Manager of the hotel I am addressing these issues with our team directly to assure every effort is made to give all of our guests, especially our Diamond Guests, the Hilton-quality stay that you should expect. Please note, I will be crediting your stay for one night's room and tax for the inconveniences, and you have my assurance that I will be speaking with the Housekeeper to find out why the room was not cleaned to standard. We do hope you'll consider giving us another opportunity to serve you and provide a more positive experience the next time you travel to Clearwater. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,

Robert Knauff, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel was the best for our needs and we will definitely stay again. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out all of the staff were friendly and accomodating. We also loved the breakfast and the friedliness as well. Please pass these comments along to the staff from us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Beth K,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re pleased to hear our hotel was the best fit for your travel needs. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our great hotel and friendly staff. I’ll be certain to pass along your kind comments to our team. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit with us at Hampton Inn Clearwater. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed for two nights, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. It is what you expect from a Hampton Inn.

Only issue was during my stay there were some loud kids in the hall that another guest had complained about.. Manager spoke with them in a professional manner and they were quiet afterward.

Room Tip: The hotel is at the end of the runway for St. Petersburg Airport. I did not hear the planes, except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Mike R,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hampton Inn Clearwater. We appreciate you selecting our hotel and we’re glad you found our friendly staff and clean rooms to meet your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the noise disturbance you encountered during your stay. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Hotel is old and needs upgrades. Apparently, hot water heater is on one side of building, so rooms on the opposite end don't get hot water. What a system. Want to sleep well, forget it. A/C unit is probably the worst we've experienced. Usually choose Hamptons, but won't choose this one again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

A TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for writing a review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfying stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort you encountered during your stay. Our maintenance team is addressing these issues and additional steps will be taken to ensure we improve our guest experience. We hope that you’ll have another opportunity to visit us again to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I was visiting Clearwater for a business trip, and as per my normal routine, I booked with a Hampton Inn, for the price of my room I was very impressed with the quality of the hotel and staff. My king suite was comfortable and spacious. The only draw back is the proximity to the airport across the way, but seasoned travelers expect that. All in all it was an awesome stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Eric C,
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while on business, and we’re glad you enjoyed your visit. It’s great to hear we exceeded your expectations with the quality of our hotel, comfortable accommodations, and excellent service. Please plan to visit us again at Hampton Inn Clearwater. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We made our reservation more than a month in advance and that we would be arriving late but when we arrived the original room I booked with 2 queen beds was no longer available and they gave us 1 king bed and a sofa bed. This is how we started our vacation with my daughters sleeping on a sofa bed. Also everytime the air conditioner unit turned off there was a loud bang.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Cindy J,
Thank you for writing a review. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to accommodate your original room request. I’m very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced as a result and for failing to meet your expectations during your visit. We appreciate you staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Robert Knauff, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
414 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
10.5 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,486 reviews
10.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road

Address: 4050 Ulmerton Rd, Clearwater, FL 33762-4103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#8 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#28 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £99 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater/St. Petersburg-Ulmerton Road, FL hotel is minutes away from St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport and a short drive to many businesses and attractions.Explore 35 miles of white-sand beaches, including Fort De Soto Park, Caladesi Island and Clearwater Beach. Visit St. Pete Pier, a recreational pier featuring dining, fishing and family events in cultural downtown St. Petersburg. Visit Pier 60 on Clearwater Beach for shopping, playgrounds and beautiful sunsets when you stay at this hotel in Clearwater/St. Petersburg.Attend sporting events at Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, or Philadelphia Phillies Spring Training at Bright House Field, just 8 miles from the hotel. Practice your swing at numerous golf courses in the area. If you prefer the arts, visit the Gulf Coast Museum of Art and Salvador Dali Museum, or appreciate nature at the Clearwater Marine Aquarium.Start your day with Hampton's free hot breakfast. Stay in touch with your family and the office with free high-speed internet access in your room or in our 24-hour business center. After a day at the beach or in meetings, relax in your clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Among Clearwater/St. Petersburg hotels, you’ll find our first-class service and accommodations are close to it all, but far above the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road
Hampton Inn Clearwater
Clearwater Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater / St. Petersburg - Ulmerton Road Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing