We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was such a great resort with beautiful pool and beach!”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tyler, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This was such a great resort with beautiful pool and beach!”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I traveled with my husband and son on a business/leisure trip for my husband's company. This resort was great! We had a king-size bed in the bedroom and a pull-out sofa bed for my son in the living room. There were 2 tv's and a full kitchen-regular sized refrigerator, range, and microwave and a dishwasher; a large bathroom with separate jacuzzi tub, double sinks and a stackable washer/dryer. Having the washer/dryer allowed us to travel with only carry-on luggage, saving at least $50 for the trip. The room also had 2 balconies with chairs and a small table on each.
The service was nice- you are greeted with a glass of champagne upon check-in. The pool is lovely and heated and the white beaches are loaded with shells and fairly calm Gulf waves. It was fairly cool while we were there, so we did not spend much time IN the Gulf, but was able to play on the beach.
We did not eat in a resort restuarant, but did have several meals provided by the resort in our company group dinners. All were acceptable. The staff was very friendly.
The rooms were very quiet-we never heard our neighbors and did not hear too much hall noise.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2goaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Luv2goaggle,
We are so please you and your family had such a wonderful time at the Sandpearl. It sounds like our accommodations really suited your needs and allowed for a pleasant business and leisure trip.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    521
    190
    75
    56
See reviews for
1,037
777
17
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Despite staying here in 2008 and experiencing lackluster service at every turn, my family returned to the Sandpearl in 2011. Complete turn-around in service, from the greeting at the door, to immediately honoring a request for a Pack-and-Play in the room for our two-year-old, to friendly and attentive restaurant service poolside as well as at the on-site Tate Island Grill. Minor quibbles only regarding a confused bartender, an overly-chlorinated Jacuzzi that turned my blue swimsuit bright pink (management apologized profusely and reimbursed me for a new one), and a room thermostat that automatically defaults to 70 degrees while you're sleeping. The Sandpearl is still the priciest option in Clearwater ($20 valet parking), but I felt the cost was much more justified this time around.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixtoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Sixtoe,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your family vacation with us, I apologize you had an unfavorable experience back in 2008

Our staff certainly pride themselves on providing our guest with superior service and helping families create lasting memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I am writing this review while we are still at the Sandpearl. We have enjoyed our stay so much that I didn't want to wait until we got home and forget to write one. From the moment we drove up the service has been exemplary. We returned from a cruise and had scheduled to stay at Sandpearl to catch a few days of Phillies spring training before heading home. We arrived at the hotel at 11:30 am and were sure we would have to have them hold our bags until our room was ready. Well, much to our surprise we were checked in immediately, given a glass of champagne, and in our room before noon. I had mentioned to the receptionist that it was our 35th anniversary - within the hour they delivered 6 of the most gorgeous (and tastiest) chocolate covered strawberries I have ever had. The strawberries were beautifully presented with "Happy Anniversary" written in dark chocolate on the plate. Such a nice touch.

We have stayed at some very nice hotels (St. Michael's Inn, Ritz Carlton, etc) over the years and this has been one of our best hotel stays. Every staff person we encountered was friendly, welcoming, and professional. A special recognition to our doorman Tony who gave us such good information about the area that it made our trip easier and more enjoyable. The beach and pool area are lovely and well maintained. If you are going to be in this area, you should seriously consider the Sandpearl. All in all, it has been a wonderful experience and we still have a few more days before we must head home to the real world.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammyandgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Grammyandgrumpy,

Thank you for such a positive review. We are pleased we were able to part in your 35th wedding anniversary celebration. Thank you for your comments on how friendly and professional you found our staff and your recognition of one of our finest bellman, Tony. We hope you found your last few days to be just as enjoyable as your first and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This is a very nice hotel and one we would probably stay at again. Only one disappointment: I was under the impression that all rooms had balconies and if not a gulf view (for extra $) then a Bay view. Since we planned to be out a lot, I didn't pay extra for the Gulf view but expected at least a balcony that would hold chairs and look across the island. Our balcony was about 1 foot deep with no chairs, and it overlooked the airconditioning unit on a lower roof. Otherwise, the hotel was a great choice -- location was great (in town but not noisy, on the beach), and the room was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDay484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Daisyday284,

Thank you for your response. I apologize you were not satisfied with our balconies. All of our rooms have a furnished balcony with the exception of our Bayside rooms. These rooms either have no balcony or an unfurnished walkout balcony. We do have a supply of chairs that will fit on these balconies upon request. I am glad that overall you were pleased with the room and the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed at the Sandpearl the first week of March and had a great time. We rented from an owner (the top two floors are privately owned) from VRBO. Our unit was on the eight floor and had two balconies with views of both the gulf and the intercoastal. The suite was one bedroom with a full kitchen and was gorgeous! The resort itself in my opinion is comparable to top resorts (and I've stayed at places like Four Seasons) as far as how they make you feel pampered. One thing I noticed is that everything was so clean (the pool, the bathrooms by the pool, the overall hotel facilities). The pool was very enjoyable, not too crowded and it was easy to get a chair of your choosing without having to get up at the crack of dawn like some resorts. The location of the hotel was perfect as the view from the pool of the beach and gulf was spectacular. The sand on the beach is best described as like talcum powder as it is so very white and fine. Since this was our "babymoon" I enjoyed a pre-natal massage at the Spa which was great. We also dined at Caretta on the Gulf for dinner one night and had a beautiful outdoor sunset view for my husband's birthday. The food and service were also good for us. We were in town also to see Phillies spring training and had the pleasure of meeting/seeing Jimmy Rollins, Ryan Madson and David Herdon at the pool which was a nice surprise. I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a luxury hotel experience right in the heart of Clearwater Beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Borntotravel,

We are so please that you enjoyed your “babymoon” here at the Sandpearl Resort. It sounds like you were able to really relax pool side and while getting a massage. We hope the Sandpearl becomes a place of fond memories for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The Sandpearl Resort is Awesome! Beautiful Hotel, beautiful beach, wonderful food and amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were extremely clean with comfortable beds, a beautiful bathroom and plenty of clean towels! The beach was so white, you'd need sunglasses to look at it. We did not eat at the main dining room, but we ate at the Tate Grill on the beach several times. The food and the service were great. We esp. liked the grouper sandwich and the homemade potato chips. We enjoyed going to the Starbucks in the lobby for an early cup of coffee and then heading out to breakfast. The hotel is right next door to the Clear Sky Beachside Cafe, where we ate a few meals. Fabulous food and service there as well.
The beach staff provides free beach towels and for about $43.00 we rented two large beach umbrellas which they set up for us. The outdoor pool is just lovely esp. at night when our sons decided to go for a swim. The pool was especially good for young families with small children, as it had different depts where the kids could walk right into the pool. The whole resort was so clean and lovely. We stayed in a Jr.Gulf Front Suite which faced the pool and the gulf. The balcony outside was esp. nice at night. The room was tight for 5 of us, but we managed to make it work, as it was what we could afford. However, the only downside to our time at the Sandpearl was the lack of privacy in the room. The wall between the bathroom and the bedroom was really a set of shuttered doors which, if opened, allowed you a view of outside looking over the beds in the room. It did not allow, even closed for privacy when using the bathroom facilities. It would have been better, in our opinion, if a solid wall was there. Maybe not as pretty, but definately more practical. We hope to visit the Sandpearl again as we had such a relaxing time there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Annie543,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We are glad you had such a wonderful time and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Our Junior Suites are set up with the shutter windows, however we do offer one-bedroom gulf front suites that would provide you with the extra privacy you were looking for. They would also have a full kitchen, living room, and dining room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stayed here for a company meeting. Great location right on the beach and on Clearwaters main drag.

Great restaurants and night life within walking distance.

The beachside is spectacular. The hotel has parties right on the beach,

The pool area, right off the beach, is fantastic.

The rooms are great. You either get a gulf/beach view or a bay view.

The rooms are nicely appointed - very modern and nautical.

Sleep is very restful as room areas are very quiet.

If my travels take me back to Clearwater Beach, I will DEFINITELY stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Dear Kwteck,

Thank you for your response. It sounds like you have a great time staying here for your company meeting. We hope you are able to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#21 of 98 in Clearwater
4,680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 98 in Clearwater
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing