We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place To Stay In Clearwater”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Place To Stay In Clearwater”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were there for one night and would have loved to stay longer. The hotel was great right on the beach. You have to get to pool early to claim your spot. Catherine the resort ambassador was so pleasant. She greeted us with complimentary drinks upon arrival and engaged in conversation with my son. Dinner at the restaurant is a must. Service was just fair at best but the food was delicious. We were disappointed they cancelled the movie at night when there was no rain. Other than that it was a pleasurable experience and we will be back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashg1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Flashg1992,
Thank you for your comments of your most recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your arrival experience; I will pass along your compliments to Catherine! Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,507
    507
    185
    72
    51
See reviews for
996
762
16
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just got back from The Sandpearl and had to write a review to help others who plan to stay in Clearwater. First off, when we arrived at check-in, it was quick and so friendly - and as a bonus we were offered a mimosa or champagne. Yum! We checked in in a matter of minutes, everything was explained thoroughly and we headed on up to our room. We didn't have the greatest view but we weren't planning on staying in the room for long. We went down to the pool and beach to check it out and it was just paradise. The pool was clean and the beach was perfect! The sand is a lot cleaner at The Sandpearl than the Hilton - FYI. Pier 60 was within walking distance. Oh and Caretta on the Gulf's 9 oz. tenderloin BEST steak I have ever eaten and I am very picky about my steaks. The service was fabulous everywhere we went. For the people who complain about the service and the food - you're ridiculous! Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPClearwater2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear JPClearwater2012,
WOW! It is so wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass along your compliments to our chef. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just finished a four night stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I am very pleased with this place. I have traveled a lot and stayed at a lot of good hotels. (Five years in a row as a Hilton Diamond). This place is first class and well worth the money. The onsite dining is as good as it gets and the amenities are top notch. The personnel are of the highest caliber. I will stay here again. The resort fee is not out of line and the valet is necessary so don't let that turn you off. The pool is great and the access to the beach is perfect. Obviously I liked it as did my wife. Go with confidence. Eat breakfast at the Clear Sky Cafe next door it is great and will save you a few bucks if you trying to save money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Bman2000,
I am so pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

No surprises,resort fee and room taxes high, mandatory valet parking at $20.00 a day, but we knew this going in due to education here. The hotel could be more forth coming with this but the entire stay was wonderful. The staff was the heart of this place s they seemed genuine in their being there to help and happy you were there, not the "dripping in sarcasm" sometimes found in a place like this. If you are local, bring your own beach chair and umbrella, this way you sit at the waters edge and not have to pay the $25.00for the shade. Also, get to the pool early as everyone so why not include your family can place a towel on the chair of your choice. The room was not ready when we arrived at 1300hrs and check in is late at 1600hrs, they called us at 1335hrs that it was okay to pick up key but the facilities are clean and available to change and enjoy the resort while the bell service holds your things, felt like the only complaint would be some other patrons whose unruly children should have been given some structured rules, but that was not the resorts fault, you will enjoy the exprience just be readyto shell out the cash to do it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisaj0urney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Lifeisaj0urney,
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience here at the Sandpearl Resort. It is so wonderful to hear that you found our entire staff to be genuinely helpful and friendly. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our family of 7 just returned from a family vacation. Because we wanted family friendly very few options that met our request. Sandpearl kept popping up. They had a 1 room bedroom gulf front suite waiting for us. It was perfect, clean, spacious, and the view was amazing. It was pretty kid friendly as well. I was nervous about breakable but our 1 and 2 year did just fine. They met every requiremnet we requested. The staff was incredibly friendly. During our 4 night 5 day stay we never met a crabby staff member who wasn't happy to help. My husband loved the starbucks coffee house in the lobby, the pool was great, the beach access from our room was so quick and easy. Tate Island Grill was very good, the atmosphere and service was great. The Caretta grill was very good but super expensive. They gave us a private dining room. We had to by our water at $7.00 a bottle. The Valet is worth every penny. The maid service was great very friendly if we were in our room and it wast a good time for them to be there. The in room service was fun to order but the extra taxes and fees made a kids lunch run about $18.00. There are several more great things about this place. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of beach. The sand was soft clean and beautiful. The water was dark and dingy. You couldn't even see your feet if you went in a little. Our big kids were bummed they could not snorkel. The beach never seemed crowded and was kept well maintained by the sand pearl resort. Overall we had a great experience but would probably never go back due to the unclear water that clearwater beach has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21janise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear 21janise21,
I am so pleased to hear that every member of your family of 7 thoroughly enjoyed themselves while staying at the Sandpearl Resort. I will certainly share your compliments of our staff with the rest of our management team. I hope you are able to stay with us again should you find yourself in the Clearwater area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We are predominantly staying in Orlando during our visit to Florida. We booked the Sandpearl for a night to get to the beach for a couple of days, I wish we'd booked for longer. What a fantastic stay, one of, if not the best hotel stay I've ever had outside of Vegas.

Every member of staff we met were extremely helpful and very friendly. Whilst the weather wasn't too great on our first day, that wasn't going to stop us swimming. The beach, the sand, all really exquisite, certainly beats Blackpool back home!

Their attention to detail was sublime, from the chocolates on the bed in the evening, the little card with the weather forecast, to the champagne on arrival. I raved about Miami Beach last week, but this was another level up. Not pretentious in the slightest, the Sandpearl was affordable and not full of add ons prices like in Miami.

Next time we intend to comeback to Florida solely to stay at the Sandpearl. Yes it's a little expensive but you pay for quality. We had a fantastic time and a lot of it was thanks to the amazing staff. This is a beautiful hotel and I can't recommend it enough. Thanks.

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view above the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan5515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Dan5515,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had such a fantastic time. Thank you for recognizing our staff, we all pride ourselves on providing our guest with lasting memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We visited this hotel expressly to have drinks and watch the sun set. We sat at the Tate Island Grill and to be honest the atmosphere and the service was so good we cancelled our other plans and had stayed for dinner.

Tate offers a relaxed, but classy, beachside dining experience. The menu is simple (chicken, steak, fish, simply prepared) but it is executed very well indeed. The wine list is limited but if you ask they will bring the list from the main restaurant, and the is quite a range both in terms of price and type.

Service was outstanding throughout the evening.

The resort itself looks excellent and if I ev find myself in Clearwater Beach again, I will endeavour to stay here: it seems like the classiest hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMcCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear KMcCorry,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your most recent visit with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our restaurant Tate Island Grill and found our food and wine list to be quite appealing that you canceled your other plans! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#13 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#16 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing