We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning a return trip...”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Planning a return trip...”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We loved it here. We came for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary between Christmas and New Years Day, and I'm so glad I chose the Sandpearl.
The staff is on top of their game, Shelley at the front desk welcomed us warmly and took care of everything we needed in just a few minutes.
Our room had a beautiful, unexpected view of the gorgeous beach - waking to that every morning was incredible.
The concierge staff (Leticia in particular) did an amazing job helping us with outside activities, dining and even helped my husband order flowers (yep, he's pretty sweet!).
Sitting around the fire on the beach at sunset is a must do if you come here. The grounds are immaculate and the surrounding beach area well-tended.
We were fortunate to experience the Christmas Village Sand Sculpture in the lobby... if you're looking for a perfect place to spend the holidays, this could be it!
Lastly, the concierge arranged a paddling trip for us with Luis (Downsouth Kite and Paddle) a kayak for my husband, SUP for me - that was the perfect way to end the weekend. We paddled through the mangroves, saw rays, blue crabs and lots of birds. This is a MUST if you love being on the water!
So, there is ONE detractor that I could find here: the amenities in the room - shampoo, lotion and soap smell like the old fashioned version of "Off!" mosquito repellent. Ugh.

Room Tip: The beach side rooms are pretty sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort and Spa! We greatly appreciate your feedback. I am delighted you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to LaTesha and Shelley! It is great to hear you enjoyed our Christmas village sand sculpture in the lobby. We hope to have you with us again for future anniversaries and look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,535
    519
    188
    75
    55
See reviews for
1,024
772
17
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Sandpearl for 2 nights in December 2013. The staff was pleasant and the room was nice. We reserved Gulf Front expecting to be in the beach front rooms but we actually faced the beach but overlooked the pool. The pool view rooms had a nice view of us on our balcony. We felt we didn't get what we paid for. We did not receive a key to the minibar, the room safe was locked, 1 of the bathrobes was used and dirty, the desk lamp and the hall llight had burned out bulbs. Overall minor issues but I still think the hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RHcomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Sandpearl Resort and Spa. We appreciate the feedback regarding your minor issues throughout your stay. I will be sure to review these issues with my staff so they do not emerge again. I am happy you found our staff to be peasant and felt your room was nice. I do hope you return soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel.. Very attentive, friendly staff who go out of their way to help. The staff were great with kids too. Rooms were medium sized, very nicely decorated, great touches eg- like Keurig. Patio/balcony was very large with great bear chairs but the view was iffy, (side of the hotel.) I think a city or total oceanview would be better, we could see the ocean but over the top of roofing (which had machinery/exhaust that was loud.) Fantastic pool area, felt like a Carribbean resort and right on the beach, near the pier (great for dolphin sightings and fishing!) This a pricey hotel but was a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmtree73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I am delighted to hear our staff were attentive and friendly to you throughout your stay. It is our pleasure to help you and make your vacation as pleasant as possible. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for only one night this Christmas day and wished we would have stayed longer. When you are checking in, you are offered a beverage which I think is very nice especially after driving for a while. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The outside appearance of the hotel is also great. The pool is great. Service is also amazing. This resort is great for families with kids.
We would definitely return to this resort again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinmartin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort and Spa. I am so glad you enjoyed your spacious room and received exceptional service, especially after a long drive to arrive at the resort. We hope you return soon for a longer visit with us! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Love this resort. Wife and I stay here when I travel on business and it is 5 star all the way. The location is perfect right on the beach and right next door to Frenchy's Rockaway. The staff is very friendly and helpful from the moment they take your car keys. Complimentary drinks upon arrival, perfect weather and good food & drinks at the pool bar. What more do you need? Rooms are always clean. Kids also love this place. Took my parents with the kids here and had the suite a few months back and everyone had a blast. Kids loved the zero entry pool and the pool staff was great with them too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAYLEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I am delighted to hear you and your family had a great experience at the pool and that our staff were able to provide five star service anywhere you went. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very minor hiccup when we arrived - had upgraded to a coastal view room but, when we arrived, we had an overwhelming view of the roof of part of the hotel, then a car park and the beach in the distance. I asked to be moved and, for an extra $10 per night (should have been $20 - they discounted as we had 2 rooms for 8 nights), we were moved the following day to a gulf view room which was so much better.

The bathrooms are huge and well equipped, the beds are really comfortable, the rooms are a good size, the public areas are exceptionally well kept, the staff are simply lovely, the pool area is spotless and the waiting staff are quick and friendly, the beach is to die for ... I could go on but the awards that the hotel has won, and the other amazing reviews, really say it all!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Sandpearl Resort in November. Despite the initial hiccup you experienced, I am happy to hear our staff provided you with friendly service and were able to improve the remainder of your stay. We appreciate the kind words regarding our public areas and the spotless pool area. We are delighted you felt comfortable in your room and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed over the summer and loved it. They had our room ready when we arrived which was nice since we were traveling with our baby. The pool was very nice and outside grill had pretty good food. Beaches were nice and clean. The shops and restaurants around the resort were great. Very good breakfast food next door!! Highly recommend. The only thing we didn't like was the high resort fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Sandpearl Resort last summer. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our pool with your family and got to take in the nearby restaurants and shops! We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you and your family return soon for more fun-filled memories at the resort.

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 98 in Clearwater
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 98 in Clearwater
4,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing