We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Albany, Oregon
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Staff was very courteous & helpful. Loved the breakfast choices & quality. Will definitively stay there again!!! The room was clean, pleasant decor inside the room and lobby. Great pool and jacuzzi. Wonderful restaurants within a mile.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertaNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that our staff were courteous and helpful during your visit. It is our pleasure to be at your service for whatever you may desire. It is great to hear you were pleased with your dining experience for breakfast as well. We appreciate the kind words and hope you return to the Sandpearl on your next visit to Clearwater Beach!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    521
    190
    75
    56
See reviews for
1,035
776
17
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

3 words: Service, service, service. We spent a week here with our 3 kids. From the moment we walked in, saw the gorgeous view, and they handed us mimosas, the stay was wonderful. The staff was incredibly attentive and helpful, courteous, the concierge was great, the pool lovely, and the proximity to the beach unbeatable. The restaurant on site, Carettas, was amazing. (The Tate Island Grill wasn't spectacular but was a great place for chicken fingers on the beach.) We had a king suite with a washer dryer right there in the room, a full kitchen, and plenty of space. We went to the spa and loved it. My husband declared it the best massage he'd ever had, and mine was also amazing. Make sure you leave time for the coed jacuzzi. Delightful stay from beginning to end.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. It is wonderful to hear that our staff provided you with memorable service during your visit. I am delighted you had a great experience at our signature restaurant, Caretta on the Gulf and received courteous and attentive service wherever you went. It is our pleasure to assist in any way possible. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed at the Sandpearl for 5 nights with my husband and 3 kids. Loved it! Felt pampered from the second we walked in and were handed glasses of champagne and sparkling apple cider.

Rented the gulf front junior suite. Awesome view. We were on a lower floor (4th) and were not bothered by noise at all. Could hear the ocean waves more than anything else. Had enough room for the rollaway for child #3 without being crowded. Room was well-appointed and very comfortable. There was some paint peeling on the bathroom door but otherwise it was very well-kept and really clean.

Activities were abundant at the resort during our stay. On Easter they had a nice sunrise service on the beach and then a ton of kids activities during the day - an egg hunt, cookie decorating, etc. Pool heater didn't work for the first few days, which was a bummer, but they fixed it so we moved on... Pool towels and sand toys are provided. They even had kites to fly one day, which was a ton of fun. They have nightly kids' movies and smores on the beach.

Everyone at the resort seemed happy to help. Overall, service was great, including the housekeeping. Concierge was really knowledgeable and helpful. They arranged transportation to and from the airport for us - was $99 + tip each way for our family of 5, much better than a rental car + valet parking daily.

We didn't need a car. Starbucks was handy in the lobby. Clear Sky Café next door was great for meals away from the hotel, as was Frenchy's, about a 5 minute walk. CVS is across the street. Lots of restaurants within a 15 minute walk. Nearby activities include Pier 60 and the Flowrider (indoor surfing) as well as the marina, which was a 10 minute walk down the road, even with a dawdling 6 year old. And there is a free taxi service - they drive you around and just get paid tips. The concierge has the card; we didn't use the service but might be a nice option of you don't rent a car.

I do think the daily "resort fee" is a bit ridiculous - would rather they just tie it into the price listed for the room. Was glad I knew about that from other reviewers. Be careful about any in-room movies you might rent. Percy Jackson was $4.99 but Non-Stop was $18.99! Kids didn't realize that when they bought it...

Overall, loved the Sandpearl. Felt pampered and relaxed with plenty to do. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Gulf front junior suite has a great view and is large enough to fit a rollaway if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmahaFamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to pamper you and your family during your vacation at the resort! I am happy you found abundant activities to enjoy on property and were provided excellent service from our housekeeping and concierge teams. I am so happy you chose to spend Easter with us and we hope you return soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beware of this hotel's bait and switch strategy on rooms! When we arrived we were told that we had been "upgraded" but learned a short time later that the hotel gave away the room we booked and for which we paid a deposit! The "upgrade" meant that but for my expressing my unhappiness, my teenage daughter would have had to sleep on a folding cot (instead of a real bed) - which they called a "rollaway." The other option was a room with a view of the loading dock or a city street when we paid for a room with an ocean view. Ultimately, the manager agreed to give us the lower price for the worse room and comped us for breakfast during our stay, but hardly the way you want to start a vacation at what purports to be a nice resort. It's not exactly fun to arrive only to find the room we PAID for ready for our visit, but to not be able to unpack and unwind was a poor way to treat an arriving guest on vacation. It's really hard to understand how this could have happened in the first place since the hotel's cancellation policy requires a deposit with no changes after 7 days before arrival. Oh, did I mention that the stains on the shower curtains in both rooms we stayed in, a lightbulb that didn't work in one room, a broken light switch in the second room we moved to, hallway carpet that needed a vacuum and a hallway exit sign outside our room that was dangling from the ceiling? At this price point, one should expect a greater attention to detail that begins with honoring reservations made by your guests...

Room Tip: Call the hotel before you travel to make sure that they actually have the room you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hnehpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. Please accept my apology for the issue you had with the reservations and room type. I can guarantee you that we spend much time and effort making sure we put guests in the correct room type and do not sell more room types than what we have available. I am not sure what happened in your particular instance but would like to find out. If you would like please contact me at the resort so I can get more information.

Also, please accept my apology for the Housekeeping and Maintenance issues you had during your stay. I have spoken to our Executive Housekeeper and Director of Engineering regarding your comments and are trying to figure out which rooms were involved.

Again, thank you for your time.

Regards,
Eric Waltz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Food, excellent. Pool well designed & situated. Property interior/exterior well maintained, tastefully decorated for discerned traveler. Restaurant accordingly. Beach restaurant, great live entertainment, great food, great drinks. Loved the fire pit for sunset marshmallows. Rooms: suites are appointed tastefully equivalent of property, small balcony. Beach: won't disappoint, typical FL west coast snow white,beach lounges provided, as well as umbrellas, sorry forgot charges for the latter, beach boy service excellent/forthcoming, tipped accordingly. Please note: try to request rooms oceanfront on NORTH side of property at very end of building. No noise, closer to ocean.

Room Tip: North side. Facing ocean.Closest segment of building to the ocean. Away from the movie screen and ve...
See more room tips
Green Features: Towel pick up option not quite remembering if particularly environmentally friendly , other than towel pick up. been to 12 countries since, sorry, I do not remember
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sistatravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I am delighted to hear you found our property to be tastefully decorated and well maintained which enhanced your visit with us. It is great to hear you were able to enjoy the fire pit for marshmallows at sunset and were pleased with your experiences dining and relaxing at our pool. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit to the resort!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Sandpearl Resort is a beautiful resort in Clearwater Beach. The staff is professional and very welcoming. Upon check-in, we were greeted with a glass of champagne and given a brief review of all of the resort amenities. The lobby area includes ample comfortable seating and an infinity style fountain leading your eyes out toward the pool and beach. It's all very well designed and makes for a pleasant atmosphere.

Our room was classified as a coastal view and offered views of the Gulf to the north. We were on the 5th floor and our room was just above the roof of an adjacent building and all of it's ventilation and air conditioning equipment. The noise made it undesirable to use the balcony, so the feature was somewhat wasted. We booked our trip over spring break at the last minute so we didn't have our choice of rooms, but I would recommend avoiding lower odd numbered rooms if at all possible. Overall, the room was very good. All of the features you would expect in a premier property were available and in good working order. The room felt safe and secure to us at all times.

Housekeeping was excellent. As previous reviewers have stated, simply leave the hangtag on the door indicating you'd like your room serviced and it will generally be honored in a timely fashion. That's about as much as you can ask. We tipped our housekeeper $5/day and found a different 'towel animal' in the room each time we returned.

Pool/Beach Area - one of the main reasons we chose the Sandpearl was due to its layout. It is one of the few luxury resorts in Clearwater Beach that has its pool a few steps from the beach. Many others have their pools on the 3rd or 7th floor for example. We like this feature because it allows you to easily transition between the pool and beach without having to take an elevator or go through the lobby in your swimsuit. The activities desk supplies towels, chair covers, and has beach and pool toys available to borrow.
** My only complaint about the pool area concerned the hot tubs. The number of unsupervised or very lightly supervised kids in the hot tub was unacceptable. Kids jumping into a hot tub should never be allowed, nor should kids in swim diapers. The weather wasn't perfect during our stay and the cooler air temperatures likely affected how few people were in the pool, but to use the hot tub as a surrogate is not safe for kids.

Valet - a previous poster condemned the valet. We had quite the opposite experience. Our guys (Will and Kenny of particular note) hustled and were always attentive. The $20/day parking charge was communicated to us as soon as we arrived.

The dining options on-site are good, but a touch on the pricey side. While the hotel options can serve you breakfast through dinner, you can easily find more affordable options a short walk away. Breakfast at the market (a cappuccino and a muffin) was $9 as an example. I'm used to things being pricey working in NYC, but I'd suggest a short walk outside to find a more reasonable or substantial option. The Tate Island Grill was great. Prices were reasonable and the service was great. I recommend slowing things down and enjoying a meal just before sunset on the beach. It's one of the simplest things you can do on vacation and you'll look back on it as one of the best nights you had. We didn't try Caretta on the Gulf, so I cannot comment on it.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The weather didn't cooperate, but you can't control that. We found the hotel to be clean, safe, and staff to be well-trained and attentive. If you are visiting Clearwater Beach or considering hotels on the Gulf Coast, you should consider the Sandpearl.

Room Tip: Avoid low odd numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soul_surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. In your review, you mentioned our staff being professional and very welcoming. I am happy to hear you were greeted warmly by our staff and felt safe and secure throughout your stay. It is great that a few of our valet staff made an impression and provided you with great service. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Will and Kenny. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Pulled up outside & from that moment loved it. Have always visited the beach & seen this place being built & always wanted to try this place & it did not disappoint.

Room was ready at 12pm, only had 1 large case so managed it ourselves. Felt a bit strange not having to park our car or worry about it for the next few days, only needed it to drive over to CMA. Room was lovely nice & spacious, had Keurig coffee maker with pods (which beats most places these days), 2 TV's (never used either too busy on the beach), next door sounded like they were having a party, but when my head hit the pillow it didn't bother me. Heard the live entertainment from Clearsky Cafe on fri & sat night, but again wasn't a problem & it gave it a great beach atmosphere. Enjoyed sitting on the balcony looking out to the ocean, we had a south view (pier 60), Great to wake up to. Bathroom was nice & clean large too, fresh towels as you would expect. Turn down service.

Hotel itself & grounds were beautiful & did not disappoint. Pool for us was not overcrowded just right as it was a quiet time of year to visit. Pool movies on an evening was just like being in Disney again (which we'd just left for a few days). Hot tub nice & relaxing on an evening. Never really used Tate Island Grill for food although will try next time if we have longer. Used Tate for drinks on the beach & was incorrectly charged for some beverages, hotel reception sorted this out right away unlike some places we've been to, so this wasn't an issue. We used a beach cabana for our daughter which was great for her, it blew away once or twice but again wasn't an issue no one was hurt. Seen some beautiful weddings on sunset would recommend this setting as a wedding venue.

Could not fault the staff, very friendly.

If you stay here there is pretty much everything on your doorstep. You can relax for a few days.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are cheaper & you might get a decent view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyloverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent visit to the Sandpearl Resort. I am delighted you were able to finally get a chance to stay with us after watching our property being built. From your review, it sounds as though you had a lovely beach getaway and relaxing experience poolside. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our property and friendly staff. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Clearwater.

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 98 in Clearwater
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing