We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!!”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the sand pearl and we absolututely loved it. We loved how the beach was several steps away from the pool. It is such a beautiful hotel and the rooms are awesome. They prep your beds every day and they make the room look super nice. If you are in Clearwater, you should definitely stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
Green Features: They have all recycled items such as soaps and towels
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jumpropergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay with us. I am so happy that you loved your trip to the Sandpearl Resort and that our staff could assist in creating cherished memories and comfortable accommodations for you and your family. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    518
    188
    75
    55
See reviews for
1,022
772
17
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
western US
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice. It is well decorated in the lobby area & the view is a standout. I was immediately struck by the awful, cheap uniforms that the staff was wearing. Think cleaning crew at a Disney park. I stood at the desk while checking I wondering if my room would be as cheap looking?
I found my room to be fair. It is very clean, which for me trumps many things. Especially at a beach resort. They tend to be worn out very quickly.
The staff is polite, helpful but not up to the refined atmosphere of the hotel.
Love the beach chair service & the on site activities, such as the s'mores night, paddle boarding and yoga.
I would return & gladly pay more for the amenities that the Sand Pearl offers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltounravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MO
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just began a very disappointing stay at the Sandpearl. I booked a gulf front junior suite over 6 months ago, knowing this would be a difficult time for my family and hoping for a great beach getaway to cheer us. Imagine my disappointment upon arriving at 4:00 today, to be told our room was not available. Try as we might, we could not seem to explain to Courtney at the front desk that offering a lesser room (even at a lesser price, though only offering the same AAA discount we used when booking) and 4 breakfast entrees does NOT compensate for losing our room--if we wanted the lesser room at the lesser rate, we would have booked that room 6 months ago. (Since we travel all the way from the Midwest to the beach, we book exactly the room we want.) We ended up taking the room Courtney offered, as there didn't seem to be readily available alternatives. On the positive side, the hotel seems very well maintained, and all of the other staff seems competent and helpful. Unfortunately, the whole room assignment situation has shaded our entire impression of this property.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleinMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and writing a review of your stay at the Sandpearl Resort Clearwater Beach. I appreciate it.

Please accept my sincere apology for the issue you had regarding your room type. I am not sure what exactly happened in your case but we do our absolute best to guarantee that everyone gets exactly what they expect. I am sure that Courtney did everything possible to get you in the right room type but unfortunately it was out of her control. I know how important getting what you expect is, especially when you travel as far as you did to get here.

Again, my apologies for the issue.

Regards,
Eric Waltz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The resort was very nice, very clean, in a great location. The beach was beautiful and you can walk to many amenities. The staff was polite and attentive. Nightly activities including outdoor movies and cooking s'mores. The only negative is how outrageously priced the food and drinks were.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent visit to the Sandpearl Resort. I am happy you felt the resort was clean and in a great location. We certainly are in close proximity to several shops and restaurants along Clearwater Beach. It is our pleasure to assist you and enhance your stay in any way we can while you are with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Our second trip to Clearwater and Sandpearl. The best vacation both times. There is not one thing I could or would complain about. Love everything about the Sandpearl, great pool, great beach and everyone that works there are always pleasant!! Thanks Sandpearl for another great vacation!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsrobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay with us. We are delighted your second visit to the Sandpearl Resort was one of your best vacations! It is great to hear that our staff provided memorable service during your stay and you were pleased with our pool and private beach area. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from a 3-day stay at the Sandpearl (just my husband and I). We were offered champagne upon check-in, which was a nice touch! Very friendly, very attentive staff. Lots of families with kids at the resort and there appeared to be lots of good activities for kids throughout the day as well.

Room: Gulf view. Large space, very clean, bed was comfortable, balcony a little small, but has two nice rocking chairs. Enjoyed sitting outside. Gulf view is well worth the extra money, however I would also say that most of the other rooms (unless you face the road vs the beach) would be pretty good views as well. The higher the floors, the better the views. TIP: Rooms are pretty close together, as it's a small property, so you do not have much privacy unless you shut your blinds. Please shut your blinds! Some things cannot be unseen!

Pool: We arrived on a Thursday and pool time on both Thursday and Friday was surprisingly light. Saturday was quite a bit heavier and we were lucky to get a spot. You would want to head down early to get a chair. Chairs were comfortable and they have really nice chair covers, if you ask. Service was a little slow, so we went to the bar a lot for our drinks. Good thing is the area is relatively small, so it wasn't an inconvenience. The food at Tate's was REALLY fantastic for poolside food! TIP: There is a flag on every chair. If you need service, put up your flag! We did not know that on Thursday. On Friday, one of the wait staff told us that little trick.

Beach: The resort is right on the beach, so beachfront access is convenient and the walk along the beach was great! There were plenty of chairs on the beach and I quickly found out why. A $25 umbrella charge fee.

Entertainment: Wow! So much to do right outside of the resort itself. Fun shops and really great restaurants. There is a FANTASTIC little breakfast place right next to the Sandpearl, called Clear Sky Beachside Cafe. It you have a chance, you should definitely eat breakfast there!

Which brings me to one of my only complaints about the resort. You are already charged a $25 daily resort fee (and quite frankly I'm not sure what you got with that, although they did point us to it upon check-in). This fee should include the umbrellas tied to the resort. I understand the resort is on a public beach and so perhaps they are trying to keep the public away ~ I get that, but have everyone wear wrist bands or show your room key to designate they are staying there. We also had to pay a $20 daily valet fee, so extra charges added up quickly. Heck, unless you plan on driving around a lot, you don't even need a rental car! There is so much to do within walking distance. However, we had read about this before coming to the resort, so at least it wasn't a surprise.

Overall, a very lovely, relaxing stay and I would definitely return and recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. In your review, you mentioned the food at Tate's was fantastic. I'm so happy you enjoyed our poolside dining restaurant.
During our busiest days, Fridays through Sundays, our pool staff and security monitor the pool area, ensuring guests of ours have wristbands so that the chairs and umbrellas are always available for them, rather than the public. I do apologize if you felt you were being over charged. Our resort fee includes, among other things, the beach chairs on our private beach, bike rental, and towel service at the resort pool and beach.
It is great to hear that our staff was friendly and very attentive throughout your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Sandpearl is always a pleasant experience. We have stayed many times and have never had a problem. We enjoy the location, food, and service. I personally don't have small children but I always see families at the hotel. The pool area is small for the amount of guest and seating goes fast so I recommend camping out early.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaniWood, Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that your visits to the Sandpearl Resort are always a pleasant experience and that our location, food, and service stand out to you. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Clearwater Beach.

Regards,
Lani Wood
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 98 in Clearwater
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing