We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit--still good, but a little disappointed”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Sandpearl definitely has it's perks. The hotel is in a great location in North Clearwater Beach, central to the Pier, restaurants and shops. The beach location is nice and clean. The pool is large and has a great kiddie area. Good service in most areas.

Negatives and areas we were disappointed on our second stay at Sandpearl--
1) Pool area was crowded the entire week we stayed. It was hard to find chairs by the pool. Also, it was hard to get drink service. We had to find a server each time we wanted to place an order. The servers were very friendly, perhaps the bar/restaurant by the pool was just understaffed during the busy week we stayed.

2) Our kitchen area had dried food on the counter when we arrived and had not been thoroughly cleaned. The kitchen floor was sticky and the space between the soaking tub and sink in the bathroom had a mound of sand between it that remained there during the entire length of our stay. For the most part, cleaning did a good job, but when paying the high price/night to stay in a suite, we expected everything to be immaculate.

3) Our kitchen was mostly equipped with utensils, etc, but there were only 3 each dinner plates and cereal bowls. With a family of four it was difficult to have a meal without washing plates several times to accommodate everyone. Most people probably don't eat in the room, but my son has severe food allergies and we ate every meal in, so it would've been nice to have a better stocked kitchen.

4) With the Sandpearl being a 4-5 star hotel and charging the rates/night and $25/day additional resort fees + $20/day for valet parking, you would think they would provide chairs and umbrellas on the beach to their guests. We walked down to the beach on our second day and were asked if we would like an umbrella and chairs. Then we saw the sign $25/umbrella and 2 chairs. I asked if this charge applied to guests of the hotel, and the Sandpearl employee said "Yes, or you can use the chairs over there. They are complementary to out guests." Off to the far right are several rows of lounge chairs that anyone can sit in...no umbrellas. My family and I have traveled to many beach resorts, and we have never been asked to pay additional for an umbrella and lounge chairs. I was appalled that they would have such a policy in place.

Room Tip: We had a gulf view room which was beautiful. For us, this was as good as an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank luvgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,102 - 1,108 of 2,464 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I had been here two years ago in February. Our children liked what they heard about the resort and decided that the 10 of us( 6 adults, two teens, a four year old and a two year old. All of us had a wonderful time--the pool with food service, the Tate Grill, the marvelous art, buffet breakfast on the terrace, proximity to restaurants on Mandalay, children's activities, beautiful sunsets, etc, etc, and a celebration dinner extraordinaire in the main dining room.We hope to return!!

Room Tip: A room with gulf view either on the front or facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mcnableith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I happy you decided to return again to the Sandpearl Resort with all of your children to celebrate your 50th anniversary! I am delighted to hear you had such a fantastic stay from the service at Tate Island Grill to our marvelous breakfast buffet in Caretta on the Gulf. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

A delightful , relaxing as well as fun resort ! Love the restaurant , spa and surrounding restaurants. ! Great for family or a romantic get a away ! We have visited over. 15 times over the years. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShuGirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the restaurant, spa and the neighboring restaurants. You are absolutely right! With the variety of amenities we have to offer here at the Sandpearl Resort, it makes it great for a family vacation or a romantic getaway. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I adore the Sandpearl. The Sandpearl's beautiful white beaches and gorgeous hotel are a yearly vacation spot for my family. The kids absolutely love it there. They offer lots of fun activities for the kids. We loved using the kids club while we enjoyed a parents night out. Service is top notch from the moment you drive up. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonIabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. Our Kid’s Club, Camp Ridley, was recently awarded one of the Top Ten Beach Resort Kids’ Clubs in the world by USA Today, so I am happy to hear your kids were able to enjoy camp while the parents had a night out. We are delighted you chose the Sandpearl Resort to spend your family vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As a board member for an ESPN Bowl, we stay here every June with sponsors, potential partners, friends and family. You can't beat the location and there are a ton of places to go within walking distance. It reminds me of a Ritz as far as the look and feel. Great service, and a cool place for families to hang out and relax!

Spoil yourself and get a poolside cabana.

Check out Clear Sky cafe next door for the best breakfast on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a Gulf view room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelAgentRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. It is great to hear such kind words from your previous stays. I am happy you were able to enjoy one of our poolside cabanas as they are truly relaxing and one of a kind. We are delighted to be your hotel of choice for your conference in June. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel due to beach location, what a place!!! Your own beach, sun loungers, waiter service to your lounger. Couldn't ask for more. Great restaurants in hotel and room with a view!!! Only beach to go to in clearwater!!Will be back!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Spinxxx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. We are truly lucky to be located on such a beautiful beach, and I am delighted to hear you were able to enjoy the wonderful amenities we have to offer. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Sandpearl far exceeded our expectations! We were in Clearwater for a brief stay in December. What a fabulous choice it was. The hotel and room were wonderful, the staff friendly and accomodating, and the poolside service was the perfect touch to feel as though you were being pampered. We look forward to a longer stay this year!

Room Tip: Ocean view! It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 123NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am so delighted to hear our staff was friendly and accommodating throughout your stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you return to us on your next visit to Clearwater Beach!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £176 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing