We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
550 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one evening at the Sandpearl. The Resort is beautiful & the service was impeccable. On arrival you are greeted with champagne. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Presidential Suite. We were amazed by the spaciousness & beauty of the room. The suite has a full kitchen, great room area with beautiful furnishings, dining room table, & a half bath. Every room including the master bedroom has floor to ceiling views of the pool & beach from a large balcony with rocking chairs & chaise lounges. The separate master bedroom & bath are equally spacious & comfortable. The jetted tub is a nice touch. The Resort is large & offers many things to enjoy. They have a spa/fitness, large pool with plenty of chaise lounges, outdoor bar/cafe, beach chairs/umbrellas & towels which are included in the daily resort fee. There is also a shop for incidentals, Starbucks cafe & a fine dining restaurant. Concierge can reserve many fun water excursions. We enjoyed the sunrise yoga class & kayaking. The hotel is valet only at $20 day but operates efficiently. The Sandpearl location is in walking distance of shops, restaurants, & the pier.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sandpearl Resort. I am glad you were able to see all the amenities we have to offer from the Spa and fitness center to our restaurants and kayaking tour. We truly appreciate the positive feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,535
    519
    188
    75
    55
See reviews for
1,024
772
17
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My husband booked a 4 day, 3 night package. The hotel is lovely! The staff is a mix bag of nice people, and not so nice people but for the most part, the staff was genuinely nice. We stayed in a King gulf view room and it was wonderful. The ocean view is fantastic!
There is a daily resort fee but, it does include daily bottles of water, turn down service with chocolates, beach chairs, and beach towels for when you go to the beach. There is valet parking only.
The spa staff if nice and the amenities are great! I did a tapas style spa package that included a massage, facial, mani/pedi. I do not recommend this package- the mani/pedi was not good. My husband had a deep tissue massage, and facial and said it was worth the money. We did not try the restaurants on the property. Overall, it's a great place and we will be back again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank evilbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sandpearl Resort. I apologize that some of our staff members you encountered were not providing service that was up to our standards. I am also sorry to hear that the services you received from the Spa were not to your liking. On your next visit please make sure to experience Tate Island Grill or Caretta on the Gulf for an incredible meal! We appreciate the kind words and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Upon our arrival at the Sandpearl we were advised that we had been “upgraded” to a Junior Suite with a view of the gulf. We are not fussy, so no problem giving up our King bed in exchange for a better view. However, if you are considering booking the “Junior Suite” you should know that it was a two queen room, with a small sofa and two televisions less than 6 feet apart on the same wall (?). The room reminded me very much of a room in a deluxe Disney resort not a luxury hotel. The second odd thing about our “suite” was the shutters between the toilet/shower/tub area and the sleeping area which effectively removed any privacy at all for the toilet area! This arrangement may not be appropriate for some families. There were a couple of maintenance issues as well, the hall carpet needs cleaned and the bathroom door did not close because the top hinge had pulled away from the frame. We didn’t bother to report it because there was no bathroom privacy anyway so it didn’t matter.
The Sandpearl also claims to be secluded. Not so much. The area directly in front of the hotel is less crowded, but there is a very popular restaurant right next door with public beach access and numerous volleyball nets. They were actually having a tournament on one of the days that we were there. Numerous restaurants, the pier and the marina are all within easy walking distance which is a plus in our opinion.
We had read reviews complaining about people saving chairs that they were not using around the pool and we did see this happen, however the staff was very vigilant about watching out for that type of thing and removing towels from unused chairs. Also complaints about valet parking are unfounded since this is an island with a limited amount of space so there is really no space for a large parking lot and I know that vehicles have to be double parked in the garage at least some of the time. Head to New York City and you will pay at least three times that amount to park near your hotel.
All of that said, we would stay here again if we could get a decent rate. The water was warm, the atmosphere relaxing and the view spectacular. Every member of the staff that we encountered was friendly and helpful. We also appreciated the turndown service which included freshening up the bathroom in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a detailed description or pictures of the room you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the upgraded view, however I apologize the layout of the Junior Suite was not up to your standard. Our Gulf Front Junior Suites are slightly larger than our traditional rooms which tend to give a more spacious feel. Please also accept my apologies for the bathroom door not closing properly and the cleanliness of the carpet. Both of these items have been brought to the attention of our Engineering and Housekeeping departments so they can repair them for future stays. I am delighted that you found the water warm, atmosphere relaxing, and our staff friendly and helpful. We truly appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Having had 10 days in Orlando doing the Disney parks was really looking fwd to 5 days of chillin on the beach.

Yes it's pricey, you pay for sunbeds/umbrellas on the beach (even though private area for hotel guests) & no sunbeds around small pool, there are lots of positives and there is no doubt this is a classy hotel so you get what you pay for.

Had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mario m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. It is great to hear you were able to relax for a few days at the Sandpearl Resort after enjoying the Orlando theme parks. I apologize you were unable to find a sunbed around the pool. We do charge for the umbrellas and cabanas on the beach; however, the chairs around the pool area as well as our private beach area are included in the Resort Fee. Thank you again for the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMPA, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Living in the Tampa area I can go head to the beach almost any weekend I choose. However, it's not often I stay at the beach. My daughter and I spent two night in July at this resort and loved it. We even got a great rate as Florida residence staying on Sunday-Thursday. From the moment we arrived at the valet parking we felt welcome and special. We even got a glass of mimosa when we checked in!!! and our room was ready even though we had arrived early. Our room was a gulf view with a balcony with an amazing view of the gulf. Everyone at the resort was friendly and accommodating. They even had cell phone chargers at Tates the beach side bar/restaurant for guest to use!! I will surely return!! The only thing I would change is that all chairs and umbrellas on the beach should be free!! They charge you $25 per day to rent them. There were a few free chairs but they don't come with umbrellas and believe me in the heat of the summer you will want some shade.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony was great but I know we could have gotten a nice room on the bay side with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRREMOTECONTROLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am so happy you were able to enjoy a relaxing getaway from Tampa. We pride ourselves on the service we give to our guests, and I am delighted to hear you were able to feel special from the moment you arrived. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Agree with Luvgreece. We were also appalled that umbrellas on the beach would be an add on charge. "Complementary" beach chairs are available because you pay a $25 per day resort charge. That is NOT complimentary.
No shaded chairs around pool if you aren't down to claim a chair by breakfast but most all chairs and shade go unused with just towels holding places.

That said, resort is very nice and folks friendly. Out 2 bed room reserved 7 months in advance was not available and kids slept on floor and in roll away. Changing room mid stay was option but would mean checking out by 11 with no access to room or stuff until 4 and would have essentially meant loosing a day. Kids chose to stay on floor.

No compensation offered for this inconvenience other than "upgrade" to this room (partial view) on check in before we realized it only had 1 bed. This was NOT mentioned at checkin and no apology or explanation offered

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drdibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sandpearl Resort.

Please accept my apology for the issues you had regarding your room type. We put much effort into making sure that the guests receive the correct room type. I am not sure what happened in your situation. My apologies.

Regarding the umbrellas on the beach and the charge associated with them. We do charge $25 to rent an umbrella on the beach and two chairs are included. The reason for the charge is to make sure that other guests do not occupy both pool and beach umbrellas and possibly use neither. Previously we had issues with people claiming both and the availability of chairs was more limited. There are chairs without umbrellas on the beach that are included in the Resort Fee.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate it.

Regards,
Eric Waltz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We've just spent the most relaxed, luxurious 5 days at this gorgeous resort hotel. Spacious, comfortable rooms with top class bathroom products and coffee machine. A beautiful pool area with waiter service( You must try the ' Blue Pearl' signature cocktail by the pool near sunset.) Hammocks on the white powdery beach and a sunset to die for. The Sand Pearl has it all and more! Fantastic service and luxury surroundings, you won't be disappointed and I'm sure, like me, you'll be counting the days until you can return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MollG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear the room was spacious and comfortable for your 5 day stay with us. We are happy to provide top class products in the rooms as well as the resort for our guests. Your kind words on the service you received here at the Sandpearl Resort are very much appreciated. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 98 in Clearwater
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 98 in Clearwater
4,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing