We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prefect Classy Family Resort”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here for a Labor Day Weekend "Staycation" coming over from Tampa, and we will without a doubt come back. To me, when it comes to upscale beach resorts, the differences are always in the small details. The view is always going to be great, but what does the resort do to make things special for the whole family? This resort excels at the small details. It's outstanding. Pricey for sure, but a prefect family resort with a whole lot of elegance and class.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your most recent stay with us. We are happy you chose the Sandpearl Resort for your staycation from Tampa! Our resort certainly offers amenities to make it a great destination for a family vacation or a romantic getaway. We strive to provide five diamond services to every guest and exercise that in the small details. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for another staycation!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,099 - 1,105 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Second visit to sand pearl two days in, knock on our balcony door five floors up, by a workman on a cherry picker who had my wife's bikini in his hand who told us not to use the balcony as works were to be done went to front desk who were unhelpful we had to request another room which overlook the landscaping works being carried out to the pool nobody had been notified of any works until a board was erected in the foyer the sound of machinery was off putting when trying to relax around the pool

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Sandpearl.

Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced while a guest with us. During the time you were here was one of the slower periods for us and we need to take those opportunities to keep our resort as pristine as possible. We did indeed have several maintenance projects occurring during that time which included the exterior painting of our building as well as refurbishing the small lawn by our pool. Again, my apologies for the disturbances.

Regards,
Eric Waltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic 2 nights at the resort. Right on Clearwater beach and within easy walking distance of lots of restaurants, shops and local activities - particularly nice in the US where most locations involve driving. The hotel was stunning. Only slight let down was that our room was a bit noisy but this was not a major issue. Clear Sky cafe across the road does a fantastic breakfast if you haven't got it included in your room package.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you had a fantastic two nights with us and were able to enjoy the great restaurants and shops that are just a walk away. We certainly are fortunate to be located in beautiful Clearwater Beach with many local activities to do. Next time you are at the Sandpearl Resort, make sure to stop by Tate Island Grill or Caretta on the Gulf for a delicious meal. We truly appreciate the kind words and positive feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We booked the sunset room facing the gulf. The room was huge with a full kitchen, dining, living room, separate bed and large bath with with jetted tub, walk in shower and washer and dryer. We had 2 balconies that faced the gulf with full view of sunsets over the water. The room was beautiful but very pricy. The staff was excellent and the hotel had everything you needed including a beautiful pool, 2 restaurants, activities for the kids, and a full spa. It's right on the beach with plenty of lounges for everyone. I would have given it 5 stars except the room was not as clean as it should have been, bird feces on deck, and maid forgot to leave tissue twice, dirty dishes on checking. It was a very upscale place and all was excellent but the room cleanliness. Also, pay attention to the 25.00 additional fees for incidentals like bottle water, beach towels, chairs, free internet etc.

Room Tip: If you can bear the price, book facing the gulf with a balcony. If not the cheaper rooms face the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am glad you found your gulf view suite spacious and beautiful, and were able to enjoy the beautiful Clearwater Beach sunsets from your balcony. However, I am very sorry to hear the cleanliness of your room was not up to our standards. We do have many amenities on our property and I am happy to hear you were able to utilize them while receiving excellent service from our staff. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is become our one of the favorite places that we love to go. This is was our second stay at Sandpearl and it was 5 star as our previous one. Everything about the hotel is excellent - location - directly on the beach. Beach is not crowded at all and it is one of the best beaches in US - with white powdery sand. Service is also excellent. We have no issues with our stay.
Hotel, or I should call it a resort, is next to many very good restaurants. One is just across the street - Clear Sky cafe. It is a beach cafe, but the food is very very good and is not typical junky food you find in beach cafes.. Breakfast there is also excellent.
I can not find any cons in our stay and we are very picky people. Perhaps, they could do a little more to recognize iprefer membership which is this hotel is part of. We did not get an upgrade -as one of the perks of the membership, as the we were told that hotel is full. It was not, as there were many rooms available online for the same dates. But thats ok, perhaps one day we will be lucky to get ocean front room as we definitely planning to return next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dimka448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am so happy you returned to the Sandpearl Resort for another five star stay. I am glad to hear the service you received was excellent, as it is our goal to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful visit. We are proud to be a part of the iPrefer Hotel Group and want to thank you for being an iPrefer member with us. We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back next summer!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Five girls and I came here for a bachelorette party weekend. We stayed in connected room. After parking our car for valet, the outstanding customer service started. Everyone was so helpful and accommodating (and we haven't stepped foot inside yet). When we got to the check out desk, we were asked if we would like champagne, mimosa or something that was non-alcoholic. Of course we went with the champagne themed drinks. The lobby is spectacular; it was decorated with great taste. Have you ever noticed that some homes in Florida look the same, as if the same decorator went to the same store to get the same items? Not this decorator. This was lobby was garnished with a beautiful design. Enough about the lobby and onto the rooms. We appreciated the lock on the mini-bar fridge and the additional mini-fridge for our brought beverages (points for a bottle opener to use). The closet was spacious and came with two robes. Our beds were extra comfy. The bathrooms were a fine space (enough for three girls to get ready). Cotton balls, floss and q tips were provided. Something I always worry about with hotel rooms: hairdryers. The one provided in the bathroom had enough power to my liking. Since the resort is green, the AC turned off when our balcony door opened. The best thing about the door was that it was sound eliminating along with dark curtains. Free wifi is a definite plus. After turn down service, expect shell-shaped chocolate and tomorrow's forecast!

The outdoor area was paradise. One of the main reasons we booked Sandpearl was because we were able to drink around and in the pool. There were always servers coming around asking if we wanted to order anything (but not in a pushy way). We took advantage of the provided water (loved that it was infused with different fruits each day). Make sure you get your daily wristband: security does not mess around! We would have appreciated an indoor shower, but beggars can't be choosers, right? We didn't take advantage of the nightly smores on the beach (btw - you have to buy the smores kit at the activities desk or you can buy your own supplies). The beach area was unbelievable with the white sands and yellow chairs! The free wifi extended to the beach was SOOO convenient (and appreciated). If you're into water activities, there is a business right on the resort for parasailing and jet skis.

Overall, we enjoyed our experience and I highly recommend staying here. The staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful. This place is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you ladies had a wonderful bachelorette weekend at the Sandpearl Resort from the champagne upon check in to our pool and private beach area. We certainly strive to provide the best customer service to our guests and I am so happy to hear that is exactly what you received throughout your stay. We truly appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 3 nights in a 1 bed mandalay suite with our 2 daughters. We had a lovely welcome on arrival with buckets for the girls and champagne for us. Our room had a lovely view over the bay & was spacious. However it lacked enough rails/hooks to hang towels to dry.
We are in Tates a number of times and enjoyed the food, the girls loved making s'mores and the dive in movie. However they were disappointed that they never received the chocolates as part of the evening turn down service, despite a phone call to guest services. It's a little thing, but important to a 6 year old. Also leaving only 2 500ml bottles of water for the resort fee for a family of 4 seemed a bit silly.
The main disappointment was the pool. It's far too small for the hotel, it was very crowded and dirty. Sunbeds had to be claimed by 9am otherwise there was no chance and the sunbeds are very crammed in, I don't like lying right next to a stranger.
Apart from that we had a great time, but we wouldn't return due to the chaotic pool area.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank SarahG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your most recent stay with us. I am happy to hear you had a lovely welcome to the resort followed by champagne and buckets for your daughters. It is wonderful to hear your family enjoyed dining at Tate Island Grill and you were able to experience a night of S’more’s and our Dive in Movie. I do apologize the chocolate was missed during our nightly turndown service, especially after you had called to request some. We certainly appreciate the kind words and do hope you will give us another chance to win you back in the future.

Regards,

Molly Mattox
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 98 in Clearwater
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £183 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing