We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Me and My Significant Other stayed at The Sandpearl May 14-17 2009.
I have to say the hotel is Fabulous! The Room, Grounds, Staff were incredible.
There is a "Fire Pit" right of the Beach that the holet lights every night. The Sunsets
are incredible too. Please ignore any Bad Reviews.......This place is Awesome!
I normally stay at 5 Star resorts (Ritz & Four seasons) and i enjoyed this More.
Great Service and Up-to-date modern Decor.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drcook1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,225 - 2,231 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2009

If you're wondering where you should stay in Clearwater Beach... This hotel was perfect! Decorated beautifully and all views are gorgeous. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Beach is pristine. We enjoyed every minute of it, and we were there when it was cloudy and rainy!! Doesn't matter it was still great! We ate at local hangouts: Frenchies (lunches), Clearwater Sky (great food! 3-7 Happy Hour and half price foods... can't beat it! Great breakfast too!), Mandalay Grill (crabcakes!) and Crabbie Bill's) great seafood! Relaxed on the beach in the hotel chairs and watched the sunset view and dolphins swim by. Found the most beautiful shells I have ever seen (and I grew up in Fla!). Lots to do in walking distance. I would highly recommend it, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasChanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Pros: The hotel was beautiful! We joined “I PREFER” right before we went and it was definitely worth it- we showed our card at check-in and was up-graded to a Jr. suite with corner view (pool and ocean!) I would want this exact room again! Had a refrigerator, which was great to bring back left-overs. Lovely large bathroom with deep tub and separate shower. Room was spacious and beautifully furnished. The best place to eat was the bar area by the pool- we liked the fire-pit at night.

Cons: The bed linens were not worthy of such a nice hotel- VERY thin and scratchy (like paper); they were not comfortable. The spa was very pricy and breakfast was expensive at the restaurant. My huband felt like the private area of the beach was small, expensive chairs to rent, with no water sports located nearby.

I would definitely recommend this hotel- especially for families who would like do drive to Disney World for a few days, then end with a trip to the beach at this lovely resort!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBJ486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights beginning of May, arrived on a Sunday and it was packed with weekenders, Concierge said that we would not get a sunbed if we went to the pool as was very busy! Hotel was at full capacity, but thankfully Monday morning came and it was alot quieter!
The rooms were ok, balcony very small and no chairs to sit out looking at the view ( we did have a bayside room) bathrooms small with a curved shower curtain so the water went everywhere and the towel rail kept falling off.
We had a tired toddler who wanted to go to bed, so tried to order room service, but was told our choices were no longer on the menu which was in the room as it was out of date, so ended up ordering an omelette as had little choice to offer! They had not updated the new room service menus in the room!
Another evening we had a mediocre meal in the Tate Grill, the food arrived cold, so we told the waitress who was apologetic and she did another order which was fine only we had to wait much longer which isn't fun after we'd already waited first time round, and our little boy was very hungry.
The biggest niggle was that we had been buying drinks by the pool which you get from the Tate Grill, for three days we had bought numerous drinks, then on our last day when my husband went to get a drink, the bartender said remember to come back for your free refill! No one had mentioned this until the end of our holiday! As we had put some of the drinks on the room when we came to check out we mentioned about this but the receptionist was very snooty and said that the Tate Grill was run seperately to the hotel and there was nothing she could do-Rubbish as the Tate grill is part of the hotel and you can charge food and drinks to your room which surely wouldn't happen if it was run independently. We pursued it and a Manager came and waivered the drinks bill. This might seem abit petty but when the drinks are pricey any refill is greatly appreciated!
On a positive we had a wonderful meal in the Caretta restaurant, the staff were very friendly and the food was fantastic, the views of the sunset amazing.
In total for four nights we had a good time regardless of our moans, we weren't crazy about the location as the road where the hotel is has alot of tacky bars and souvenier shops however if all you want to do is chill by a pool and go on the beach then this hotel is fine. Also the Spa staff and Activities desk staff by the pool were very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deltagirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We just returned from staying at the Sandpearl Resort for 2 nights for a wedding held at the hotel. My overall impression was favorable. The building is new. The staff is young and friendly. One of the staffers told us that they are trying to work on a 5 star rating.
Here where they need improvement. 1. The food served at the wedding was mediocre at best. What a shame! The restaurant serves a great breakfast! The food, at dinner,
was not very palatable. Very disappointing. 2. The configuration of the bathroom is downright goofy. What is with the doors? We stayed in the Junior Suite and the sinks are in the same room as the toilet/shower. This only allows one person at a time to use the
bathroom. We are a close family but that stretches the limit of our "closeness." 3. The towels in the rooms and at the pool are inadequate. An upscale place shouldn't give out
Wal-Mart type towels. They should be lush and soft. 4. The pool should be open either 24 hours or until midnight not 10. I asked why it closed at 10 pm and was told because of noise and drinking. That is just plain stupid.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank achicagofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Sandpearl. The resort was wonderful, the staff was attentive and the views were incredible. We enjoyed every aspect of the resort, from the cabana service and casual lunchs to the upscale dining at Caretta. We also enjoyed sitting on the patio with a glass of wine watching the sunset. The resort was extremely crowded on Saturday but there was plenty of places to escape for some alone time. Our only complaint was that the bed was hard and uncomfortable. We will definately head back but maybe during the week to avoid the crowds on Saturday.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Badger2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Sandpearl, and I have to say we were disappointed. Although the resort itself is beautiful, some of the staff were downright snobby. However, the valets were exceptional; very friendly. In addition, there was mildew in the shower and some of the bath towels were frayed. In this economy, an upscale hotel, such as the Sandpearl, needs to pay attention to detail and ensure friendly customer service, showers free of mildew, and towels in good condition. I don't think that it is too much to expect.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarlaWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#4 of 98 in Clearwater
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £184 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing