We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, great and more great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maryland
2 reviews
“Great, great and more great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

My family and I just returned from Sandpearl and we had the best vacation ever. The service was outstanding and our room was extremely clean. We had no issues at all. E-mail me if you have specific questions and I will be glad to help you out.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRidgell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    493
    179
    72
    45
See reviews for
964
742
16
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
run23jag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed at the Sand Pearl for four nights in mid May as a last minute replacement for a trip to Playa Del Carmen. Check-in took twenty minutes due the to the guy checking us in not having the right password for the computer. I was actually in disbelief at how long it took him to get this fixed. Tried not to make it a huge deal, but annoying none the less. I was a lot more upset however when the housekeeper mistook a shopping bag as trash and threw it away, It had my wife's 40th birthday present in it. I contacted the front desk right away. There was a lot of "pass the buck" going on. We spoke to numerous people and the follow through from the management was a joke. I was finally told to buy another on and send them the reciept for reimbursement, no offer for anything other than that. The beach was perfect, except for the fact that despite paying premium prices for this hotel, beach umbrellas are $25 a day....come on already! The pool looked nice but I didn't spend anytime there due to the fact that there were not enough chairs and the pool was PACKED with little kids. We did eat at Tate's one day for lunch, food was okay but the service was slow. I don't mind a little slow, the view is great, as was my company, but it took 48 minutes to get a grouper sandwich and a salad....that's a little long for me. Overall, the hotel looks great, but the bad service, ordinary rooms, and charging for beach umbrellas don't justify their prices. Everyone there should take a lesson or two from the guys at the vallet, they were great!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank run23jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Perfect stay at the Sandpearl May 14 through May 17! We had a wonderful corner room, gulf front jr. suite. Two big wondows, 1 overlooking the beach and the other looking over the pool. Valet went above & beyond! Tanya Clark, our wedding coordinator did great! Check in, with champagne, went quick and smooth - staff very sweet! The pool was perfect with very responsive bar service, frozen grapes, plenty of chairs and towels and yummy chicken quesdillas! Dennis was our favorite pool bartender!!!!!!!!!!! He even got to bartend at our wedding and did a fabulous job! I could go on and on, but as I said before, PERFECT is the best way to describe our stay and the resort!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather6081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Me and My Significant Other stayed at The Sandpearl May 14-17 2009.
I have to say the hotel is Fabulous! The Room, Grounds, Staff were incredible.
There is a "Fire Pit" right of the Beach that the holet lights every night. The Sunsets
are incredible too. Please ignore any Bad Reviews.......This place is Awesome!
I normally stay at 5 Star resorts (Ritz & Four seasons) and i enjoyed this More.
Great Service and Up-to-date modern Decor.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drcook1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

If you're wondering where you should stay in Clearwater Beach... This hotel was perfect! Decorated beautifully and all views are gorgeous. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Beach is pristine. We enjoyed every minute of it, and we were there when it was cloudy and rainy!! Doesn't matter it was still great! We ate at local hangouts: Frenchies (lunches), Clearwater Sky (great food! 3-7 Happy Hour and half price foods... can't beat it! Great breakfast too!), Mandalay Grill (crabcakes!) and Crabbie Bill's) great seafood! Relaxed on the beach in the hotel chairs and watched the sunset view and dolphins swim by. Found the most beautiful shells I have ever seen (and I grew up in Fla!). Lots to do in walking distance. I would highly recommend it, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasChanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

Pros: The hotel was beautiful! We joined “I PREFER” right before we went and it was definitely worth it- we showed our card at check-in and was up-graded to a Jr. suite with corner view (pool and ocean!) I would want this exact room again! Had a refrigerator, which was great to bring back left-overs. Lovely large bathroom with deep tub and separate shower. Room was spacious and beautifully furnished. The best place to eat was the bar area by the pool- we liked the fire-pit at night.

Cons: The bed linens were not worthy of such a nice hotel- VERY thin and scratchy (like paper); they were not comfortable. The spa was very pricy and breakfast was expensive at the restaurant. My huband felt like the private area of the beach was small, expensive chairs to rent, with no water sports located nearby.

I would definitely recommend this hotel- especially for families who would like do drive to Disney World for a few days, then end with a trip to the beach at this lovely resort!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBJ486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights beginning of May, arrived on a Sunday and it was packed with weekenders, Concierge said that we would not get a sunbed if we went to the pool as was very busy! Hotel was at full capacity, but thankfully Monday morning came and it was alot quieter!
The rooms were ok, balcony very small and no chairs to sit out looking at the view ( we did have a bayside room) bathrooms small with a curved shower curtain so the water went everywhere and the towel rail kept falling off.
We had a tired toddler who wanted to go to bed, so tried to order room service, but was told our choices were no longer on the menu which was in the room as it was out of date, so ended up ordering an omelette as had little choice to offer! They had not updated the new room service menus in the room!
Another evening we had a mediocre meal in the Tate Grill, the food arrived cold, so we told the waitress who was apologetic and she did another order which was fine only we had to wait much longer which isn't fun after we'd already waited first time round, and our little boy was very hungry.
The biggest niggle was that we had been buying drinks by the pool which you get from the Tate Grill, for three days we had bought numerous drinks, then on our last day when my husband went to get a drink, the bartender said remember to come back for your free refill! No one had mentioned this until the end of our holiday! As we had put some of the drinks on the room when we came to check out we mentioned about this but the receptionist was very snooty and said that the Tate Grill was run seperately to the hotel and there was nothing she could do-Rubbish as the Tate grill is part of the hotel and you can charge food and drinks to your room which surely wouldn't happen if it was run independently. We pursued it and a Manager came and waivered the drinks bill. This might seem abit petty but when the drinks are pricey any refill is greatly appreciated!
On a positive we had a wonderful meal in the Caretta restaurant, the staff were very friendly and the food was fantastic, the views of the sunset amazing.
In total for four nights we had a good time regardless of our moans, we weren't crazy about the location as the road where the hotel is has alot of tacky bars and souvenier shops however if all you want to do is chill by a pool and go on the beach then this hotel is fine. Also the Spa staff and Activities desk staff by the pool were very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltagirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#10 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#24 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shephard's Beach Resort
Shephard's Beach Resort
#15 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Property: Sandpearl Resort
Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#2 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater
Sandpearl Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing