We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INexpen$ive, Beachfront, NO internet, Great Value for $$”
Review of Beachview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachview Hotel
Ranked #52 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Spring Break 2011 (Mar20-26)

Given the rates, we got what we paid for. The rooms are indeed dated, the carpet horrifically stained (we did not take our shoes off), and the quality of amenities lacking BUT, the views were priceless, our sheets were clean, and the towels -- despite their small size and limited number -- were noticeably soft.

Specifics: WiFi is a joke, sporadic at best (If you must stay connected, bring an air card); Continental "breakfast" consists of coffee (packet cream & sugar only), most everything is pre-wrapped vending quality, and oranges. There is no juice, yogurt or other [fresh] fruit available. Our “equipped” efficiency was not, having only styro coffee cups, one pot, and a toaster; no cooking utensils, incomplete dishes & silverware – not certain how other rooms compared. Water was hot, pressure was good, grout in the shower was total mold – not surprising in such an old building – but gross nonetheless. Lack of screens on windows and doors.
While the pool was out of commission for 3 days of our stay, we felt it was beyond management’s control with a facility of this age; they were apologetic and did work to rectify it quickly. But hey, the BEACH was right across the street!

NOTE: Spring break lasts 6 wks in Florida, due to college schedules & should be taken into account whenever reserving beachfront properties, since management cannot control street noise. They do not tolerate out of control guests and, there were several removed during our stay. Busy time for Clearwater police, to say the least!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vawb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

A veranda overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, right across the street from the beach, plus a junior suite with a kitchenette -- all for under $100! Not luxury accommodations, but definitely doable, and a terrific deal. Room was clean; only thing questionable was the carpet. Staff were very helpful. Right next door is a surf shop with groceries in the back; restaurants and a McDonalds for morning coffee were a few steps away. Anyplace else, you'd pay a lot more for a guaranteed view of the Gulf. Good experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite; it's only marginally more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

In most hotels around this area you have a min 2-3 night stay, but not at this one (at least in Sept). Rooms are a little small, but very clean and updated! Service at the desk was very nice by a young gentleman. You can easily walk to the beach (which most hotels around here are not directly on top of the beach). Great thing is there is a McDonalds on the other side about two buildings down facing the beach (great for the kiddos). Nice, just a really nice place. They only have one large pool, but it has a great view of the beach because it is on the second floor, but too deep for very little ones!! I would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowekm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I ended up at the Beachview Inn because it was the only place that wasn't booked last minute on a Saturday. The location is great because it is directly across the street from the beach and pier area in Clearwater. However, my room was absolutely disgusting. The sheets smelled dirty and looked kind of wrinkled, but I thought maybe it was because it was a dated hotel on the beach. Being a Floridian I know that humidity makes rooms smell weird sometimes. It looked like the imprint of a person on the bed, but I went ahead and gave them the benefit of the doubt that nobody would be that freaking gross. Especially, because the maid had left an envelope wanting me to tip her. When I was packing up to leave, we went to grab what we thought was our clothes and it turned out to be somebody else's dirty underwear. I went to the desk and told them that my sheets were dirty and there was somebody's underwear in my room. The maid was standing right there and admitted she hadn't cleaned the room. All I got was a "yeah", not even an apology. The lady at the desk was of no help, so naturually - I went on their facebook account where people HAVE to pay attention to you and they deleted my comment. I understands mistakes happen, ie the underwear. But to not even apologize and to not clean the sheets between occupants is just flat out disgusting.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank orangeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We've stayed at the Beachview several times over the past few years. We come back because it's got a great beach access and view, a pool, accessible to most places on the main strip, decent parking, helpful staff, serviceable kitchenette, and clean/comfy beds. If you want to spend more, there are other places to go. If you want excellent value for dollar, this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffzx9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

If you want an affordable hotel this is the one! This is my 4th year with my family of four from canada and we love it! They have renovated the rooms, the pool area and elevator. The kitchen is big enough to cook we requested a big fridge and it was sent up to our room within 1 hour! Location is the best and front desk are very sweet and nice! My son had fever and needed a clinic they went out of their way to provide me with a list ! No Internet in the room, not much parking after 8:00 pm we needed to park a block away from the hotel! Was a little disappointed with the rates when we called in May the front desk was telling us $149 a night when we got to the hotel without reservation they told us $129/night instead! We go every year and we will be back
next year if the price is right!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The check in was smooth, but the ladies at the desk were not helpful at all on any of our questions. The view was awesome! The pool was nice, and we had a pool view which also faced the ocean. But on our 3rd night a group of kids were screaming and making a lot of noise at the pool for over an hour. We called the front desk to have it stopped and it seemed to after about 10 minutes.
The room was clean, no problems there. The walls are paper thin, and the first 2 nights we had to listen to the couple next to us argue all night long.
They said free breakfast from 7:00-9:00 I think it was. So the first morning we woke up at 8:15 and everything was gone. They said they only get a certain amount of food out of the freezer the night before and when it is gone, it is gone.
Best of all, the view and how it is close to the Pier and everything else!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view! It is just a beautiful site!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alybubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Hotel

Address: 325 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2445 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £118 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beachview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Hotel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing