We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachview Hotel
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Clearwater
Weaver, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

My husband and I traveled with our 3 children (14,10,& 1) for 10 hours to get there. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. One recommendation to the owner would be to reconsider the "safe fees". There's no reason I can see why they can't keep the safe keys at the front desk & only charge those who request a key for the safe in their room. A $1.07 a day isn't much but after a week that's a kids meal for one of my kids. Also, the cleaning staff should pay attention to the rooms they clean. If they take 6 bath towels out that should be a hint that they should need to leave 6 towels. It got tiring asking for 2 extra towels everyday. Other than that it was a very pleasant week. The suite we stayed in had plenty of room even for the portable crib we brought with us. And being able to walk across the street to the beach was not only convenient but economical as well since parking is free. My husband was able to bring the baby back for her afternoon nap while the older kids & I stayed at the beach. The kitchenette was a life saver for dinners, snacks, & cold drinks.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhunter1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    163
    93
    47
    53
See reviews for
196
148
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Our Family had a fabulous time. The rooms are clean and the pool area is great. The ocean is right across the street and there are many good restaurants to walk to. We were able to have a fantastic week without getting into the car even once. It's not a luxury hotel but it is clean and nice and very affordable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyLuckyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

My husband, I and our 12 yr old daughter stayed here March 28-Apr 2, 2010. The Beachview Inn is ideally situated in the heart of all beach activities, easy walking distance to many restaurants, shopping and entertainment. If you are a family on a budget, this is a great value. Our room afforded us awesome views of both the sunrise over the bay and the breathtaking sunsets over the gulf each evening from our own balcony. The room was spacious and included a bedroom, large "changing area", tiny bathroom and a seating area with a pull-out sofa sleeper, 2nd tv, microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker, toaster and even some dishes and utensils. The rate included free parking and continental breakfast.

This is NOT a property for everyone....it is old and shows signs of wear and poor maintenance, you have to be able to put up with that or you can stay at the brand-new Hyatt just a few doors down and pay 3x the prices. Our maid service was very lacking -- no service at all for 2 days, we had to ask the front desk to bring up clean towels and toilet tissue for the room. Again, something that didn't bother us or ruin the trip, but certainly if you are not willing to put up with things not being perfect, there are more expensive places to stay.

That is the only negative thing I have to say (except the hair dryer in the room did not work, either), the room was well appointed and exceeded our expections as far as equipment and views. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, though we really didn't require their service much.

Be sure to stop by Brit's next door - it's a great beach restaurant offering a wide variety on their menu and the food was very good. We went their twice during our stay, one time the service was great, the 2nd time we had quite a long wait for our food and then were brought the wrong check but the waitress was very friendy and sincerely apologized. There is a McDonald's next door, and a lots of other dining options within walking distance. We also picked up a pizza one night to eat in the room from the place behind the hotel which was very good, but I can't remember the name? The front desk recommended it and we were not disappointed.

We loved our stay in Clearwater and will definitely go back and stay at the Beachview Inn, if you can overlook some minor issues you will find this to be a great value and a great location.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wauchula
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

I met a friend that had booked the room, she had lost her cell phone therefore the front desk knew I was coming to get the other room key if she was still out at supper and when I arrived we met outside of the room and went on about our Spring Break weekend. I never went to front office to pick up extra key and needless to say my truck was towed. There are NO signs or warnings and the hotel mgr stated they have a contract with these ppl there is NOTHING they can do? This hotel is not very clean and in much need of being updated especially after all the tow $ they recieve.....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

It served our purpose of being close to the beach. It's a typical old school hotel that has been updated. The views of the beach and bay were beautiful. Our room was underfurnished, and were told that they sometimes take things out to fill in other rooms. Keep in mind that it was Spring Break week. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable and suprisingly quiet.
The ONLY complaint was the front desk was severely understaffed. The hotel has a complimentary breakfast w/ signs posted everywhere of DINE IN ONLY - NO TAKE OUT. Here's the problem: the breakfast room only had 4- 5 tables of 4 and food kept running out. Noone was in there to keep the food stocked. The front desk clerk had to be asked to come replenish the food every 15 minutes or so... They were swamped ,and an extra hand in the breakfast room would have solved the situation.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3BoysMomSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

Beachview Inn was as described. Our room was clean and much roomier then I expected. Comfortable bed with nice sofa and table with 2 chairs. Staff was always friendly and helpful at the front desk whenever I stopped in with questions needing information on area. Our room afforded us a view of the pool and gulf. It was too cold to use the pool, but the facility looked excellent, very clean with many chairs around the pool. If we are back in Clearwater, we will definitely check into Beachview Inn. Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdcartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

When my family and I go on vacation we have a modest budget so we do not look for elegant places but we definately want a clean and safe place to stay. After weeks of searching for something affordable, directly on the beach & clean I found this place. The building just changed ownership and is getting a makeover and upgrades. The balcony overlooks the beach and the view is spectaular. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and about 10 minutes to Pier 60. Parking and continental breakfast was included. Staff were great. If your looking for value, location and clean I would recomend. I will definately use again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Beachwalk Inn
Beachwalk Inn
#43 of 96 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Hotel

Property: Beachview Hotel
Address: 325 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2445 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Hotel Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing