We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Paradise !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks over easter,inc son's 7th birthday and anniversary. After long 9hour flight from UK then 2 hour drive to the beach it was wonderful to find a surprise birthday present for my son and champagne & strawberries on ice for us ! We hadn't paid for a gulf view room but had a ground floor room with a terrace overlooking the pool/beach and gulf of mexico. Hotel staff couldn't be nicer, very kind gentleman on reception gave my 2 children a free ice cream coupon on our first day which they still talk about and the most amazing easter egg hunt i've ever seen put on by the hotel with free coffee and donuts for adults!!!
Set right on the beach, beautiful sunset photos and walks along the beach to local shops and restaurants (great nearby breakfast cafe Maggie Mae's)
Hotel food very good and good prices for a hotel but plenty of american diners nearby.
Hotel has a small shop that sells milk and pastries for a quick breakfast in your room if required. Car hire a must, not much in walking distance and the heat makes this impossible anyway.
None of us could think of anything that would make this hotel better than it is...Paradise, i sincerely hope we get to go back one day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cupcakelover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    932
    327
    124
    46
See reviews for
902
737
47
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

I have never submitted a hotel review before.
But as I chose this hotel after consulting trip advisor I thought it only fair to report my thoughts.
Overall a really good hotel in a great location. I am glad we chose this hotel for a relaxing second week of our vacation after a busy first week doing the parks in Orlando.

The positives - Beach location, Staff, Pool seating area, Pool bar, Cleanliness, View from our gulf view room (plus many others )

The negatives - Pool is quite small, Bathrooms are small, Lack of good poolside outdoor eating.

I liked being on Sand key as it is quieter than Clearwater beach which is easily accessible.

In conclusion this is a good 4 star hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RealDarthvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Beach access? YES! Friendly staff? YES! Rusty's breakfast? Good food! EXCELLENT STAFF!!!! Hotel quality? EXCELLENT! The only negative was the older man at the pool who thought he was King Zeus! He honestly thought he owned the pool! He made a lady get up so he could push her chair back about a foot, (and I witnessed her husband get the manager to report his disgust!), and he told my child that if she didn't get away from the rope of the pool, she would have a time out (which I found out a day later)! Other than this man, we were soooo pleased and highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to be treated well, have direct beach access, and wants to get away from the busy area. This is definitely for families who want to relax with any age children! Can't wait to go back!!!! Also LOVED the outside bar!!! We CAN'T SAY ENOUGH POSITIVE about this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Use your points for the Starwood Pref. Gst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teacher8592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell Hall, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Great location, easy beach access. Room was a little on small side especially bath, but we made do. Balcony is nice touch. Hotel was very neat and clean and staff friendly as at any Starwood property. Pool was a lot smaller than it looks in pictures on website.
Ancillary costs are a little prohibitive. The breakfast buffet did not include coffee - which was charged at $2.50 a glass or orange juice at $3.50 a glass. Restaurant was good though.

Room Tip: Ask for upper level gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjamesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key on the recommendation of friends who have stayed there and it turned out to be the best resort vacation we have had. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The facilities very clean and well maintained. The hotel is right on the beach with miles of white sand to walk and watersports available. We rented ski doos on the beach in front of the hotel and had a great time on the water. The hotel is within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and downtown Clearwater beach which is a "happening spot" with outdoor entertainment. We were there over Easter and the hotel organized an egg hunt for the children - again very well done. The bar area was family/kid friendly and a great gathering place to meet other tourists. I have a younger child and teenager and the resort was perfect for both. We have stayed at some top notch hotels and this one deserves to be at the top.
Great place to stay - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like2Travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

The first impression sticks! We pulled up to sit in a line of cars waiting to be helped. The uninterested bell man was standing looking at us all. He finally asked if we needed help as I held the baby and my husband took out the luggage. We took our own luggage up to our room. At dinner, I asked for meatballs for the toddler. When the meatballs arrived with no sauce, I requested sauce. The waiter replied, "NO".
For the amount of money to stay here I thought service was not polite nor accomodating and the hotel lacked value. I do want to say the woman at the desk was nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GetawayNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed at the Sheraton Clearwater the beginning of April towards the end of spring break. Had a great stay! Paid for the upgrade to the beach front room and it was well worth it! SPG floor was fairly quiet. Walls are thin it's true but people were considerate. We were glad the sink was outside of the bathroom so one could get ready and the other could shower.

Pool is on the smaller side for the number of guestrooms but we didn't go down there one day..... the gulf was calling our name! 1:00 p.m. we'd go down and rent 2 chairs and an umbrella for $15 (instead of the full day price of $25). The beach is lovely and lots of shells. I had seen info about sting rays and jelly fish but we didn't see either and swam in the ocean everyday we were at the beach.

The lunch cafe had decent prices and good food. Nothing too fancy but we ate there several times. One night we grabbed burgers and took them out to the beach to watch the sunset. Their turkey burger was wonderful! Went down only one morning for breakfast and ran into a little trouble with a server who didn't want to serve us and obviously wanted us to do the buffet. We mentioned it and then got ready to walk out - the manager followed us out and asked us to come back. Upon return she offered to comp breakfast which was very generous and not necessary! Management was very friendly - some of the hourly staff just ok! The gentleman in charge of passing out towels (middle aged) was wonderful, helpful and friendly! Asked if we just checked in did we have any questions.....

We enjoyed dinner at Island Way Grille 2 nights b/c it was so yummy! The Lobster Bistro as also great. Stay away from Caesar's at the Beach - LAME FOOD - hubby's fish wasn't cooked all the way and pasta just ok! Guppy's on the Beach was also WONDERFUL!

Had a wonderful vacation! Thank you Sheraton Sand Key!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2vacation83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.0 mi away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#4 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing