We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Birthday Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We checked in for a few days; My wife and I (in our 40s), my brother and friend (30s,50s) and my mom (80s)... Check in was easy, but we were on different floors, which worked out fine. The rooms were good size and clean. Very comfortable bed; we had a tennis court/gulf view. The pool area was nicely manicured with plenty of chairs, but it was a small pool for the number of rooms at the hotel. There was a good walk to the beach area (a manned golf cart was available), the beach was beautiful. 25$ for 2 chairs and an umbrella which might explain why the pool area was crowded. All in all a nice stay; close drive to shops and off site sights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCarFLA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,744 - 1,750 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Overall the hotel, rooms, amenities and staff were excellent, but a few negatives prevent me from giving the Sheraton Sand Key five stars. Minor complaints included...
- Requesting a mini-fridge was an extra cost ($5/day)
- Wifi was extra $10/day
- Bathroom sink counter area was very small
- Air conditioning was a little loud (not terrible, but noticeable)
- Location is not good if you want to have restaurants/entertainment within walking distance (parking at Clearwater Beach and surrounding area is a HUGE pain)
I consider all of these fairly minor, especially the refrigerator and wifi costs since we knew ahead of time that requesting either would be an additional cost. Also, you should be aware of the Hotel's location before you book it, so it's hard to blame the hotel for that.

The positives far outweighed the negatives...
- Room was clean
- Nice, large flat-screen TV
- Excellent service from bellhop and front desk
- Room service was very reasonably priced and quite good
- Beach was great and private (no solicitors)
- Pool area was beautiful and nicely laid out
- Breakfast buffet was super in both quality and variety
- View from our room was very nice
- Business center had plenty of PCs with internet if you did not want to purchase wifi (seven of them I think)

The location is very nice if you want a short walk to the beach. It is one of the very few hotels in Clearwater Beach that is actually right on the beach (not across the street like most) and the beach is private with no solicitors. If you have a car, the location is also good for accessing the marina, restaurants, the pier, etc, as everything is just a short 3-4 minute drive; however, parking can be a huge pain in a lot of places, we went out for dinner at Frenchy's Rockaway on Clearwater Beach one night (highly recommend btw) and finding parking was very difficult (even the parking lots where you pay were full) and there isn't much within walking distance of the hotel. So if you want seclusion and don't mind a short drive to outside restaurants and entertainment, this is your place. If you want some action within walking distance, probably not for you.

We had a tennis court view, which actually gave us a view of the gulf as well as downtown Clearwater Beach. Very nice.

Also, if you can get a room that includes the breakfast buffet it is worth it. My wife, daughter and I ate at the breakfast buffet using our vouchers every morning and none of us would start getting hungry until early afternoon. The buffet included scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, pancakes, french toast, watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple, dew melon, a variety of pastries, cereal, toast, bread rolls and more that was available every day, as well as additional options that varied from day-to-day (stuffed blueberry pancake rolls and mini-omelettes for example). We did not eat lunch or dinner at either restaurant, so I cannot speak to the quality of those meals. We did order chicken tenders, french fries and onion rings from room service for our daughter one night, which was good. Prices for all the room service options were reasonable too.

Overall all I'd have to say our stay was excellent, with some minor negatives - wish we could give 4.5 ratings.

Room Tip: If you don't want to splurge on an "ocean view", the "tennis court view" is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aquaman_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I think that as long as the weather is good you'll enjoy your stay however we were stuck inside and forced to use the hotel amenities and things were pretty bad. The staff is very friendly but that's as good as it gets. The rooms are small and not very clean. The pool wasn't very warm and the pool staff was unfriendly.

The property caters to small 'conventions' and when these are in 'session' (days and evening 'events') they dominate the hotel because they really have no 'separate area' to entertain these folks, which gets annoying. One afternoon the bar/restaurant would not serve me because they were 'preparing for the meeting/convention guests'. It was raining and I needed to make some calls to shuffle some travel arrangements. I just wanted a comfortable place to make the calls- have a beer and a snack but they wouldn't allow it.

There are three restaurants on site but the food at all three is terrible- do not eat on site!

We checked out a day early (at 3pm) and were not credited back the night we didn't stay, though they were able to re-book the room to other guests! Calling Starwood didn't help- they simply quoted 'protocol'. We will not stay here again and we are considering leaving Starwood altogether. I may stay at a Sheraton for Business (though it won't be my first choice) but I will never again risk my family vacations on a Starwood property! Shame on you Starwood. We expected more. YMMV but folks, I'd seriously consider a Hilton or Hyatt property first.

Room Tip: Make sure they give you a 'beach view'. The other option is a parking lot view which is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labelboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I've stayed here many times and the hotel is consistent in always providing a good experience. The beach is just beyond the pool, the meeting facilities are nice, the staff, from the doormen to housekeeping, is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is well maintained and clean with all the amenities. Guest laundry, restaurants, bars, tennis and volleyball courts, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a nice setting. Relaxing holiday beautiful beach friendly staff great food.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pommieaussie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Nice overall hotel with a few minor issues.Balcony sliding doors were loud which became annoying when trying to sleep. We were charged $5 a night for a mini-refrigerator which is usually included in the room rate. The walk to the beach was rather long. Pool area was loud even after pool was closed. But the rooms were Very clean and comfortable. There were 7 computers with free internet available for free use 24/7. Fitness center was top notch!

Room Tip: Get Room on upper floor away from pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbpack100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just returned from our stay at the Sheraton. The hotel has been kept very nice and clean. There were a few minor maintenance issues-balcony sliding doors were loud and the tub lever was hard to pull up and down to get shower on, and the shower valve was leaking. None of that bothered me, but it would annoy some people. Our room had a gulf view and it was amazing! Fitness Center was really nice and had views of the bay.We didn't use the pool because it got really busy. I did see activities in the pool area for the kids. Most of the staff was really great. Front desk clerk(Yiannis) made a suggestion to have lunch across the street at Backwaters and Columbia. Both were really good! We sat outside next to the water, which was really nice! We even saw a baby shark. At Columbia we finished dinner with a white chocolate bread pudding and we loved it! Sheraton also sent us chocolate covered strawberries. That was a nice touch! One of the highlights was the view. We had amazing sunsets! I will be back!!

Room Tip: Noise from the pool area might bother some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I-love-clean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 98 in Clearwater
1,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £148 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing