We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas city
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely !”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I always rate our experience with a restaurant or hotel afterwards by asking ourselves the question- Would we go back ?
Sometimes we agree , sometimes we don't , sometimes we have qualifiers .
With the Sheraton Sand Key Resort ,
our unanimous answer is Absolutely !
The location is so convenient- a straight shot from the airport .
We did hit rush hour traffic and an accident on the way in, which doubled our travel time to an hour. It only took us about a half hour going back to the airport.
There is a gas station on the way back to the airport , just past the Christmas Store , for those
wishing to fill up their rental cars before returning.
The resort is immaculate and beautifully maintained. Indoors and out .
Every employee we encountered was welcoming and friendly.
From check in to housekeeping to the Club Lounge attendants.
We used the computer in the Club Lounge to print our boarding passes and we felt like fools, but, could not figure out how to print the passes.
We called the desk and they sent up a gentleman who was so helpful. I gathered that we were not the first who could not find the hidden print icon.
He told us how much he enjoyed working at the SSK and that attitude was evident from everyone else we encountered.
I have found that well run establishments generally have pleasant and helpful staff.
Parking is convenient and included in the room rate.
We stayed in a Club Level room , so we had internet access included in the rate.
From the website it appears that all rooms are equal in size , except for the suites.
The room was a little smallish as was the balcony, but, the dimensions were on full display on the website, I just didn't notice .
The room size did not detract from our positive experience.
The bathroom is tiny !
A toilet and a bath/ shower combo .
Outside the bathroom is a single sink on one side and an alcove for the coffee station on the other. The coffee station could easily be put on the room bureau and that entire area enclosed with a door to make the bathroom and sink area much bigger .
Not a deal breaker , just an observation.
Our room did not have a small refrigerator which I always appreciate when traveling.
It did have an in room safe .
Our view from the balcony was of the pool area and the Gulf and no complaints there !
Our room was soundproof and spotless .
Because we stayed on the Club Level, we had a continental breakfast and
evening hors d'oeuvres included.
It seemed like this extra would be better suited to business travelers and adults, rather than families with children.
Especially the evening appetizers. They do have dry cereal and fruit in the breakfast, the fare just seems geared toward adult tastes.
The Club Lounge was immaculate and the ladies were very pleasant.
They had a coffee machine that made great espresso and cappuccino ,
in addition to regular coffee.
The tea service included small tea pots which showed their attention to detail.
They had a large assortment of cut up fresh fruit, pastries ,bagels , dry cereals, yogurt and juice for breakfast .
The evening appetizers always had one hot app in a chafing dish and sometimes cheese and crackers or vegetables and dips.
The bar set up had an amazing assortment of top shelf liquors and mixers , plus red and white wine.
They did not skimp which some hotels do when they have cocktail hours.
We will book the Club Level again when we return.
We did not eat in the resort restaurants, but, they seemed to have many options from fancy to casual.
Plus, the little store open 24/ 7 where you can get pre made sandwiches and salads, coffee, yogurt, donuts, fresh fruit , wine etc, in addition to magazines and sun tan lotion.
That is such a nice resort feature.
The pool was always busy , but, never seemed overly crowded.
There was a professional conference ongoing when we were there and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves without rowdiness.
We were there in the off season so there was a definitely less hectic vibe.
Not just at the resort , but, all over Clearwater.
The beach was wonderful and uncrowded .
Just a 2 or 3 minute walk to the water.
I actually think the extra beach area adds to the ambiance and beauty of the resort.
I do have one complaint.
And that is about the resort website . The room rates are very confusing .
Sometimes it appears that a regular room is more expensive than the Club Level for the same period . We booked online and
when we got our confirmation via e-mail ,
the rate was different than what we had booked.
We called reservations and she was also confused by the rates on the website .
But, she did give us the rate we had booked from their website .
So, that area may need some tweaking.
We had a relaxing and recharging visit and plan on returning in the winter.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RachelKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    960
    337
    126
    49
See reviews for
931
758
50
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My family stayed here for two nights in September. We loved the pool area. It was never crowded. We always found a chair. There is a outside bar and snack shop. There is a small walk to the beach but not too far. The rooms are average. They really should be updated. The only complaint I have about this hotel is the noise levels. It so hard to sleep at night because the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. The ate at Frenchy's Rockaway Grill both nights on their patio and watched the sun set. Hotel has free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traci14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Been here multiple times for business conferences and it is great for couples or families too. It's away from the main crowds of clearwater beach because it is on more exclusive Sand Key. This hotel is convenient because it is first hotel off bridge to sand key. it has a nice private beach area and is close to many restaurants on sand key. Plus unlike other hotels here it does not charge for parking... I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehelpfuldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a FABULOUS Fall Break at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort. We had such a great time on our third trip to this great little getaway! Our favorite thing about the Sheraton Sand Key is the people who work there. From reservations to front desk to fitness room to pool crew to concierge services to restaurant staffs to housekeeping to store ladies to the Turtle Express ... nothing but smiles, courtesy and professionalism! It's so much fun to return to a place where you're remembered each time you visit ... Bet that doesn't happen in very many resorts! We already have our next vacation to Sand Key on the calendar ... YAY!!!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank catcatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

You won't find many hotels in Clearwater Beach with their own private beach and that's what makes the Sheraton Sand Key such a great experience. Don't expect the fake sandy beaches that are next to the Hyatt and Hilton. Next to the Sheraton, the sand is much more compact but lounging, dipping in the ocean and listening to the waves are the primary reason I love beach hotels so it didn't bother me that much. The Sheraton's beach also offers a golf cart service that drives around with mixed drinks and food that you can purchase which is not allowed on the public beaches at the other major hotels. I would definitely recommend an ocean view if you can afford it. Even the partial ocean view is terrific because the next door condos are beautiful as well. The hotel is clean and quiet. The staff is friendly. The beds are extremely comfortable and one of the better sleeping experiences I've had in my routine trips to Clearwater Beach. My only complaint was the housekeeping. For a 4-star hotel, the morning maid service was lacking and I've had better cleanups in 3-star hotels. The restaurant downstairs serves your typical steak and shrimp dishes with "Clearwater tourist" prices but nothing to write home about. Like others have written, the pool is small and probably a disappointment compared to some of the other large resorts in the area. My recommendation is to go to the Sheraton and/or Starwood website and look for travel deals. We found a deal that gave us the 3rd night for free. All in all, a peaceful stay and I would return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PnMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I loved it here. Sadly we only had a 2 night stay on our Fly Drive but, next time it will be longer! Our welcome at the front desk was great, very friendly. The rooms was lovely, bed was extremely comfortable, the only complaint I have is that the bathroom sink is outside the bathroom and not very much room to store your toiletries, a minor complaint. Other than that no negatives I can leave on the room. The pool area was lovely, no complaints there. The beach was absolutely stunning, some people have complained about the walk, we didnt find it a problem at all. Just make sure you take supplies with you from the shop! We had a really lovely stay and wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyTravel_Mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The most common criticism of the hotel is the distance to the beach and the size of the pool. While the pool is certainly not huge, it is big enough. The walk to the beach is a 1-2 minute walk along what looks like a sand runway from the pool area to the beach. Certainly not convenient, but hardly a burden either. The beach itself is beautiful, great for walking.
The service at the hotel is great, the staff is very professional and friendly.
There was a convention in the hotel which makes it pretty busy and does not make it feel much like a resort at times.
The food at the hotel is fine. There is a mall across the street with some other choices.
Overall, an affordable beach vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the beach. However, make sure you are up pretty high. There is a lot of no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nardiesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#13 of 98 in Clearwater
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#23 of 98 in Clearwater
4,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing