We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three-star property, good location, so-so rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed four nights for a conference. During my short stay, I observed that this hotel does a brisk conference and wedding business.

The good: very nice front desk staff, walking distance to a small shopping center with two restaurants I frequented: Columbia and Maggie Mae's, as well as several nice shops and a good nail salon, beachfront (though there is the strangest square sand area leading out to the beach - it takes five minutes to reach the beach proper from the time you step into the sand), comfortable beds, I was pleased with cleanliness.

The average: the pool is small for a hotel this size, the vanity is too small, the hotel is showing age in hallways/elevator bank areas in particular, but other areas as well.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. I'd call this a solid 3 star by US standards. Not a four star - I'd reserve that for newer facilities with larger pools and more robust amenities.

Bottom line - if the price is good, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Careful if you are facing the pool, especially the hot tub. On Saturday nights (wedding/party night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alw1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I want to thank you for sharing your comments with us as it is very important for us to hear the voice of our customer. I can assure you your comments will be shared so that improvements can be made. Yes, we do have many conferences and special event groups; although much of our business is social. We are constantly renovating on a regular basis to keep the hotel updated and will continue to do so to fix those worn out areas. We are working on the elevator bank areas at this time, among other projects. We do hope you will return to see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,626 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in October. Weekday is much less crowded than the weekend. Highly recommend the Rusty's Bistro restaurant. We think the food tastes great! Enjoyed the pool and the nearby beach as well.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hao H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Rusty’s Bistro does have a very talented culinary staff and Executive Chef John Harris, who is responsible for creating an exciting and well-thought-out menu, has added many exciting delights for our guests. We enjoyed reading that you enjoyed our beautiful beaches. We do hope you will plan a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Not located on the main section of Clearwater Beach, but just on the other side of the bridge in Sand Key. The staff are by far the most friendly and accommodating at a beach resort we have found. We were there for my Dads 70th Birthday and they surprised him with a cake in the room at check in....Just one example of the go above and beyond service we experienced. l would pay to get club level for continental breakfast and cocktails before dinner. It was well worth it. We really enjoyed the dining options too. This was our 2nd visit and we know we will be back for a 3rd.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank mrcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

You are correct; this is definitely a place to come to relax… Our resort can be very tranquil. Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you recognized our associates as they sincerely enjoy assisting our guests. We greatly appreciate your repeat business! We also appreciate the kind remarks regarding the cuisine and the Sheratons Club. We are pleased to hear your Dad was surprised; that is what birthdays are all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel has a great location right on the beach, however, it is quite a long walk from the hotel across a long stretch of sand to get close to the water. The property is near a park which offers the opportunity for some nice combined beach/wooded walks. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing special. The pool was nice, with convenient towel and bar service. Clearwater beach is an easy 5 min drive across the causeway. Cost was a little on the high end.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pschonschack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Being on the Island of Sand Key does mean our beach is large and a walk to the water’s edge. It is away from the hotel and the outside world which definitely gives you an Island experience. I am pleased you enjoyed the location. The park next door is a nature lovers dream; there is an abundance of different wild life. We are pleased you enjoyed some of the amenities that the hotel offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sand key Resort in October 2013 for our anniversary. We were thrilled with the resort the minute we pulled into the parking lot. It was extremely clean, fresh and the staff were wonderful. Our standard room was immaculate and the custodial staff were very efficient. The beach was a short walk to the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. Highly recommend this resort as it is 30 minutes from the Clearwater/St Petes airport and a 5 minute drive to the main tourist area of Clearwater Beach. Cant wait to go back !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are pleased that you chose the Sheraton Sand Key to celebrate that very special occasion. I am delighted that your experience was all you anticipated. This can be a very romantic place with our beautiful views and spectacular sunsets for an evening stroll on the beach; or for just spending time with each other lounging in the sun. We hope new memories were made and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a great time at this resort. Big clean rooms. The staff was so nice and helpful. Great location close to shopping. They have a small store if you need lotion or even band aids and a shop with clothes. Large pool and beach bar. If you love to walk this is a great place for that. The best part of this resort is the BIG white sand beach. LOVE IT!! We will go back to this Sheraton.

Room Tip: One side is not the sunny side pretty palm trees and tennis courts half of beach. Other side is sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

I appreciate your comments and am pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us. I myself love walking the beach; here in the Clearwater area we are known for our exceptional beaches. Everyday you can find a different treasure along the shore line and the peace and quite can be very therapeutic. Our associates are efficient and caring and genuinely enjoy being helpful. We would be delighted to have you back for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

For starters, i do not expect 5 diamond hotels, but I absolutely do not tolerate unclean hotels. This hotel was extremely clean and very nice. While it does not have the luxury touched like marble floors etc, it is a very nice hotel overall and the staff was likely the nicest that I have encountered at a hotel. It is right on the beach and a couple hundred years from the water, but the beach is beautiful. I was there for a convention and the reception halls and ammenities fro the group were all very nice as well. They set up tents on the beach for our group and we did have a reception out there the one night that was fun. Who does not like a beach party. If you are looking for a very nice, clean hotel, right on a beautiful beach, this is a great place to stay. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bustraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed the events held with us. It is lovely having dinner on the beach accompanied by a beautiful sunset and an efficient staff to serve you. We are proud of our associates; it pleases them to assist you, our guest, in enjoying your stay. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you and would be pleased to have your continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#11 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £154 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing