We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, not terrible nor great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Okay, not terrible nor great”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is a pretty average hotel. The food options weren't many and the quality was okay. The snack area by the pool was pretty bad, only serving limited fast good like burgers, fries and frozen-style pizza. The pool was always crowded and didn't look very enticing. Most disappointing was the beach itself - sand was not soft with little peoples and shells everywhere and the water itself was rough and not clear. Probably would not choose to go to Clearwater or this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandinmyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I apologize for your experience being disappointing. Mother Nature is in control of our beach and the amount of particulate matter in the water depends on the degree of water movement and the size distribution of particulates on the sea bottom. For example, wave action and storm surge can stir up the sea bottom and suspend particulate matter in the water. So the clearness of the water changes with the weather conditions.The food issues I have shared with our Executive Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    978
    342
    128
    52
See reviews for
960
768
51
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose the Sheraton Sand Key because we wanted more of a holiday experience for the long weekend getaway. It was a good choice and a pleasant stay. The only negative was that it was spring break but that had nothing to do with the hotel. Overall a very nice stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We would love to have you join us at a more tranquil time. We truly want your next stay to be completely the experience you anticipate. When planning a future weekend getaway we hope you will consider the Sheraton Sand Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

First of all checkin was fast and efficient and the staff was very nice. In fact ever staff member everywhere were just so kind and friendly. When we got to our room it is average size but cozy and the beds were so comfortable. Then we made our way down to the pool. There were plenty of chairs and everyone was just having a great time. The pool is large and I think I saw 2 hot tubs. It's a stone throw to the sand and I would highly recommend staying here. The food is really really good and not expensive like beach hotels can be. My only complaint is the bathrooms are small but it's not terrible and not a reason not to stay here especially considering the AMAZINGLY comfortable beds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 436Sherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Let’s start with amazingly comfortable; The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed is found in each of our guest rooms and is comprised of luxurious sheets, a deluxe duvet, a selection of feather down and hypoallergenic pillows, and a custom mattress. I agree, we have efficient and truly caring associates. The pool area is a great place to meet other guests or just relax in the sun. There is only one Hot Tub the other is a kiddie pool. Thank you; we do have several options for dinning and our Executive Chef does try to keep them affordable. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This property has become a favorite annual destination. Perfect for family travel, business or both. From the minute you arrive to the sad moment you realize that it is time to return home it is hospitality at it's best. The perfect spot to escape the cold, or just get some much needed R&R and sun. While the hotel has a great pool, when you see the huge, manicured sand beach you'll want to spend most of your time on the beach...under the sun...with a blue cabana...relaxing. Be sure to make note of the "Jolly Trolley" which runs about every :30 minutes and is perfect for taking you from the hotel in Clearwater Beach to Clearwater restaurants, shops and more. Hotel restaurant called "Rusty's" has a great prime rib buffet YUM! Rooms are clean and fresh. Beds are AMAZING! Concierge really know the area, so ask. Their recommendations will not disappoint. Two restaurants to look for off property are Clear Sky Beach Side Cafe (great food+memorable Pizzas) and Backwaters on Sand key (WOW Seafood). This hotel is family-friendly and will not disappoint.
Try it once. I guarantee you'll be back – or, you'll never leave.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, opt for a Suite. Tons of room and the suites are SWEET. Views are amazing, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterG475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are pleased that we are your home away from home… that is such a wonderful compliment. Thank you; your review was outstanding and there is really nothing more I can add, you covered it all. You sound like a “Give me Sunshine on my Shoulders and Sand Between my Toes” type of person and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for a week with our kids and I guess I was expecting more of a real beach resort. The rooms were fine and beds comfortable but the bathrooms were tiny. The sink is in the room with the tub and toilet in what feels like a closet. We paid extra for a ocean view with balcony but the balcony was so small we didn't sit out there. The restaurants looked more like school cafeterias and their wasn't anyplace to have lunch outside. There is a snack bar that has a few lunch options that was really bad. The beach is pretty but from the hotel to the water it feels like a 1/2 mile walk and when you get to the water they charge you $25 per person per day for lounge chairs, cushions and a cabana. I have never stayed at a beach resort that then charged you to use their chairs. I wouldn't stay here again although I did like the Clearwater Beach area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cap76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I understand your feeling on the cabanas. You will find at many resorts these charges are included in a nightly resort fee. We have opted not to do that, and only charge for usage should the guest so choose. The Cabanas do not belong to the hotel they are a concession so we do not set the prices. We do ensure the prices are in line with other cabana concessions in the area. We do not charge for the lounge chairs that are around the pool or the grassy area. The beach is a bit of a walk; Clearwater and Sand Key are known for their exceptional beaches. They give you that “being on an Island feel”. I do hope that your family enjoyed some of the amenities we have to offer. We are pleased you enjoyed the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Tiny family rooms. Not suitable for a family requiring space for a travel cot plus luggage. Bathrooms are dire and so small the sink is in the bedroom. Apart from the lobby, the hotel has clearly not been decorated in 20+ years. The staff are miserable (apart from pool guys) Breakfast buffet is wretched and the pool area is mediocre at best. It's a long walk to the ocean too. Don't waste your money...

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. For not meeting our goals and your expectations, I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the second time we stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key. And we have nothing but praise for the staff at the resort. From the waiters and maintenance workers, to Jeanne at the front desk, they all worked hard to make our stay a pleasant one. The location of the hotel on Sand Key is great for people who don't want to deal with the crowds and traffic across the bridge in Clearwater Beach. There are more luxurious hotels around, but you will have to try hard to find a friendlier staff!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottalovdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We love being here on tranquil Sand Key. We are way from hustle and bustle of Clearwater Beach, still only 2.0 miles away from the action. It is very satisfying to hear that your expectations were fulfilled during your stay. Our associates are genuinely friendly. They truly care and do their best to ensure that you enjoy your time with us. I will share your comments. Thank you so very much. We greatly appreciate your patronage as a loyal guest of the Sheraton Sand Key and would like to make sure we remain your hotel of choice when visiting our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 98 in Clearwater
1,250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Clearwater Beach
Hilton Clearwater Beach
#22 of 98 in Clearwater
4,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Property: Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing