We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were looking for a quite gateway for a few days and the location of this place turned out to be ideal - it is located away from the busy Clearwater beach area but not too far, it is next to a park, it has it's own private beach, it is close to multiple restaurants [multiple price ranges], it is close to a grocery store, it is close to the bay and the ocean. Harbor view from the room is nothing spectacular, but it is a view. Room was standard size with the necessary amenities [no refrigerator], but the bathroom was on the smaller side. I do have to state that the bed was very comfortable and relaxing. The pool is not that big and on weekends gets a bit crowded. Although located on the ocean, there is no view from the pool area and the ocean is couple of minutes walk away. The pool bar is normal - over priced - but service was not the best. Beach rental costs are average.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vodkatonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We are way from hustle and bustle of Clearwater Beach, yet still close enough. We love being here on tranquil Sand Key. I am pleased that it was just what you anticipated. The sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, the beaches of Sand Key, dolphin sightings, and shell collecting all truly showcase Florida’s natural beauty! There are even nesting turtles and eagles in flight. More than 50 native birds can be found by just taking a few minute walk to Sand Key Park. We are working on a project and there will be refrigerators in all the rooms by the end of this year. I will share your comment on the service at the pool bar with our Director of Food and Beverage; we apologize. I am pleased you enjoyed our “Sweet Sleeper Beds.” They were put in the rooms with our guests comfort in mind. We do hope you will think of us the next time you are planning a quick get-away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This was a spg award stay for two adults and two teenage daughters in a double room

We just finished spending 7 wonderful nights at this property. The rooms are average and the pool was extremely crowded (spring vacation week), but the part we enjoyed the most was the beautiful beach.

I find the sand quality of Sand Key a notch below that of (unnaturally perfect) Clearwater Beach, but the best part of Sheraton's beach is that there is no need to fight for space. No need to rent the $25 cabana.

I found that the staff went out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Our favorite were the folks attending the club lounge.

Any negatives? In addition to what you heard from other reviewers (small bathroom, etc) I found the AC too loud. Not a big deal.

We'll be back next year.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Panaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

If you are a beach person this is definitely the place to be … It is an exceptionally large and private Island beach. The smell of salt water and the gentle roar of the waves combine to create a sense of peace and calm. Two things determine the size of sand on beaches: the energy (height) of the waves, and the size of the material furnished to the beach. Other things being equal, the higher the average waves on a beach, the coarser the sand. The Pier on Clearwater Beach breaks the waves before they reach the shore. I am sure your two teenage daughters enjoyed their experience and hopefully memories were made for you all. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the Sheraton Club lounge and its associates. Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize all our outstanding associates. They truly enjoy going above and beyond to make your stay special. We do thank you for being a SPG member and we appreciate your loyalty. We will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is a pretty average hotel. The food options weren't many and the quality was okay. The snack area by the pool was pretty bad, only serving limited fast good like burgers, fries and frozen-style pizza. The pool was always crowded and didn't look very enticing. Most disappointing was the beach itself - sand was not soft with little peoples and shells everywhere and the water itself was rough and not clear. Probably would not choose to go to Clearwater or this hotel again

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandinmyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I apologize for your experience being disappointing. Mother Nature is in control of our beach and the amount of particulate matter in the water depends on the degree of water movement and the size distribution of particulates on the sea bottom. For example, wave action and storm surge can stir up the sea bottom and suspend particulate matter in the water. So the clearness of the water changes with the weather conditions.The food issues I have shared with our Executive Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose the Sheraton Sand Key because we wanted more of a holiday experience for the long weekend getaway. It was a good choice and a pleasant stay. The only negative was that it was spring break but that had nothing to do with the hotel. Overall a very nice stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We would love to have you join us at a more tranquil time. We truly want your next stay to be completely the experience you anticipate. When planning a future weekend getaway we hope you will consider the Sheraton Sand Key.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

First of all checkin was fast and efficient and the staff was very nice. In fact ever staff member everywhere were just so kind and friendly. When we got to our room it is average size but cozy and the beds were so comfortable. Then we made our way down to the pool. There were plenty of chairs and everyone was just having a great time. The pool is large and I think I saw 2 hot tubs. It's a stone throw to the sand and I would highly recommend staying here. The food is really really good and not expensive like beach hotels can be. My only complaint is the bathrooms are small but it's not terrible and not a reason not to stay here especially considering the AMAZINGLY comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 436Sherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Let’s start with amazingly comfortable; The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed is found in each of our guest rooms and is comprised of luxurious sheets, a deluxe duvet, a selection of feather down and hypoallergenic pillows, and a custom mattress. I agree, we have efficient and truly caring associates. The pool area is a great place to meet other guests or just relax in the sun. There is only one Hot Tub the other is a kiddie pool. Thank you; we do have several options for dinning and our Executive Chef does try to keep them affordable. We will look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This property has become a favorite annual destination. Perfect for family travel, business or both. From the minute you arrive to the sad moment you realize that it is time to return home it is hospitality at it's best. The perfect spot to escape the cold, or just get some much needed R&R and sun. While the hotel has a great pool, when you see the huge, manicured sand beach you'll want to spend most of your time on the beach...under the sun...with a blue cabana...relaxing. Be sure to make note of the "Jolly Trolley" which runs about every :30 minutes and is perfect for taking you from the hotel in Clearwater Beach to Clearwater restaurants, shops and more. Hotel restaurant called "Rusty's" has a great prime rib buffet YUM! Rooms are clean and fresh. Beds are AMAZING! Concierge really know the area, so ask. Their recommendations will not disappoint. Two restaurants to look for off property are Clear Sky Beach Side Cafe (great food+memorable Pizzas) and Backwaters on Sand key (WOW Seafood). This hotel is family-friendly and will not disappoint.
Try it once. I guarantee you'll be back – or, you'll never leave.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, opt for a Suite. Tons of room and the suites are SWEET. Views are amazing, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterG475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We are pleased that we are your home away from home… that is such a wonderful compliment. Thank you; your review was outstanding and there is really nothing more I can add, you covered it all. You sound like a “Give me Sunshine on my Shoulders and Sand Between my Toes” type of person and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for a week with our kids and I guess I was expecting more of a real beach resort. The rooms were fine and beds comfortable but the bathrooms were tiny. The sink is in the room with the tub and toilet in what feels like a closet. We paid extra for a ocean view with balcony but the balcony was so small we didn't sit out there. The restaurants looked more like school cafeterias and their wasn't anyplace to have lunch outside. There is a snack bar that has a few lunch options that was really bad. The beach is pretty but from the hotel to the water it feels like a 1/2 mile walk and when you get to the water they charge you $25 per person per day for lounge chairs, cushions and a cabana. I have never stayed at a beach resort that then charged you to use their chairs. I wouldn't stay here again although I did like the Clearwater Beach area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cap76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNapoleon, Manager at Sheraton Sand Key Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I understand your feeling on the cabanas. You will find at many resorts these charges are included in a nightly resort fee. We have opted not to do that, and only charge for usage should the guest so choose. The Cabanas do not belong to the hotel they are a concession so we do not set the prices. We do ensure the prices are in line with other cabana concessions in the area. We do not charge for the lounge chairs that are around the pool or the grassy area. The beach is a bit of a walk; Clearwater and Sand Key are known for their exceptional beaches. They give you that “being on an Island feel”. I do hope that your family enjoyed some of the amenities we have to offer. We are pleased you enjoyed the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,457 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sand Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sand Key Resort

Address: 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#6 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
#12 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#16 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: £148 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Sand Key Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White sand beaches and the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico greet you at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, set on Clearwater Beach and surrounded by gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Sand Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sand Key Hotel Clearwater
Sheraton Clearwater
Clearwater Sheraton
Sheraton Sand Key Resort Clearwater, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing